We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Petra hostels

Reviews of Valentine Inn

3 star Hotel | Alzuhoor Str., Petra, Jordan 00962

80.1% Overall Rating

76 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"We booked a Wadi Rum tour through them. We were very satisfied with the tour and it was very cheap. The fre shuttle to Petra."

Read all Valentine Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Conference / meeting room(s)
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 105.38
  • Breakfast USD 3.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Petra?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Petra

Al Rashid Hotel
21.08 USD

Hotel 91.3% 17 reviews
Elgee Hotel
31.61 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Rocky Mountain Hotel
17.56 USD

Hotel 89.8% 55 reviews
Petra Gate Hostel
14.05 USD

Hostel 84.0% 160 reviews
Qaser Al-Bint Hotel
12.65 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Cleopetra Hotel
23.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 141 reviews
Oscar Hotel
42.15 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
28.10 USD

Campsite 92.1% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

76 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valentine Inn'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Eunju Kim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2014 Eunju would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, dinner buffet was good as well.

Disliked: .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap wadi rum tours dinner buffet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marèl Bos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Marèl would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner is amazing!

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014

Liked: We booked a Wadi Rum tour through them. We were very satisfied with the tour and it was very cheap. The fre shuttle to Petra.

Disliked: The dinner was really good, but breakfast and lunch was not worth the money. we stayed there during the ramadan and the owner, I think, pretty much tried to force us into buying dinner at the hostel by saying nothing in town would be open until sundown, which was not true at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is not huge, but the staff is very friendly and make it a very comfortable place to be, even for a woman traveling alone.

Disliked: There is no air conditioning in the rooms, which was hard for me because I a, spoiled and always have air conditioning at home

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Henry Yamamoto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014

Liked: the hostel is very good ! cheap, well located, good wiifi, has a free shuttle to petra the problem is the people running it

Disliked: staff they promissed us a sunset cammel ride in wad rum that is not possible and we had to do next morning also they dont help solo travellers to join in a group, they want to sell the wad rum tour separated to make more money, some people paid 60 to do it in pairs, since they could have fit them in our group they are not helpful at all to budget travellers, once they see u are budget traveller they dont care about you, we re taking food and water to the hostel instead of buying dinner there, they were not very happy... they dont smile at all dont buy the breakfast there, its expensive and they give u a full cucumber and laundry is more expensive than in europe

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ANNA EMJAY

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 ANNA would recommend this property

Liked: Complimentary pick up from bus station, complimentary drop off for Petra by night show, tastefully decorated hall, friendly 'Maher'

Disliked: Location too far off, not being informed at the outset that we will have to make our way back at 10.30 pm from the night spectacle. No bill / receipt given for the amount tendered, when asked, I was asked back as to why I would require it. When numbers are few (read one) complimentary drop off in morning to Petra site is pushed by an hour, combined into a single trip

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have lived in. Clean, well-maintained hostel with comfortable beds (not bunk beds, so they don't creak or move when the person above you rolls over), clean bathrooms, TV and common rooms. The 5 JD dinner is a Middle eastern feast, with chicken biriyani, falafel, taboule, humous, pita, and many other delicious food). The owner is very helpful with organizing transport, etc. They will make you tea or get you a beer if you ask for it. Free shuttles to Petra entrance at specific times. We watched World Cup Soccer from the beatiful patio overlooking Petra. It was a wonderful experience. I recommend this hostel to everyone.

Disliked: Paying 0.5 JD for toilet paper. They should include this in the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner is very good

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Lobkov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Petr left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, great dinner and atmosphere was generally good. Was warm as well as now an extra blanket is provided which helps in the freezing winter.

Disliked: Smoking in the main lobby/hangout area is very annoying. Some staff come across as being a little strange. No hot water as advertised.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Arsenii Chystiakov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Arsenii would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner! You could stay there just because of it - it costs 5 dinnars, but you absolutely should take it and you won't be dissappointed. Not far from Petra and they provide free transfer to it. In the evening there was great atmosphere, with bedouins songs and special local beer. They also provide different tours and, for example you can have a special discount if you will go to Wadi Rum tour

Disliked: It was really cold in our room, and despite of the fact that we booked 1 double room there was only room for 3 persons available - still it was not the problem for us and they suggest to change the room for the second night. Also the room was not very clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pattamon Rungchavalnont

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Pattamon would recommend this property

Liked: Great services and offers available, ie. the free transfer to Petra's entrance and good priced tours and meals. Overall, really appreciate this hotel, thank you.

Disliked: The location is near the center but really up hill!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mukund setlur

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2013 mukund would recommend this property

Liked: the place is good as good can get! they are good and clean.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Terry Dip

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Terry would recommend this property

Liked: The people I met. The buffet dinner.

