HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Penang hostels

Reviews of Red Inn Court

2 star Hotel | 35B&C, Jalan Mesjid Kapitan Keling, 10200, Georgetown Penang, Malaysia 10200

89.4% Overall Rating

118 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Best beds in Asia! So comfortable! Spotless rooms, very helpful staff, gorgeous quirky bathrooms, great location...can't fault it"

Read all Red Inn Court reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bicycle hire
  • Concierge
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Penang

Cocoa Mews
6.17 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 76 reviews
Love Lane Inn
4.32 USD

Hostel 68.0% 87 reviews
Red Inn Penang
9.87 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 27 reviews
Red Inn Heritage
4.63 USD

Guesthouse 85.7% 35 reviews
Super K Hostel
8.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel
10.80 USD

Hostel 87.9% 59 reviews
Red Inn Cabana
8.64 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 29 reviews
Hutton Lodge
9.26 USD

Hostel 80.5% 347 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

118 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red Inn Court'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 109 of 118 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best beds in Asia! So comfortable! Spotless rooms, very helpful staff, gorgeous quirky bathrooms, great location...can't fault it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plain, clean, simple and in a great location

Disliked: Breakfast was basic but I wouldn't expect more given the price

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING SHOWERS!!!

Disliked: Air-con didn't really work and the room became too hot at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in china town and very well kept rooms

Disliked: Staff don't seem too stoked to be there

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very secure, good staff, decent breakfast.

Disliked: They have a bad mosquito problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good showers,comfortable beds,centrally located,friendly statt,a/c,fruit by breakfast,free drinking water

Disliked: thin walls,can be noisy sometimes

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

DEDE SUHADI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 DEDE would recommend this property

Liked: great design

Disliked: small room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers, very comfy beds and the location.

Disliked: A member of staff was very rude and disrespectful to me when I asked him about about something. Not the sort of customer service you expect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 친절하고 위치도 좋고 깨끗했습니다

Disliked: 없어요

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeffry kho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 jeffry would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cleanliness of the room, the design for the bed was nice as it has a foldable table, the design of the guest house gave me the feel of childhood.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ı really liked here..location is perfect...staff is amazing, helpful and friendly

Disliked: My blanket had too many hairs..:/ could have been cleaner

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jordan Hreljac

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, most staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. Close to little india and amazing foods.

Disliked: Do not stay in the one room on the first floor. It had ants and when we told the staff, the girl we dealt with said, "oh ya" usually people complain about that... other than that we heard the second floor rooms are much better from some other guests.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Jenkins

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 December 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, lockers, showers.

Disliked: Felt a bit formal and a bit more like a hotel than a hostel, but otherwise everything was good.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: many hairdryers available

Disliked: they didn't honor the price I booked on hostelbookers. this seems like bad business practice to me. i was only informed that this price would not be honored upon my arrival, not beforehand. i have to give a bad rating for this. besides that, i didn't really like the locker style. your bed has a plug but you cant really use your phone with it while laying down because it's inside the locker and the locker door sticks out so that you cant lay down anymore.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yucel adil sahinbeyoglu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 yucel adil would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a lovely little place in a great location in Georgetown, everything you need is at your doorstep!

Disliked: The staff weren't overly friendly or helpful with the exception of the lovely Moroccan girl and the wifi was pretty slow and sporadic.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Boryan Zafirovski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Boryan would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean inside, internet provided, rooms in superb condition

Disliked: Boryan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hair dryer was provided :)

Disliked: none.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederik van Walsum

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Frederik would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern rooms. Everything is clean and the staff is helpfull.

Disliked: Frederik left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff and big rooms. Beds with lockers and the lockers had plugs in. Yummy breakfast, so nice to get some fruit and. Change from just toast offered everywhere else

Disliked: Finding one of the staff members wearing my flip flops after having to take them off to go upstairs. The walls are really thin, I woke up hearing someone walking around the next door room and it was so loud I thought they were in my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quite central. When I got tired I could go back to the hostel for a rest before heading out again. Little India is literally in its backyard. If you are vegetarian you can find vegetarian indian food here.

Disliked: Where our room was situated, it could get a bit noisy at times when people are going up and down the stairs and walking above us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good wifi. Tea and coffee all day. Funky and modern decor

Disliked: We stayed in a twin bed (bunk bed) and it had no window which made it stuffy without aircon and was quite small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naila Fatima

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2013 Naila would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities. . very clean. . over all Superb experience.

Disliked: Check in time restrictions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here back in the end of July so this is an overdue review. Location: very convenient -- walking distance from the ferry pier and close to many sightseeing attractions in Georgetown. Also not too far from the jetty bus station. The common room, washrooms, and the dorm room were clean. The bean bags in the TV lana side were comfortable. Liked the decor. The free breakfast was yummy -- fruits, bread, roti+curry. The staff there, especially Fadzrin (but with the exception of the girl at the reception who was more interested in chatting with her friends on her phone and laughing loudly than paying attention to her guests) was very friendly and helpful. Gave useful eatery recommendations and handy tips about the city. Really made this trip an enjoyable one!

Disliked: Nothing really. If I have to nip pick, the wifi signal can be slow at times. Also, it may just be the design of my plugs, but the door of the personal compartment shelf could not close when my phone was plugged in to charge - and this would be the only outlet for the top bunkers.


See all Penang hostels