HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Penang hostels

Reviews of Red Inn Court

2 star Hotel | 35B&C, Jalan Mesjid Kapitan Keling, 10200, Georgetown Penang, Malaysia 10200

89.1% Overall Rating

122 out of 123 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2014)

Micheal Lynch thinks…

"Clean efficient no frills enjoyable ., excellent location, great staff and very hygienic ."

Read all Red Inn Court reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bicycle hire
  • Concierge
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Penang

Clockwise Hostel
7.72 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Cocoa Mews
7.88 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 81 reviews
Love Lane Inn
5.67 USD

Hostel 69.6% 88 reviews
Red Inn Penang
9.45 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 27 reviews
Red Inn Heritage
7.56 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 43 reviews
Super K Hostel
10.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel
11.03 USD

Hostel 87.8% 66 reviews
Red Inn Cabana
9.45 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

122 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red Inn Court'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 122 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels in Asia. Hotel quality digs for a hostel price.Dorms are very well designed for a backpacker in mind .Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Margus Ots

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2013 Margus would recommend this property

Liked: Great low-budget place to stay, definitely recommend. Rooms are a little small and meant just for sleeping (although beds are huge) no table, but lobby is really comfortable. Breakfast included and it was delicios - some fruit and other stuff. Free tea/coffee 24 h, free wifi, towel provided

Disliked: The blanket was a little small and linen were only provided for matresse. Next time will bring linen for blanket myself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luis rosa sureda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 luis would recommend this property

Liked: Es uno de los mejores hostales de Georgetown sin duda.

Disliked: Todo correcto.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

THI HAI ANH NGUYEN

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

28 February 2013 THI HAI ANH would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to many tourist attractions and has good breakfast (different food and fruits), free coffee and tea all day and water (have to bring your own water bottle to refill), and hot water for showering!!

Disliked: Wifi sometimes get cut off, and very steep stairs. The most annyoying about the room is that the plugs are inside the locker so at night when you want to charge your phone or computer, you have to leave the locker unlock which makes it not safe because you want lock your valuables away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was excellent! Took a cab from ferry terminal since we didn't know where we were going. But once we figured that out walking, CAT, or city buses took us everywhere we wanted to go.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Red Inn Court, really friendly staff and chilled out place, the showers are awesome too! Would def go back there.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Manfred Kleber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Manfred would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: a little bit expensive

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and cozy (although small) rooms. Beds are really comfortable

Disliked: In general the staff is not very helpful (don't expect them to start any conversation). They are just simply there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TRI SUCI INDRAWATI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 TRI SUCI would recommend this property

Liked: guest can rent bicycle to go arraound

Disliked: no towel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Kaelin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and I liked the area in the front to sit in. Free fruit and coffee/tea all day was nice too. The staff is nice and gave me a refund for one night because of a mistake they made.

Disliked: When I arrived and paid for the room at 11:30pm after traveling for 20 hours, they told me they had made some mistake and didn't have enough keys, so I had to sit in the lobby until about 1:30am waiting for the other people staying in the dorm to return and unlock the door. This was annoying and they didn't offer me anything even though I had already paid. BUT when I complained the next day they were very nice and gave me a refund for the first night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is extremely helpful! The shower head was one of those huge ones you get only in very luxurious hotels. The bed is wide and the best from our whole trip (of a month). They provide separate light for each person in the room.Brilliant. The building is a proper chinese house that we pay money to go and see it in a museum. Amazing. Top place. I would stay there any time.

Disliked: NOTHING.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra van Aanholt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Nice vibe, clean and modern showers and toilets. They booked à ferry ticket without charges. Great breakfast with fresh fruit, noodles and kind of pancake pieces. Free coffee and tea whole day. Good location. Seperate shower and toilets!

Disliked: Nothing, maybe big steps to first floor with luggage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, large lockers and reading light for each bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, plentiful breakfast, very clean, great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Ooi Boon Khiam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: simple and comfortable

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have been travelling for months, and Red Inn Court is probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The rooms have great atmosphere, good facilities (own plugs/cupboard/light/locker/fast wifi) and super clean! The location is spot on, and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Common areas are nice (big tv with dvds) and decent breakfast. Did I mention they have spa showers and you get two pillows?

Disliked: The only minor negative points: the blanket was very itchy (had to use my own blanket instead), and it would've been nice if the beds had their own curtain for a little more privacy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Loesken

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived fairly late, but the check-in hostess was incredibly helpful and friendly. The nook above the beds was a great feature, there were a lot of showers and sinks, and the breakfast in the morning was good.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly and helpful staff, breakfast! Everything was just great!

Disliked: The room is a bit too small for four people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff! Nice decoration! Good breakfast.

Disliked: A bit more expensive than surrounding hostels. Internet can be a little slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XIAOCEN ZHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012 XIAOCEN would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place. Friendly people. One morning they provided small coconut pancake. It's the best I ever had! Good location. Great shower.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night because it's at a main road.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Sharland

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: good location near to ferry port. very clean really comfortable beds. great showers.

Disliked: lots of mosquitos flying around inside. lounge area could be improved as only 3 bean bags on floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel! Staff are great, rooms are great, beds are comfy, showers are brilliant, delicious breakfast included, coffee and tea all day, wifi works well, close to everything...need I say more?!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SITTIPORN MUANGKOOM

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 SITTIPORN would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: SITTIPORN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nazirul Azreen Uda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Nazirul Azreen would recommend this property

Liked: I very like to stay here. The girl at the receptionist is very kind, friendly and beautiful. The facilities in the room and the property are very good. The toilet also clean and no smelly.

Disliked: NIL


See all Penang hostels