We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Baraka

Hotel | 12 Derb Ben Yakoub, Chefchaouen, Morocco 91000

92.3% Overall Rating

181 out of 193 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/10/2014)

"The color and decoration of the whole hostel is very pleasant. The atmosphere of the hostel and among the guests are quite relaxed and friendly."

Read all Riad Baraka reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 56.71

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes not included in the room rates .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chefchaouen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chefchaouen

Pension Souika
6.81 USD

Hostel 82.5% 159 reviews
Hotel Tarek
25.52 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Dar Onsar
10.21 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar el Moualim
19.85 USD

Apartment 72.0% 5 reviews
résidence hoteliér chez aziz
34.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
John's Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
casa annasr
22.68 USD

Hotel 94.6% 8 reviews
pension mauritania
7.94 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 54 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

181 out of 193 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Baraka'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 152 of 188 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The color and decoration of the whole hostel is very pleasant. The atmosphere of the hostel and among the guests are quite relaxed and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Ni Dhonnabhain

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Unfortunately we were sick the day we stayed at Riad Baraka. Anne was very kind to us and gave us some info about he pharmacy and a fan for our room. This Riad is spotlessly clean and they also serve (for an additional fee) a great brekkie.

Disliked: Only one tiny toilet for those without en suite facilities, other than the toilet inside the front door.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014

Liked: the service guy !!!

Disliked: unfriendly owner! only friendly to people from england. she turns on the music in the morning, that everyons awake. breakfast is usually from 8:30-10:30, but she stops it, when she wants! the only friendly guy was the boy, who is looking for the hostel at night!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decor, views, security, funny staff

Disliked: Noisy local neighbors out on streets late, hot dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in Chefchaouen. Joe is awesome and will help you out in any way he can. The hostel is a really cool road just inside the main medina gate...close to everything. Everything was good - clean, secure, good wifi, guide books and computer to use, rooftop terrace with awesome views.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jordan cahill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, facilities, roof terrace, healthy breakfast and tours provided

Disliked: jordan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooftop terrace and great location.

Disliked: Needs more than 1 shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, terrace and advice from Joe on where to go/ what to do

Disliked: Joe's brother can be quite rude and abrupt, time frame on hot water, no breakfast available and nowhere to make own food (kitchen area on terrace also the laundry)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JORDAN VINCENT

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 JORDAN would recommend this property

Liked: About as good as hostels get. Superb rooms and good facilities at a crazy low price. Helpful, knowledgeable staff with good connections in Chefchaouen. Breathtaking terrace, beautifully decorated.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TRACY YIP

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 TRACY would recommend this property

Liked: We booked the double ensuite and sent email to re-confirm before the trip. but upon arrival, they said the room was occupied and changed to a double room share bathroom for us with a small discount. It's fine. the riad is well maintained, great roof area. though the share toilet is very tiny. and hot shower only available before 10pm. Good location. Welcome staff~

Disliked: no email response when sending re-confirmation, and our booked room was occupied by others.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the terraces, the room, the comfortable bed and linen and blankets, the clean bathrooms. The staff is cool.

Disliked: The shortage of toilet paper and hot showers only from 7am to 10 pm. I'd like to have a hot shower before going to bed and after coming back at night. No kitchen facilities and no places for hanging the clothes to dry. More like a hotel room than a hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Virginia Ucar

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 May 2014 Maria Virginia would recommend this property

Liked: Impecable lugar!, los dueos son encantadores, el desayuno (pago) es fantástico, y se cuidan los detalles. Joe te ayuda a organizar las salidas y facilta mucho la estadía. Adoré Riad Baraka, super, super, super recomendable.

Disliked: Nada

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was our favorite place in Morocco. The owner is always helpful, the rooms super clean and the terrace is unbeatable. Our time here will always be remembered. Thanks so much Riad Baraka!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Schrönghamer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best hostels on our trip through morroco, nice staff and beautiful furnished and painted building

Disliked: Sebastian left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ver y british

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay, easy to find, very clean

Disliked: if you are searching for a REAL moroccan riad, then I would'nt choose riad baraka, because its european owners turned it in an european-touched road, which is absolutely not necessary. the decoration isn't really traditional as we could see it in 8 other riads in morocco. but nevertheless it is a cozy place to stay.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andreanne Robert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Andreanne would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean, one of the cleaness i have seen in Morroco. The rooms were nice and the breakfeast was ok.

Disliked: The owner was very friendly and helpfull until I asked the question about the 10 mad more per person. She throw back the 20 at me saying the she wont argue for 20 bloody dirham. I told her that it was just a question but after that she was a little mean and almost didnt say goodbye when we left... The price for the room was ok but we had to pay more for a lot of things, like 30 mad for heater, 30 for leaving or luggage there for 2 hours...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Bird

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 February 2014 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: The property is rather easy to find in comparison with other riads inside the medina. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly Ann, who went out of her way to ensure we had a pleasant stay in the riad and in Chefchaouen. Also, the riad itself is decorated and maintained to a very high standard. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who visits Chefchaouen, particularly native English speakers.

Disliked: I cannot fault it in anyway.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally clean, great character, descent area in medina, good value, and the highlight for me was the view over the medina and mountains from the decked out rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Hazzard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: This riad is fantastic. It was by far the nicest place I stayed in Morocco and was great value for money. Really clean, lovely rooms, nice and relaxed atmosphere (just want you want in a place like Chefchaouen) and the guys were really helpful as well. Highly recommended staying here.

Disliked: No complaints.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charity De Souza

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Charity would recommend this property

Liked: Probably our favorite place to stay in all of Morocco. Really nice hostel with clean facilities. The owner is hilarious and was really helpful throughout our stay. We wish we had more time to spend here!

Disliked: We were gutted that we couldn't partake in the breakfast, as they ran out before we arrived. It looked awesome!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Millett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Joe was fantastic, friendly and helpful. The Riad was incredible and the best we stayed in throughout Morocco. Clean, amazing breakfast (Dh25 - but 100% worth it)

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is beautiful, it has a really good location and it's really clean. The Riad has good wifi and the rooftop terrace is very nice.

Disliked: The owners seemed a little rude or short at times, not so hospitable in my opinion however if you need something they are helpful.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013

Liked: Lovely place for a night but fake and touristy atmosphere. Stayed only one night but in chefchaoen a week. Better value elsewhere. Chefchaoen is a great mountain destination the rooftop view is beautiful.

Disliked: Staff was rude, tough to distinguish hospitality business from a nice house where a couple want to make money off travellers.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, very friendly staff, excellent location, had a blast

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...