HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Baraka

Hotel | 12 Derb Ben Yakoub, Chefchaouen, Morocco 91000

93.5% Overall Rating

175 out of 186 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

JORDAN VINCENT thinks…

"About as good as hostels get. Superb rooms and good facilities at a crazy low price. Helpful, knowledgeable staff with good connections in Chefchaouen. Breathtaking terrace, beautifully decorated."

Read all Riad Baraka reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 59.94

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes not included in the room rates .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chefchaouen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chefchaouen

Pension Souika
8.39 USD

Hostel 83.5% 158 reviews
Hotel Tarek
26.97 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Dar Onsar
16.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar el Moualim
20.98 USD

Apartment 72.0% 5 reviews
résidence hoteliér chez aziz
35.97 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
John's Guesthouse
80.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
casa annasr
23.98 USD

Hotel 94.3% 7 reviews
pension mauritania
8.39 USD

Guesthouse 76.2% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

175 out of 186 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Baraka'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 181 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooftop terrace and great location.

Disliked: Needs more than 1 shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, terrace and advice from Joe on where to go/ what to do

Disliked: Joe's brother can be quite rude and abrupt, time frame on hot water, no breakfast available and nowhere to make own food (kitchen area on terrace also the laundry)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JORDAN VINCENT

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 JORDAN would recommend this property

Liked: About as good as hostels get. Superb rooms and good facilities at a crazy low price. Helpful, knowledgeable staff with good connections in Chefchaouen. Breathtaking terrace, beautifully decorated.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TRACY YIP

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 TRACY would recommend this property

Liked: We booked the double ensuite and sent email to re-confirm before the trip. but upon arrival, they said the room was occupied and changed to a double room share bathroom for us with a small discount. It's fine. the riad is well maintained, great roof area. though the share toilet is very tiny. and hot shower only available before 10pm. Good location. Welcome staff~

Disliked: no email response when sending re-confirmation, and our booked room was occupied by others.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the terraces, the room, the comfortable bed and linen and blankets, the clean bathrooms. The staff is cool.

Disliked: The shortage of toilet paper and hot showers only from 7am to 10 pm. I'd like to have a hot shower before going to bed and after coming back at night. No kitchen facilities and no places for hanging the clothes to dry. More like a hotel room than a hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Virginia Ucar

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 May 2014 Maria Virginia would recommend this property

Liked: Impecable lugar!, los dueos son encantadores, el desayuno (pago) es fantástico, y se cuidan los detalles. Joe te ayuda a organizar las salidas y facilta mucho la estadía. Adoré Riad Baraka, super, super, super recomendable.

Disliked: Nada

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was our favorite place in Morocco. The owner is always helpful, the rooms super clean and the terrace is unbeatable. Our time here will always be remembered. Thanks so much Riad Baraka!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Schrönghamer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best hostels on our trip through morroco, nice staff and beautiful furnished and painted building

Disliked: Sebastian left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ver y british

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay, easy to find, very clean

Disliked: if you are searching for a REAL moroccan riad, then I would'nt choose riad baraka, because its european owners turned it in an european-touched road, which is absolutely not necessary. the decoration isn't really traditional as we could see it in 8 other riads in morocco. but nevertheless it is a cozy place to stay.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andreanne Robert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Andreanne would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean, one of the cleaness i have seen in Morroco. The rooms were nice and the breakfeast was ok.

Disliked: The owner was very friendly and helpfull until I asked the question about the 10 mad more per person. She throw back the 20 at me saying the she wont argue for 20 bloody dirham. I told her that it was just a question but after that she was a little mean and almost didnt say goodbye when we left... The price for the room was ok but we had to pay more for a lot of things, like 30 mad for heater, 30 for leaving or luggage there for 2 hours...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Bird

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 February 2014 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: The property is rather easy to find in comparison with other riads inside the medina. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly Ann, who went out of her way to ensure we had a pleasant stay in the riad and in Chefchaouen. Also, the riad itself is decorated and maintained to a very high standard. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who visits Chefchaouen, particularly native English speakers.

Disliked: I cannot fault it in anyway.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally clean, great character, descent area in medina, good value, and the highlight for me was the view over the medina and mountains from the decked out rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Hazzard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: This riad is fantastic. It was by far the nicest place I stayed in Morocco and was great value for money. Really clean, lovely rooms, nice and relaxed atmosphere (just want you want in a place like Chefchaouen) and the guys were really helpful as well. Highly recommended staying here.

Disliked: No complaints.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charity De Souza

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Charity would recommend this property

Liked: Probably our favorite place to stay in all of Morocco. Really nice hostel with clean facilities. The owner is hilarious and was really helpful throughout our stay. We wish we had more time to spend here!

Disliked: We were gutted that we couldn't partake in the breakfast, as they ran out before we arrived. It looked awesome!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Millett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Joe was fantastic, friendly and helpful. The Riad was incredible and the best we stayed in throughout Morocco. Clean, amazing breakfast (Dh25 - but 100% worth it)

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is beautiful, it has a really good location and it's really clean. The Riad has good wifi and the rooftop terrace is very nice.

Disliked: The owners seemed a little rude or short at times, not so hospitable in my opinion however if you need something they are helpful.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013

Liked: Lovely place for a night but fake and touristy atmosphere. Stayed only one night but in chefchaoen a week. Better value elsewhere. Chefchaoen is a great mountain destination the rooftop view is beautiful.

Disliked: Staff was rude, tough to distinguish hospitality business from a nice house where a couple want to make money off travellers.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, very friendly staff, excellent location, had a blast

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johnny van den Puttelaar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace is great, the location is good right in the old medina. The room was nice and clean.

Disliked: To be honest there was nothing that I disliked about this riad.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katelin Kennedy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Katelin would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing riad, owners are very friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts, wonderful view from the terrace and incredibly clean.

Disliked: Katelin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: General vibe

Disliked: N/a

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikolaos Gavalakis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Nikolaos would recommend this property

Liked: - beautiful roof terasse - great location - nice and clean rooms - run by an English owner and his mother

Disliked: - no breakfast included (costs 30 dirhams, around 3 Euro extra which is not cheap for Moroccan standards)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robyn Ramsay

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 June 2013 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: Spotless room & bathroom & helpful staff with really good position inside the old town & not far from the bus station.

Disliked: Robyn left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just great! It´s a really lovely, beautifully decorated Riad, five minutes from the central square in Chefchaouen´s Medina. Even better is the friendly help and expert advice from the owners, who were incredibly flexible and accomodating to me.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind

The property's response is...