We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Villa Merry Lao III Hotel

3.5 star Hotel | Phousi Mountain, Kingkitsarath Road, Luang Prabang, Laos 6000

86.7% Overall Rating

43 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

"Attentive & friendly staff. We had an issue with the aircon the first night & she happily changed our room. It was a short walk to most attractions & around the corner from utopia (a must to visit)"

Read all Villa Merry Lao III Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fitness centre
  • Gym
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Luang Prabang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Luang Prabang

Namkhan Riverside
13.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Rama Hotel
17.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 20 reviews
Villa Thony 1 House 1
7.32 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 25 reviews
Villa Merry No 1at the Khan River
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 37 reviews
Central Backpackers Hostel
6.10 USD

Hostel 85.1% 50 reviews
Liberty Guest House
10.74 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 48 reviews
Merryguesthouse No2
8.54 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 34 reviews
Singharat Guest House
15.86 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

43 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Villa Merry Lao III Hotel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Attentive & friendly staff. We had an issue with the aircon the first night & she happily changed our room. It was a short walk to most attractions & around the corner from utopia (a must to visit)

Disliked: TV only had two local stations.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Barely any hot water and clocked bathtub. Also, a rooster wakes you up everyday.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Stijn Debuysscher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: The antique building with matching old wooden furniture Nice location in the middle of bar area and down the central hill Good beds

Disliked: Computer downstairs didn't work during the whole stay Airco in the room very loud Sink in the bathroom at knee-height Shower not separated from rest of bathroom making everything wet No (free) map available at the reception desk Laundry not properly done and pricing not transparant Building was closed at arrival and no other guests observed Communication with the one staff member present was really difficult due to lack of English (and definitely German) speaking skills

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leanne Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel in central location near to restaurants and bars. Very helpful staff. We stayed in the budget room but it was still pretty big. Very clean. Would stay here again.

Disliked: We were not allowed to keep the air conditioning remote in our room as there was only one for the floor we stayed on or perhaps the whole hotel, we didn't quite understand. In the middle of the night they turned it off for some unknown reason. As soon as we opened our door, they were there to turn it on again, very strange!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sophie Vizethum

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff, German speaking owner

Disliked: No mosquito shield on the window! If there is a mosquito shield, it would be the perfect guesthouse!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were quite large and are wel decorated and it is a quite place.

Disliked: Its quite expensive although the rooms are beautifull and nice. The cheaper rooms downstairs have no views from the windows, while the rooms upstairs have a bit of a view but are quite pricy.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mary Nolan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Noisy air con. Smell in bathroom. No breakfast. Didn't clean our room everyday. Right across the street from a pub so noisy until 12am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steel sara

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 May 2012 steel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent!

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms, nice receptionist

Disliked: nothing....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rainer Dams

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2012 Rainer would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff ever!

Disliked: Rainer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RICARDO NICKEL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 RICARDO would recommend this property

Liked: they always got a smile for you , nice hostel and nice stay, i recommend.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Walton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fabulous stay here last month. The young vietnamese lady on Reception (sorry, we can't remember your name!) did a fantastic job, and couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. As she was on site with her father 24/7, we also felt confident that our belongings were safe and secure. The hostel was only 5 mins from the main strip, our room was spotlessly clean, with a great breakfast to start the day. Highly recommended, thank you!

Disliked: Francesca left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful friendly, helpful staff. Large clean room as shown in the photo online. Not on the more hectic main street. Good breakfast

Disliked: Slightly further from the middle of town than some other hostels/guest houses - but not too far

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antenor Chocano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Antenor would recommend this property

Liked: Thu, the nice vietnamese, is the most enchanting person! He did everything we need to make our stay as good as home. She really know how to treat costumbers. The location is good, the rooms are big and nice with air con and hot water. Definetly stay here again!

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'hotel è molto pulito e le camere spaziose.

Disliked: L'hotel si trova in una posizione un po' laterale rispetto alla zona centrale della città.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: During these days in this hotel, we're happy and feel very comfortable because of all services such: breakfast, rooms and etc... The room is quite so nice with good air-con, Television. The bathroom is clean. All the information they introduced us are very useful such as: they introduced us to a very good Hotel in Vietnam. Thanks to them, we have a good trip and unforgettable experience. Thank you for everything.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Big rooms - Friendly staff, especially the Vietnamese girl who speaks very good English and was very helpfull - Excelent location - Dispite the critical points (heads up) a pleasant place to stay

Disliked: - As it is situated right accross a number of bars and restaurants, it is very noisy untill after 12 PM. Even after everything was closed (at 23:00) there were still lots (drunk) people standing outside and singing and making noise. - Noisy airco from the neighbouring room (some parts seemed to be loose as we could see since the airco was right in front of our room on the common balcony) - There seems to be a problem with the sewege, the water keeps moving up and down in the toilet and coming up from the toilet very often which unfortunatelly also brings a (light sewege) smell with it - We spent more than an hour looking for this place, the taxi driver droped us off at Merry guesthouse 500 m further, we asked 5 or 6 locals were Villa Merry no.3 was but were constantly sent in different directions. The reason for this is that Villa Merry no.3 has apperantly undergone a name change (and is currently called Merry Lao Swiss) and the address was not marked in our LP and many locals apparently have never heard of this street either

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kiata ryan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 kiata would recommend this property

Liked: this guesthouse was so nice, and had a great location really close to everything! the best part about staying in the villa merry guesthouse was our wonderful host Thu who was so nice with excellent english and great advice for things to do. we would highly recommend villa merry guesthouse

Disliked: we did not dislike anything about this guesthouse

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The young girl running the place was an absolute delight and became a dear friend

Disliked: I had to leave it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice sized rooms with pretty decor, lovely shuttered windows and balcony with view

Disliked: right in the party side of town which is perfect if that's what you are looking for. Music very loud but everything does shut down at 11:30pm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you all for making our stay so comfortable. Everybody was so helpful and always with a smile. We loved the room – the cleanest room we have been to in Laos! The breakfast was good, personal favorite was fridge eggs or omelet.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Hotel, staff were brilliant, room was clean and tidy. Thoroughly recommend this hotel if you're traveling to Luang Prabang.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

futina inna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 futina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff (good spoken english too). Room was clean and spacious, breakfast very good. Recommended

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hotel, helpful staff. you can not complain when you stay here. Thank you to all staff. I will recommend all my friend to your hotel.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,staff,room and bathroom very clean. I do recommend it to anyone visiting Luang Prabang

Disliked: A bit quite