Disliked: The staff was rather devoid of expression.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013

Liked: Good value. Free pickup from bus station.

Disliked: I've never stayed at such a deceitful place. I've heard so many stories from other travelers. One traveler was told that all the dorm rooms (there were PLENTY of beds) were full and forced to book a single room for 3 nights at 15 JD per night. Basically that person was cheated 36 JD (about $50), although he was able to change rooms the last 2 nights when he found out the dorms were open. One other told me that when he asked for the bus leaving in the afternoon, the owner told him that there were only buses in the morning. However, there is a daily bus going out from Petra at 5PM. It makes me only think that she conveniently does not mention this so that the guest will stay another night plus books through her for the bus going out in the morning. Also, I personally experienced this, as well as many other told me, but she really gives an attitude when you turn down the dinner buffet. She tells you that you won't be able to eat at any restaurant for under 9JD, but that's simply not true. The buffet is great and is a good deal, so she really should just let the food speak for itself and stop giving customers a bad experience. Also she does not tell most customers that there is hot water only at 6PM-8PM, which adds to the annoyance. Also, wifi is unstable. Breakfast is poor and not worth 2.5JD.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying here makes visiting Petra very easy - they'll pick you up for free from the bus station, and there's a free shuttle in the morning to the park entrance. It's also great in terms of making it easy to meet and talk with other travelers. I'd read a few reviews complaining that the staff were unhelpful or too pushy, but this was not the case during my stay. There are some basic restaurants a short walk away, along with an ATM, a pharmacy, a bakery, and some grocery stores.

Disliked: Beds weren't the most comfortable; the blankets provided didn't fully cover the bed and I wound up shivering a bit during the night. There is also a mosque very close by, so the predawn call to prayer is loud enough to wake you up. Upon arrival I was charged the full price for the beds without deducting the 10% I had already paid on HostelBookers, but the difference came to a few dollars, so I didn't press the issue. Also, this is pretty standard for Jordan, but remember bring your own toilet paper!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful & friendly staff, dinner buffet was good if slightly overpriced. Hostel signposted and easy to find from Wadi Musi centre.

Disliked: Bathroom in the dorm wasn't the best. The hostel is quite far from the entrance to Petra - about a 30 minute walk.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shirley Qin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Shirley would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner is definitely worth it. Great lounge for relaxing, movie nights, and meeting other backpackers. Best hostel in Petra.

Disliked: Needs warmer blankets. It was so chilly at night! I had to take some from empty beds and wear all my clothes to feel warm. Also breakfast was not really worth the price (there's a really good bakery in Wadi Musa that's a much better option). Felt like the staff was trying to get all that my wallet's worth, but I guess that's usually the case in this region

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dinner is truly amazing. Great salads and main courses that will fill you at the end of a long day. The shuttle is also awesome as it's quite a steep hill up to the hostel. They often serve tea which is a nice welcome. They sell cheap water as you'll need it for Petra. The people staying there are awesome. The guy working the front desk was helpful with buses.

Disliked: Just a warning there's no heat. The rooms are quite cool. Also the common area is a smoking room as well which is to I bad as most travellers who don't smoke don't enjoy it wafting in the air. The guy at the front desk does get offended if you don't buy his dinner (as previously stated in a review). He should realize he's dealing with cheap backpackers and dinner is cheap but also more than most. The shower was did and there is only hot water between 5-8 but actually it's not even hot then which is disappointing after a long day hiking in Petra. I really liked the people I met but overall the hostel doesn't have a great feel. Breakfast wasn't great, you're better off buying some stuff at the bakery.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

ERIKA VAN WINDEN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013

Liked: shuttle service is free (7 and 8am, 4 and 5pm). The dinner buffet is a nice spread

Disliked: The dorm bathroom was not nice at all. 8 people sharing one tiny bathroom, no hot water, it's inside the room so everyone walks around with wet feet from the bathroom. No toilet paper, you have to pay for your own roll if you want it. The buffet is nice and convenient but not amazing enough for us to pay that price four nights in a row.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rolly G

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Rolly would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from Petra - free shuttle bus operates. Buffet dinner for 5 Dinars is well worth it. Private room was fine. Will call you a taxi and give you info about tours.

Disliked: Staff could've been more helpful. Partner was sick and they still charged 2 Dinars for a tiny bowl of soup (but that's business). Could've been more helpful with directions.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's amazing place for backpakers. I loved the dinner buffet. Staff is helpful, honest. Really enjoyed two nites there!

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheep and cheerful. Very helpful staff. Good food in the evenings.

Disliked: Rooms a bit dilapidated, we had a broken mirror as a headboard!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is good and with a nice dinner. The place is fantastic to relax after 2 or 3 days in Petra.

Disliked: Just the girls working in this hostel are nice people. The Jordanian staff is very rude.


See all Petra hostels