HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of British Hotel

2 star Hotel | 40 Battery street, Valletta, Malta VLT01

81.6% Overall Rating

164 out of 196 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

Anna Seymour thinks…

"The views from our room were stunning, the room was cozy and warm, the staff were all very friendly"

Read all British Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bicycle hire
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Television room
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 25.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We request one night deposit for each room booked. This is not refundable in case of cancellation or no-show.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valletta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valletta

Osborne Hotel
57.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 5 reviews
V. B. Apartments
48.35 USD

Apartment 91.9% 6 reviews
Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resort
8.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 65.0% 39 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

164 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'British Hotel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 124 of 158 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Seymour

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The views from our room were stunning, the room was cozy and warm, the staff were all very friendly

Disliked: The stairs to our room were horrendous as no lifts but the view made up for it

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As with any hotel, the one thing you cannot change is it's location and, overlooking the Grand Harbour yet within 5 minutes (steep uphill) walk of the centre and the bus station, this cannot be faulted.

Disliked: This hotel is budget priced for a reason, and what a shame because with a little effort on the part of the owners it could be rated so much higher. The rooms are clean but basic in the extreme - hard uncomfortable beds and pillows in particular - and the breakfast was very limited. I am aware of the limitations of a continental breakfast, especially for the British traveller, but the food was unappetising and limited in choice, the coffee poor and the furnishings again basic. Given the splendid view from the dining room, with better quality food and furnishings, this could be a real feature of the hotel!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeremy Robinson

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is central and has spactular views over the harbour. There is a lounge wuth open balcony with free wif-fi. The hotel has a very relaxed and chilled out atmosphere, where the staff are friendly and helpful. Its an easy place to meet other visitiors, especially over drinks and at dinner. The rooms were clean but basic and the facilities adequate. Overall, we found it good place to stay for a couple of days and good value for money

Disliked: Despite the charm and potential, the whole place is a little basic, rundown and scruffy and in need of a bit of a make over. Its basic but adequate. Dinner was a disappointment as the food had been precooked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jane carmel lavelle

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 jane carmel would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness, location, aspect - Grand Harbour! easy axcess to middle of city, and all major sights, palaces etc. Bus station, couldn't have xhosen better.

Disliked: No complaints. Adjacent to everything. greatViews. Clean. Friendly staff.Good food. Very restful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good food, excellent view

Disliked: No TV in room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013

Liked: The location is very neat to downtown.

Disliked: The inconvenience of no internet access in the room; the room seems to be old and a little dirty

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has an amazing view of Valletta's harbor from the bar, the restaurant, and many guest rooms.

Disliked: Stale bread in restaurant. (We ate 4 breakfasts and 1 lunch and the bread was always stale.)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a wonderful location and views but this elderly hotel will never be the Ritz! But you get what you pay for...as ever!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patsy Ryan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Patsy would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel must have the best location in Valetta, it is within walking distance of everything Staff very helpful, view from dining room is out of this world.

Disliked: Could not find any fault with this hotel, it is an old building but the staff keep it in good condition.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Romantic getaway

04 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: As above. Also whilst they were friendly they were not helpful. Eg they did not offer a choice of rooms. They did not tell us about a sunbathing area on the roof. to their credit they offered us free heating in the room after both my husband and son developed colds as a result of its dank and cold room. We also feel we were overcharged due to the fact that the deposit was paid in sterling but the hotel bill is settled in euros. The owner even suggested initially that no deposit had been taken. We have stayed in much beter hotels for the same price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Wolak

Alone

City break

27 October 2012 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, great views at breakfast, clean white bed linen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for four nights with my friends. The room was clean enough and location was very good (close from the center and the main bus terminal). But Valletta is a small city anyways, so location might not be a big problem wherever you stay. What I liked the most was the atmosphere of this hotel. Staff were all very helpful and friendly which giving the hotel homey atmosphere. It had a terrace (and restaurant on the second top floor) on the top floor which was open for everyone. The view from the terrace was great so that we could enjoy the ocean view during breakfast or at night after sightseeing (it was nice as we didn't stay at ocean view-type room).

Disliked: Nothing really.... but it would be nicer if we could have fresh fruits or vegetables for breakfast (and nicer coffee..!)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: posizione perfetta, sei nel centro storico ma anche a due passi dalla fermata principale dei bus e per prendere i traghetti, ambiente e clientela tranquilla, terrazza per la colazione con bella vista mare, spazi relax e roof terrazza vista mare

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Horner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Copious breakfasts. Fantastic views over the harbour from the restaurant.

Disliked: Uncomfortable sagging single bed in tiny dark room smelling of damp.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: View from Hotel. In Valleta. Walk to many places of interest.

Disliked: Single room that I could afford was still to small for the price. Could barely move around. No one to help with luggage up stairs for a person who is older, like myself. No decorations at all in tiny room....seemed more like a cell, but it did have a toilet. Breakfast could have had hard bolded eggs instead of mostly carbs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jose ramon aranda hernandez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 jose ramon would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and lovely

Disliked: Everything was super

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judy Membu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Judy would recommend this property

Liked: nice place, just convenient . lift to all floors. location okay for city overview.

Disliked: the hot water was not really functional on the 4th floor. you need to check it out before you finally choose a room. apart from this i enjoyed by staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fantastic view, the great location and the lovely ensuite.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susan Sikora

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The view of the Grand Harbor from the breakfast area and the free Wifi area. Blue skies, blue Mediterranean. And in walking distance of anything you want.

Disliked: Susan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The winding marble staircases give the British character, and one has the feeling of Alice down the rabbit hole. Very cool. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Spectacular views and free WiFi.

Disliked: There was a limit to the hot water available for showers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

michael dawson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2011 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location, View, Staff

Disliked: Breakfast was boring

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ERINA SAKANO

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2011

Liked: totally nothing.bad room condition.and facilities. but only one things all staff are really nice,kind and friendly.

Disliked: hotel and room are very old and not clean. and in my case,shower doesn't work.(because tank was switched off staff never checked in the room before customer come). and lamp was broken.room are stink because they painted on wall to hide old and dirty. I coudn't take a shower till morning(untill staff come)even I had time limit to get tour bus. and more over, complain about it to the owner,He says just take a shower at next room.and never apologized,and finally says you can stay this room(which I took shower) if you pay 10euro more. He is (especially the one of 3) so stingy.and always think about money monery monery. I think I never ever stay this hotel again.the worst hotel in the world as someone rating on other Tour gide book.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lennard Luteijn

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Lennard would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view over the harbour, not expensive, close to busstation and pretty much everything else in Valetta, which is not that hard as Valetta is the size of a football pitch

Disliked: Characterless, looks like your stuck in 1973, rooms are white painted monk's cells

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iren szamtarto

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 September 2011 Iren would recommend this property

Liked: There is AC,but the ciling fan doesn't work.

Disliked: The dinner is awfull