HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Chinatown Inn

2 star Hotel | 52-54 Jalan Petaling, ( Petaling Street ), Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50000

77.9% Overall Rating

138 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/01/2013)

andrew bennett thinks…

"We had a triple room which was basic clean and comfortable . And with its location most things are very close by."

Read all Hotel Chinatown Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Ocean 77 Hotel
13.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chinatown 2
7.65 USD

Guesthouse 69.7% 193 reviews
Bunc@Radius Chinatown
11.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Etika Inn
15.29 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Reggae Guest House
10.71 USD

Hostel 88.6% 354 reviews
Le Hotel Chinatown
11.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.1% 3 reviews
Backpacker's Travellers Inn
3.67 USD

Hostel 65.0% 472 reviews
Swiss-Inn Kuala Lumpur- an International Hip Hotel
28.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

138 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Chinatown Inn'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
72.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 108 of 112 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station and China Town

Disliked: Too old and dark furnitures, room and bathroom. Rooms on reception floor are too noise. they sold me a day tour that took me to several shops and spent few minutes on main points of the city

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Przemyslaw Nowak

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Przemyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: OK

Disliked: Przemyslaw left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bad signal for wifi, usually had to stand in corridor for it to work. Rooms are generally worn and torn, need to be painted, cleaned up.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful, uncomplicated staff, central but no noise from street

Disliked: water noise and noisy guests on one evening

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very enjoyable stay

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andrew bennett

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: We had a triple room which was basic clean and comfortable . And with its location most things are very close by.

Disliked: The bad points are getting to the hotel through the markets . And the shower has no screen or curtain so the whole bathroom gets wet. It took a few minutes for the water to warm up but was great once it gets going

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: It's noisy in the rooms at the front. But thereagain what do you expect if you stay on Petaling Street.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

NICHOLAS TUOHEY

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 NICHOLAS would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right amongst the lively, daily spectacles of the Chinatown markets.

Disliked: Bit of a slug to get a heavy suitcase up the stairs, then be told the lift is out order! Then have to drag your stuff up another 2 sets of stairs. Hopefully this will be rectified soon. This was the only bad thing but otherwise it was a great pleace to stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEFF WELSH

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 JEFF would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: up stairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location Good price Bed is very comfortable. I slept well. Staff is helpful.

Disliked: Bedroom had no window. Lobby is not on ground floor, you have to haul luggage up the first floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Recomiendo este hotel por su localización. La limpieza es buena. Limpian la habitación todos los días y cambian las sábanas y toallas a diario. Tele en cada cuarto y tienen la FOX premium, lo que posibilita ver películas.

Disliked: Si pagas con tarjeta te cobran un 3% adicional. La ducha no tiene alcachofa, por lo que sale el agua a chorro.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mark Erratt

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi signal

Disliked: The lift was not working all the time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice rooms. Good location. Very cheap.

Disliked: No window in the room and quite noisy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Duddy Lasmana

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 November 2011 Duddy would recommend this property

Liked: First impression the location is not well described in Hostel world because in middle of China Town night market street, but after we entered the Lobby we like this Hostel because its clean and meet our expectation

Disliked: No all of the crew is helpful

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ee Meng Lim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

16 October 2011 Ee Meng would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Right in the middle of Chinatown, with food available all day and night. Its about 10 min walk to the Pasa Seni LRT station which can move you to KL City Centre (or better known as the Petronas Twin Towers). The bed is very nice and comfortable to sleep on. Clean and bug free.

Disliked: Room is a bit small and the 14-inch TV has only 1 english channel. But, its ok for me as I do not stay in the room for long. They took quite a while to find my online booking. But I get register with no other issues.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good for the northern bus station and far from KL Sentral Bus and train station

Disliked: O

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the middle of the markets on Petaling street so great hotel if you're into shopping!

Disliked: We did have air-con in the room but there was no temperature control so couldn't alter it to suit.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

john tucker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 john would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find. Just where travellers want to be. Clean and cheap

Disliked: The cheap rooms do not have windows but the rooms are still bright and airy so really not many negatives

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rates

Disliked: No complaints. Good value for money, served its purpose so expectations were not high.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, heart of kl, close to puduraya, chinatown, close to lrt for travel to anywhere in kl, great value for money

Disliked: cockraoches & mosquito should be controlled with pesticides

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. Near public transportation, shopping and eating outlets.

Disliked: Nothing in particular

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Georgia Page

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the heart of China Town

Disliked: The receptionist staff arent very friendly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kho Ai Nie

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2011 Kho Ai would recommend this property

Liked: nice room and services =)

Disliked: please maintenance the lift and the air conditioning so cool when it's night.. but i'm not really dislike the air conditioning, just entry for hotel chinatown inn.. and i think chinatown hotel can make some attract additional thing.. thank you..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shaya Monk

As a family with children

Family Holiday

16 March 2011 Shaya would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the best part. The rooms were very basic but comfortable and very clean. The service was ok, not overly friendly or helpful but if asked they would help.

Disliked: It would've been nice if extra towels and pillows could be given out when asked. Also, they added extra charges to the bill when we should've been paying a fixed amount.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris constable

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff

Disliked: no problems at all