HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Petra hostels

Reviews of Rocky Mountain Hotel

Hotel | Main Street, Petra, Jordan 71810

92.2% Overall Rating

53 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/02/2014)

steven westwood thinks…

"friendly helpful staff. great breakfasts and evening meal. clean rooms. incredible views from dining room."

Read all Rocky Mountain Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 98.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Petra?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Petra

Elgee Hotel
31.66 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Al Rashid Hotel
18.29 USD

Hotel 91.8% 15 reviews
Valentine Inn
7.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.9% 87 reviews
Qaser Al-Bint Hotel
12.67 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Petra Gate Hostel
14.07 USD

Hostel 84.7% 159 reviews
Oscar Hotel
42.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cleopetra Hotel
23.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 141 reviews
Petra Sella Hotel
20.48 USD

Hotel 4 star 76.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

53 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rocky Mountain Hotel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven westwood

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 steven would recommend this property

Liked: friendly helpful staff. great breakfasts and evening meal. clean rooms. incredible views from dining room.

Disliked: steven left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikhia Itzkovich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013

Liked: Fantastic staff and hotel, highly erect ended, we had a great stay here

Disliked: Nil

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

james oborne

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 james would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and helpful nature of the staff and the owner, Jane. My room being on the top floor in a corner was wonderful with a great view, lots of windows and very quiet.

Disliked: The location. As I did not have the use of a vehicle, getting to and from the main part of the city and Petra was difficult. The free shuttles did help, however, you really needed to plan out your day in order to get the free transportation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful views from terrace at sunset towards Petra Bedouin-style dining room

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Cristina Bortoletto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Maria Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff, the view from the room and from the terrace - all fantastic!

Disliked: Too much stairs... and the noise from the street, a little too much either.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Arabic style restaurant with nice view at the rooftop. Good for, good value for money. Helpfull staff. Free shuttle to Petra.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jane and the staff were great and always were trying to be helpfull and it appears they genuinely wanted to make everyones stay enjoyable. There is a free shuttle to/from the entrance to Petra in the morning and evening.

Disliked: Its located up on a hill and quite far away from the entrance to Petra and the more touristy part of town which meant a lot of extra walking or paying for taxis. There were several times when we returned to the hotel and the desk was unmanned so we had to help ourselves to our room key which made me question the security. When we went to check out the hotel had no copy of our booking.com reservation and tried to charge us a rate almost twice what we booked on booking.com and even after providing a copy of our booking.com reservation complete with room rate I hard to argue to get them to agree to it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Found this hotel to live up to its reviews. Had a room with a great panoramic view of the mountains which was a plus I didn't expect.

Disliked: Labels on the breakfast buffet items would have been helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Perry Stamp

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 March 2013 Perry would recommend this property

Liked: The two best things about the Rocky Mountain Hostel are the friendly staff and the incredible views overlooking Petra. Even if you don't stay here be sure to venture up for a drink at the hostel's terrace to enjoy some splendid views of the city.

Disliked: Although the dinner wasn't bad I would advise eating off property as you can get much more for much less (particularly if you are vegetarian). Meals at Rocky Mountain are 8JD per person regardless of your dietary requirements and since the meal is centered around meat it probably best to venture out. Also, be sure to call and confirm your reservation before you go. Even though I had a confirmation number from Hostel Bookers the hostel didn't have us in their system. After a brief moment of panic they said they would be able to accommodate us anyway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lubomir Filip

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Lubomir would recommend this property

Liked: Jane is doing a wonderful job, recommend as a marvelous choice, excellent value for money, delicious meals

Disliked: Lubomir left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aubrey Raimondi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Aubrey would recommend this property

Liked: This was the perfect hostel for myself and two other friends to have chosen for this vacation. The view from the hostel is absolutely stunning. The rooms are simple and clean. The staff is incredibly helpful especially Dana but also several other staff members who I didn't get their names. The food was great and really representative of traditional food from the area. I would recommend the packed lunch although beware that it is not too healthy; A lot of junk food is included. If you need a healthy lunch then ask about a grocer nearby and get some fruit and veggies to pack. Others mentioned that the buffet breakfast is simple but I disagree. The breakfast was traditional ME breakfast food. Traveling is about experiencing things outside your norm, so book your night at this amazing hostel!

Disliked: Nothing. I plan to come back to stay again in a month.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the balconies and from the rooftop restaurant is spectacular. The shuttle service to the entrance of Petra is good. It is only 3 JOD for a taxi back to the hotel should you decide to return sooner than the scheduled pick up times.

Disliked: The hotel only accepts cash.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpfull staff. Good place to stay, good price. Perfect for Petra with their free shuttle service - and we'd recommend the lunchbox because the restaurants in Petra are expensive. We liked it! Thanks again!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martyn Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012 Martyn would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and knowledgeable staff

Disliked: Martyn left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the price it was aan excellent choice for your stay in Petra, view from the roof terrace was great

Disliked: Check in was confusing and strange, but the staff definitely made up for that later. They where a great help when we had problems with our car.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hotel. It has incredible views over the desert, and its staff are so friendly and helpful. The price includes a buffet breakfast which you can eat on the balcony overlooking stunning views, and the hotel makes up very good value lunch packs which you can take with you to Petra. Our room was clean and quiet, with air con and a TV. Honestly could not recommend this place more.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: liked a lot including the price, friendly staff and the fact that this was not a chain hotel. Room was clean, spacious and as described. Terrace deck was a nice feature as well.

Disliked: too far to walk from Petra Park entrance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Tomlinson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The Rocky Mountain Hotel is in a superb location, with great views overlooking Petra in a really atmospheric room. Jane, and the whole team, are friendly, welcoming and extremely useful with information/advice. They do a good evening meal on request, and at the moment have a lovely puppy George who is great too! Thanks for a lovely stay.

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet A/C rooms of enormous size, nice bathrooms, hot water was never a problem, good bed, tea and coffee available all the time from the dining room, OK breakfast, rooftop dining area overlooking sunset in the mountains, good WiFi signal, free shuttle to/from entry to Petra. But what makes the place really outstanding is Jane, who greets you on arrival, suggests the places to go in Petra and around, arranges trips, handles all the issues with professionalism, and is always helpful.

Disliked: It would be nice to have a safe in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best budget hotel's I have ever stayed in. Homely, comfortable and clean rooms with a really lovely roof terrace with a great view. You have breakfast up there which is really nice and included in the room price. The staff were really helpful and the lady in charge went above and beyond to help us during our stay even giving us a free lift to the bus station. Would definitely stay here again if I ever return to Petra.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful views, delicious breakfasts, incredibly helpful staff, great value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostles i have ever stayed in. Jane was lovely and welcoming and very helpful and she has a wealth of local knowledge. Definately stay here of you are going to Petra

Disliked: No restaurant for Dinner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steph Hollamby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Steph would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff who ran you down to Petra visitors centre, good breakfast with great views over Wadi Musa, clean rooms - cold at night, which is nice, and blankets are provided. Good stay - little far from town to be running up and down, but taxi's are pretty cheap.

Disliked: Steph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Davis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Jane was so very helpful, we were on a tight schedule and she arranged transport from the airport to Petra, cooked us breakfast at 530am and literally drove us down to Petra, then arranged for us to travel back to Amman on Jett bus and met us at the bus station that afternoon with our bags. Very friendly and willing to help. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a lovely view and balcony

Disliked: Nothing


See all Petra hostels