HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Penang hostels

Reviews of Red Inn Court

2 star Hotel | 35B&C, Jalan Mesjid Kapitan Keling, 10200, Georgetown Penang, Malaysia 10200

88.7% Overall Rating

128 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Lau Chun For thinks…

"Good location in George Town near the Little India area, we can take most of bus at Ferry terminal which abt 10 mins nearby. At night there are also some night hawker food and bars nearby which are…"

Read all Red Inn Court reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Photocopying
  • Bicycle hire
  • Concierge
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Penang

Clockwise Hostel
7.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Cocoa Mews
6.10 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 87 reviews
Love Lane Inn
5.49 USD

Hostel 69.6% 90 reviews
56 Red Inn
6.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Red Inn Penang
10.37 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 28 reviews
Red Inn Heritage
7.93 USD

Guesthouse 80.3% 45 reviews
Super K Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel
10.67 USD

Hostel 87.2% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

128 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red Inn Court'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 119 of 128 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great breakfast

Disliked: Wifi not good in certain locations

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Rogers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double room with TV which had lots of movies available. The room was spacious and clean andd there were plenty of showers/toilets. The staff were also friendly and helpful and the location was great for little India and the colonial area.

Disliked: If you stay in a room facing the street the traffic noise can be heard through the shutters. Overnight there is little traffic though. There is no communal fridge, but reception were happy for us to leave things with them behind the counter.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lesley Toms

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Lesley would recommend this property

Liked: We found the hostel very easy to find, instructions were great! We also loved the free breakfast it was without a doubt the best selection we've had at a hostel! There seemed to always be at least one member of staff at reception and again always one member of staff cleaning! The wifi was good, the entire place extremely clean!

Disliked: A little late being able to check in was a pain especially as we had arrived an 90mins early!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to find, and in the middle of town. Very busy place, popular with backpackers. There is free flow of tea and coffee all day! The room is economical in space, the cupboard is built in to the bunk so it faces you, and there is even a fold out desk that opens out onto your bed to work on. Many sockets within your own space so no need to fight to recharge your devices. I really like the shower as it has many showerheads that spray you with water in different directions and levels and there is free soap aswell. The lights to the shower and toilet turn on when you close the doors which is a great idea as energy is not wasted when utilities are not in use. Overall a great hostel with many forward thinking innovations to cater for the needs of the modern backpacker with great value for money.

Disliked: Good value for money as you get breakfast, but unfortunately for my short stay I didn't get to enjoy this as I had to leave early in the morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alex pimentel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 alex would recommend this property

Liked: I must say that my two day stay at this hostel was exceptional. The property is charming and centrally located. Their staff shows a level friendliness and genuine a approach to hospitality that is refreshing. Lily in particular was very helpful and was eager to answer any questions I had regarding transportation and places to eat. Couldn't recommend this place more!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Maziarski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are comfortable. In my 4 bed dorm, every bed had its own locker and sockets and reading light and there was a fan and ac in the room. They also provide soap and toilet paper. Everything was clean and the internet was good.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels in Asia. Hotel quality digs for a hostel price.Dorms are very well designed for a backpacker in mind .Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Margus Ots

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2013 Margus would recommend this property

Liked: Great low-budget place to stay, definitely recommend. Rooms are a little small and meant just for sleeping (although beds are huge) no table, but lobby is really comfortable. Breakfast included and it was delicios - some fruit and other stuff. Free tea/coffee 24 h, free wifi, towel provided

Disliked: The blanket was a little small and linen were only provided for matresse. Next time will bring linen for blanket myself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luis rosa sureda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 luis would recommend this property

Liked: Es uno de los mejores hostales de Georgetown sin duda.

Disliked: Todo correcto.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

THI HAI ANH NGUYEN

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

28 February 2013 THI HAI ANH would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to many tourist attractions and has good breakfast (different food and fruits), free coffee and tea all day and water (have to bring your own water bottle to refill), and hot water for showering!!

Disliked: Wifi sometimes get cut off, and very steep stairs. The most annyoying about the room is that the plugs are inside the locker so at night when you want to charge your phone or computer, you have to leave the locker unlock which makes it not safe because you want lock your valuables away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was excellent! Took a cab from ferry terminal since we didn't know where we were going. But once we figured that out walking, CAT, or city buses took us everywhere we wanted to go.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Red Inn Court, really friendly staff and chilled out place, the showers are awesome too! Would def go back there.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Manfred Kleber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Manfred would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: a little bit expensive

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and cozy (although small) rooms. Beds are really comfortable

Disliked: In general the staff is not very helpful (don't expect them to start any conversation). They are just simply there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TRI SUCI INDRAWATI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 TRI SUCI would recommend this property

Liked: guest can rent bicycle to go arraound

Disliked: no towel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Kaelin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and I liked the area in the front to sit in. Free fruit and coffee/tea all day was nice too. The staff is nice and gave me a refund for one night because of a mistake they made.

Disliked: When I arrived and paid for the room at 11:30pm after traveling for 20 hours, they told me they had made some mistake and didn't have enough keys, so I had to sit in the lobby until about 1:30am waiting for the other people staying in the dorm to return and unlock the door. This was annoying and they didn't offer me anything even though I had already paid. BUT when I complained the next day they were very nice and gave me a refund for the first night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is extremely helpful! The shower head was one of those huge ones you get only in very luxurious hotels. The bed is wide and the best from our whole trip (of a month). They provide separate light for each person in the room.Brilliant. The building is a proper chinese house that we pay money to go and see it in a museum. Amazing. Top place. I would stay there any time.

Disliked: NOTHING.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra van Aanholt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Nice vibe, clean and modern showers and toilets. They booked à ferry ticket without charges. Great breakfast with fresh fruit, noodles and kind of pancake pieces. Free coffee and tea whole day. Good location. Seperate shower and toilets!

Disliked: Nothing, maybe big steps to first floor with luggage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, large lockers and reading light for each bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, plentiful breakfast, very clean, great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Ooi Boon Khiam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: simple and comfortable

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have been travelling for months, and Red Inn Court is probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The rooms have great atmosphere, good facilities (own plugs/cupboard/light/locker/fast wifi) and super clean! The location is spot on, and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Common areas are nice (big tv with dvds) and decent breakfast. Did I mention they have spa showers and you get two pillows?

Disliked: The only minor negative points: the blanket was very itchy (had to use my own blanket instead), and it would've been nice if the beds had their own curtain for a little more privacy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Loesken

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived fairly late, but the check-in hostess was incredibly helpful and friendly. The nook above the beds was a great feature, there were a lot of showers and sinks, and the breakfast in the morning was good.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly and helpful staff, breakfast! Everything was just great!

Disliked: The room is a bit too small for four people.


See all Penang hostels