HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Baraka

Hotel | 12 Derb Ben Yakoub, Chefchaouen, Morocco 91000

90.4% Overall Rating

166 out of 177 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2014)

Andreanne Robert thinks…

"It was really clean, one of the cleaness i have seen in Morroco. The rooms were nice and the breakfeast was ok."

Read all Riad Baraka reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 60.28

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chefchaouen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chefchaouen

Pension Souika
8.44 USD

Hostel 82.9% 155 reviews
Hotel Tarek
27.13 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Dar Onsar
16.88 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar el Moualim
21.10 USD

Apartment 65.0% 4 reviews
John's Guesthouse
82.83 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
casa annasr
22.91 USD

Hotel 93.3% 6 reviews
pension mauritania
8.44 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 47 reviews
Casa amina
7.84 USD

Hostel 95.9% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

166 out of 177 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Baraka'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 171 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ver y british

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay, easy to find, very clean

Disliked: if you are searching for a REAL moroccan riad, then I would'nt choose riad baraka, because its european owners turned it in an european-touched road, which is absolutely not necessary. the decoration isn't really traditional as we could see it in 8 other riads in morocco. but nevertheless it is a cozy place to stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andreanne Robert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Andreanne would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean, one of the cleaness i have seen in Morroco. The rooms were nice and the breakfeast was ok.

Disliked: The owner was very friendly and helpfull until I asked the question about the 10 mad more per person. She throw back the 20 at me saying the she wont argue for 20 bloody dirham. I told her that it was just a question but after that she was a little mean and almost didnt say goodbye when we left... The price for the room was ok but we had to pay more for a lot of things, like 30 mad for heater, 30 for leaving or luggage there for 2 hours...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Bird

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 February 2014 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: The property is rather easy to find in comparison with other riads inside the medina. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly Ann, who went out of her way to ensure we had a pleasant stay in the riad and in Chefchaouen. Also, the riad itself is decorated and maintained to a very high standard. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who visits Chefchaouen, particularly native English speakers.

Disliked: I cannot fault it in anyway.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally clean, great character, descent area in medina, good value, and the highlight for me was the view over the medina and mountains from the decked out rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Hazzard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: This riad is fantastic. It was by far the nicest place I stayed in Morocco and was great value for money. Really clean, lovely rooms, nice and relaxed atmosphere (just want you want in a place like Chefchaouen) and the guys were really helpful as well. Highly recommended staying here.

Disliked: No complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charity De Souza

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Charity would recommend this property

Liked: Probably our favorite place to stay in all of Morocco. Really nice hostel with clean facilities. The owner is hilarious and was really helpful throughout our stay. We wish we had more time to spend here!

Disliked: We were gutted that we couldn't partake in the breakfast, as they ran out before we arrived. It looked awesome!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Millett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Joe was fantastic, friendly and helpful. The Riad was incredible and the best we stayed in throughout Morocco. Clean, amazing breakfast (Dh25 - but 100% worth it)

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is beautiful, it has a really good location and it's really clean. The Riad has good wifi and the rooftop terrace is very nice.

Disliked: The owners seemed a little rude or short at times, not so hospitable in my opinion however if you need something they are helpful.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013

Liked: Lovely place for a night but fake and touristy atmosphere. Stayed only one night but in chefchaoen a week. Better value elsewhere. Chefchaoen is a great mountain destination the rooftop view is beautiful.

Disliked: Staff was rude, tough to distinguish hospitality business from a nice house where a couple want to make money off travellers.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, very friendly staff, excellent location, had a blast

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johnny van den Puttelaar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace is great, the location is good right in the old medina. The room was nice and clean.

Disliked: To be honest there was nothing that I disliked about this riad.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katelin Kennedy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Katelin would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing riad, owners are very friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts, wonderful view from the terrace and incredibly clean.

Disliked: Katelin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: General vibe

Disliked: N/a

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikolaos Gavalakis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Nikolaos would recommend this property

Liked: - beautiful roof terasse - great location - nice and clean rooms - run by an English owner and his mother

Disliked: - no breakfast included (costs 30 dirhams, around 3 Euro extra which is not cheap for Moroccan standards)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robyn Ramsay

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 June 2013 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: Spotless room & bathroom & helpful staff with really good position inside the old town & not far from the bus station.

Disliked: Robyn left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just great! It´s a really lovely, beautifully decorated Riad, five minutes from the central square in Chefchaouen´s Medina. Even better is the friendly help and expert advice from the owners, who were incredibly flexible and accomodating to me.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Mackintosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing little guesthouse in Chefchaouen! The staff are just incredible, Joe and his mum, Ann, will help you with whatever you need even if it´s just for a chat. Great rooftop terrace stocked with drinks. The room was spacious, clean and really nice. Like a Moroccan styled British guesthouse.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanna Nicholas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: Joe and his mum (the owners) were really helpful and friendly. Great location - 5 mins from main square

Disliked: We had a double room with private bathroom but couldnt get hot water in our bathroom so had to use the communal showers (which we didn't need to queue for and were very nice)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

neil clarke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 neil would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find in the medina. A beautiful restored house in the lovely town of chouen. Great view from the roof terrace. welcoming hospitality from the english owners.Very cosy to return too after a wet day in town.Would definitely recomend this smart and stylish place.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find! Good value for money, joe is really helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kit ying tsui

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013 kit ying would recommend this property

Liked: The decorations are great!!very pretty riad, the English lady is very kind and helpful, the shower and toilet are very clean, good location, all in walkable distance

Disliked: Nothing, may be the guy works at night is a bit rude

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robin Oberg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Best value hostel we've ever stayed in. Great private room, in excellent location and Joe and Anne were extremely friendly and helpful. Riad Baraka is extremely well presented from the great roof terrace, all the way down to the front door.We stayed three nights and only left because they were fully booked beyond that.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jose blas camacho taboada

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 jose blas would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, very clean. Staff very friendly and helpfully.

Disliked: Not so many showers.

The property's response is...