HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Soberanis Hotel & Hostel

3 star Hotel | Av. Coba 5 y 7, Mza 8 SM 22, Cancun, Mexico 77500

80.3% Overall Rating

45 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/12/2013)

Geoff Barnes thinks…

"It is in a good position and well maintained. It is currently undergoing refurbishment of all of their rooms. I had booked into a 4 bed dorm that was not available, so they upgraded me to a double en…"

Read all Soberanis Hotel & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

Hotel Alux Cancun
9.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Laurel 41 Hostel
100.00 USD

Hostel 79.2% 52 reviews
Andador Flamboyan 29
30.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Mundo Joven Cancún
12.24 USD

Hostel 90.1% 135 reviews
Moloch Hostel & Suites
13.92 USD

Hostel 69.5% 6 reviews
Mayan Hostel
11.47 USD

Hostel 74.1% 121 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
25.81 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.3% 4 reviews
Hotel Plaza Kokai
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

45 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Soberanis Hotel & Hostel'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 December 2013

Liked: Good size room and clean.

Disliked: At the moment the hotel is under construction, which we knew when we booked but we did not know that there would be banging and drilling throughout the night. We asked them to stop which they did for about 20 minutes and then carried on. I would advise not to stay here whilst under construction. Breakfast was very small but luckily there was a supermarket just around the corner. When we asked about local information the answers were inaccurate.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoff Barnes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Geoff would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a good position and well maintained. It is currently undergoing refurbishment of all of their rooms. I had booked into a 4 bed dorm that was not available, so they upgraded me to a double en suite room at no extra charge. If you like hotels rather than hostels this is a good place.

Disliked: This is a hotel that gives over a couple of rooms 4 bunk beds, there is no communal area other than the cafe with table and chairs. Breakfast is quite meagre; coffee juice and 2 of what I suspect having spent 5 days there were the previous days unsold pastries.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013

Liked: Close to supermarket and bus station. Hot showers. Good for an overnight stay.

Disliked: The staff at front desk were really unfriendly had to ask 3 times to receive our linen and towels. Aircon was faulty you had to plug it in at the wall instead of turning the key on at wall with sparks everytime. The towels were covered in stains. Lucky no one else stayed with us in the 4 bed dorm it was very cramped even with just the 2 of us. Wi-fi didn't work in the room had to stand in the hall way. Not sure about laundry or self catering facilities we had a look but couldn't find them didn't want to ask front desk as everytime we asked for something they seemed annoyed. Also bar area very small and didn't even get acknowledged so we went to a bar around the corner.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 May 2013

Liked: Close to bus station; good price

Disliked: It is a hotel with dorm rooms, not a hostel - there is no kitchen or common areas to meet people

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Davis

Alone

City break

08 February 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms with air conditioning.

Disliked: No comfortable common area to meet others.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jonathan kline-spink

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

07 February 2013

Liked: Decent location...Not too far from the bus station or the action of downtown cancun. And an easy bus ride to the beach. Breakfast was really good, with a full buffet of surprisingly tasty things. Security is good, with lockers in every room. Beds were comfy. Unlimited hot water 24/7. Air conditioning in the rooms.

Disliked: Not really a hostel, more just a cheap hotel with some rooms with bunk beds. As such it doesn't really have any atmosphere. The bathroom in our room leaked, so the floor in the bathroom was constantly covered in an inch of water.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Trevor Ingram

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: An inexpensive room rate, allied to a friendly staff, plus cleaning staff who really 'clean' your room, equals a great 'value for money hostel'. When in Cancun, stay here!

Disliked: Trevor left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good breakfast!! Clean rooms, that's all you really need for that price!

Disliked: there are lockers in the rooms, but you need to bring your own lock! There's only wifi in the lobby.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catherine Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and Comfortable...good location to bus station. Good breakfast considering the price.

Disliked: Quiet with international travellers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff seemed friendly and helpful,most spoke good English which helps. Free linen and towel. Hot showers. Lockers in rooms (need you own lock). The room was clean and had a maid come in daily to help maintain this. Air conditioning kept the place really cool. Free basic breakfast. 10 min walk from main ADO bus station and next to the street to catch buses to the beach/hotel zone. Big supermarket next door.

Disliked: Very patchy WI-FI, kept disappearing all the time. Internet terminals are available but free for only for an hour a day. States there are washing machines to use on the website but got told to use a Laundry a few blocks away, DO NOT write this if you don't make the service available. Website also offers security deposit box, however, they refused to hold my passport because i was only staying in a dorm. Surely you need more protection in a dorm for your items then in a normal room. Again, the hotel needs to clearly state this on their website if they are going to make exceptions for dorms. The basic breakfast of cereal, toast, coffee and orange juice is fine, but every morning they feel the need to point out to me that I' am only allowed that and none of the other foods available. Plenty of finger pointing and angry looks if anybody went near the food when they shouldn't do.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious room with proper shower (hot and cold) and airconditioning, spacious bed and TV.

Disliked: Continental breakfast is nothing special

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: inexpensive & free desayuno in the morning.

Disliked: 4 purrsun rooms a bit small & cramped w. 4 people in it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Benjamin Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 July 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: AC timed out at 3.30am. It got very hot and humid. But the staff fixed it when we told them.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Greg Prescott

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2011 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized double bed. Quite quiet with little noise or disturbance. Room clean and tidy.

Disliked: Room smelt a bit musty. Although only a continental breakfast was part of the deal, mexican food was also served up but we were told not to touch it or we would be charged extra!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suzan tugrul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011 suzan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, the rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was simple, and sufficient. It is right next to a huge supermarket! A bar downstairs.. The buses to the beach are close, 10minutesto a beautiful beach in the hotel zone. 5minutes to the ADO.

Disliked: Need more common areas for backpackers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bar

Disliked: atmosphäre

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap dorm, that slept 4. So that was good. For most of the week we stayed there we had it to ourselves too. Only two other people stayed there, for one night each. The rooms were clean but simple and basic. That's all we needed though. Free internet and free local calls, breakfast included, towels and linen.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel than hostel. Great value. Clean and safe. 1minute from supermarket and local buses, 10min from bus depot that takes you to airport and regional areas

Disliked: No kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alison Cook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2011 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: AC, clean beds and close to the bus station. Breakfast was cereal, toast and coffee. Pretty good for the price.

Disliked: No atmosphere at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Geary

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Nice and close to supermarket and downtown

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

monique gagnon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011 monique would recommend this property

Liked: cuauhtemoc antunez h. was very helpfull made my stay good, and i was also sick and he made sure that I was confortable big thanks for him hope you have the chance to meet him he is the bell boy

Disliked: only one guy at the reception that did not welcome us .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

GEORGES CHristophe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 GEORGES would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: pain aux chocolat

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large room with AC Parking facilities

Disliked: Not quite an enjoyable atmosphere at the hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to find and beds were huge.

Disliked: The water pump turning on and off.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and Clean, good for the money

Disliked: N/A


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels