HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Petra hostels

Reviews of Valentine Inn

3 star Hotel | Alzuhoor Str., Petra, Jordan 00962

81.6% Overall Rating

68 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2014)

"Good price, great dinner and atmosphere was generally good. Was warm as well as now an extra blanket is provided which helps in the freezing winter."

Read all Valentine Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Conference / meeting room(s)
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 105.54
  • Breakfast USD 3.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Petra?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Petra

Qaser Al-Bint Hotel
8.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
28.15 USD

Campsite 92.1% 24 reviews
Candles Petra Hotel
35.18 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Edom Hotel
35.18 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Rocky Mountain Hotel
20.41 USD

Hotel 91.1% 53 reviews
Al Rashid Hotel
25.33 USD

Hotel 91.8% 14 reviews
Elgee Hotel
31.66 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Oscar Hotel
42.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

68 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valentine Inn'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 71 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Lobkov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Petr left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, great dinner and atmosphere was generally good. Was warm as well as now an extra blanket is provided which helps in the freezing winter.

Disliked: Smoking in the main lobby/hangout area is very annoying. Some staff come across as being a little strange. No hot water as advertised.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Arsenii Chystiakov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Arsenii would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner! You could stay there just because of it - it costs 5 dinnars, but you absolutely should take it and you won't be dissappointed. Not far from Petra and they provide free transfer to it. In the evening there was great atmosphere, with bedouins songs and special local beer. They also provide different tours and, for example you can have a special discount if you will go to Wadi Rum tour

Disliked: It was really cold in our room, and despite of the fact that we booked 1 double room there was only room for 3 persons available - still it was not the problem for us and they suggest to change the room for the second night. Also the room was not very clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pattamon Rungchavalnont

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Pattamon would recommend this property

Liked: Great services and offers available, ie. the free transfer to Petra's entrance and good priced tours and meals. Overall, really appreciate this hotel, thank you.

Disliked: The location is near the center but really up hill!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mukund setlur

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2013 mukund would recommend this property

Liked: the place is good as good can get! they are good and clean.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Terry Dip

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Terry would recommend this property

Liked: The people I met. The buffet dinner.

Disliked: The staff was rather devoid of expression.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013

Liked: Good value. Free pickup from bus station.

Disliked: I've never stayed at such a deceitful place. I've heard so many stories from other travelers. One traveler was told that all the dorm rooms (there were PLENTY of beds) were full and forced to book a single room for 3 nights at 15 JD per night. Basically that person was cheated 36 JD (about $50), although he was able to change rooms the last 2 nights when he found out the dorms were open. One other told me that when he asked for the bus leaving in the afternoon, the owner told him that there were only buses in the morning. However, there is a daily bus going out from Petra at 5PM. It makes me only think that she conveniently does not mention this so that the guest will stay another night plus books through her for the bus going out in the morning. Also, I personally experienced this, as well as many other told me, but she really gives an attitude when you turn down the dinner buffet. She tells you that you won't be able to eat at any restaurant for under 9JD, but that's simply not true. The buffet is great and is a good deal, so she really should just let the food speak for itself and stop giving customers a bad experience. Also she does not tell most customers that there is hot water only at 6PM-8PM, which adds to the annoyance. Also, wifi is unstable. Breakfast is poor and not worth 2.5JD.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying here makes visiting Petra very easy - they'll pick you up for free from the bus station, and there's a free shuttle in the morning to the park entrance. It's also great in terms of making it easy to meet and talk with other travelers. I'd read a few reviews complaining that the staff were unhelpful or too pushy, but this was not the case during my stay. There are some basic restaurants a short walk away, along with an ATM, a pharmacy, a bakery, and some grocery stores.

Disliked: Beds weren't the most comfortable; the blankets provided didn't fully cover the bed and I wound up shivering a bit during the night. There is also a mosque very close by, so the predawn call to prayer is loud enough to wake you up. Upon arrival I was charged the full price for the beds without deducting the 10% I had already paid on HostelBookers, but the difference came to a few dollars, so I didn't press the issue. Also, this is pretty standard for Jordan, but remember bring your own toilet paper!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful & friendly staff, dinner buffet was good if slightly overpriced. Hostel signposted and easy to find from Wadi Musi centre.

Disliked: Bathroom in the dorm wasn't the best. The hostel is quite far from the entrance to Petra - about a 30 minute walk.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shirley Qin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Shirley would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner is definitely worth it. Great lounge for relaxing, movie nights, and meeting other backpackers. Best hostel in Petra.

Disliked: Needs warmer blankets. It was so chilly at night! I had to take some from empty beds and wear all my clothes to feel warm. Also breakfast was not really worth the price (there's a really good bakery in Wadi Musa that's a much better option). Felt like the staff was trying to get all that my wallet's worth, but I guess that's usually the case in this region

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dinner is truly amazing. Great salads and main courses that will fill you at the end of a long day. The shuttle is also awesome as it's quite a steep hill up to the hostel. They often serve tea which is a nice welcome. They sell cheap water as you'll need it for Petra. The people staying there are awesome. The guy working the front desk was helpful with buses.

Disliked: Just a warning there's no heat. The rooms are quite cool. Also the common area is a smoking room as well which is to I bad as most travellers who don't smoke don't enjoy it wafting in the air. The guy at the front desk does get offended if you don't buy his dinner (as previously stated in a review). He should realize he's dealing with cheap backpackers and dinner is cheap but also more than most. The shower was did and there is only hot water between 5-8 but actually it's not even hot then which is disappointing after a long day hiking in Petra. I really liked the people I met but overall the hostel doesn't have a great feel. Breakfast wasn't great, you're better off buying some stuff at the bakery.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

ERIKA VAN WINDEN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013

Liked: shuttle service is free (7 and 8am, 4 and 5pm). The dinner buffet is a nice spread

Disliked: The dorm bathroom was not nice at all. 8 people sharing one tiny bathroom, no hot water, it's inside the room so everyone walks around with wet feet from the bathroom. No toilet paper, you have to pay for your own roll if you want it. The buffet is nice and convenient but not amazing enough for us to pay that price four nights in a row.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rolly G

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Rolly would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from Petra - free shuttle bus operates. Buffet dinner for 5 Dinars is well worth it. Private room was fine. Will call you a taxi and give you info about tours.

Disliked: Staff could've been more helpful. Partner was sick and they still charged 2 Dinars for a tiny bowl of soup (but that's business). Could've been more helpful with directions.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's amazing place for backpakers. I loved the dinner buffet. Staff is helpful, honest. Really enjoyed two nites there!

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheep and cheerful. Very helpful staff. Good food in the evenings.

Disliked: Rooms a bit dilapidated, we had a broken mirror as a headboard!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is good and with a nice dinner. The place is fantastic to relax after 2 or 3 days in Petra.

Disliked: Just the girls working in this hostel are nice people. The Jordanian staff is very rude.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for the average backpacker, easy to get to Petra, all meals there and at a good price. Valentine Inn made our trip to Petra easy, stress free and cheap!

Disliked: leaky toilet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very nice and clean. Staff was very helpful with everything. They even picked us up from the bus arriving from Amman and arranged a bus to get to Akaba, if you need to get to the border. You can get a traditional Bedouin dinner every night (5 JD) and a very good brekfast (for 2,5 JD). There is a bus every day at 7h and 8h in the morning to the old city of Petra and they also pick you up again. In the evening you can sit on the terrace and have a Nargila or beer with a nice view on Abu Mussa. The small city center with shops, restaurants and ATMs is also very close, only five minute walk. We really enjoyed our stay in Valentine Inn.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joze Varatojo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Joze would recommend this property

Liked: I was never treated as well as in valentine inn.. The Dinner was amazing and the prices really accessible.. The staff really friendly and the conditions very Good for the price asked. Movie nights, shisha, free lifts in a pick up for the old city.. Very Good experience.

Disliked: Joze left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kayla Joachim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2012 Kayla would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great, cheap place to stay. Nothing fancy, though they do greet you with mint tea. Hot water only at certain times. The towels are old and scratchy and are picked up from a wardrobe by the stairs. One night we had warm and fuzzy mickey mouse blankets on our beds, another night we had older, scratchier blankets, so that varies. The food was traditional but nothing terribly special. Its convenient though. We didn't eat in the town, so I don't know what the prices are like there. I traveled with a group of 4 people, so we booked a room for 4 people. We actually stayed 2 nights, with a night in the middle stayed somewhere else (Wadi Rum). We left some of our luggage at the hotel. It was just under a table in the back so nothing secure, but it was somewhere to store it none-the-less. The buses (to Wadi Rum, Amman, and Aqaba) were displayed along with their departure times on a whiteboard by the front desk. Make sure to tell them you want to book the bus the night before. Otherwise, if the bus is full the next morning, you will not get a spot. The bus to Wadi Rum and to Amman are both 5 JD plus 1 JD per large bag. We got off at the 'bus station' by Madaba and took a taxi (6 JD) into Madaba, though we could have waited for a bus there too. They try to get you to take their tour of Wadi Rum (35 JD). We didn’t take it so I don’t have any reviews of that. We took the bus back from Wadi Rum and got back to the hotel at around 11am. They were nice and drove us to Petra even at the odd hour.

Disliked: Like I said above, it was nothing special but it was a roof over your head, a hot shower, and a clean bed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: DINNER WAS AMAZING. It's actually one of the best meals I had all holiday. I was hungry from walking around Petra all day but even if I had just eaten I still think it would be amazing. And great value for money. All their meals are. I stayed in the dorm which was fairly comfortable and good value for money. It was a bit cold though and there weren't adequate covers for the weather. I just stole one off of the other beds but if it was full that wouldn't work. There was only one shower for 9 beds and considering everyone pretty much sticks to a similar schedule and therefore wants a shower at the same time it wasn't really adequate. Water ran out quickly too. And you have to pay for toilet paper! You get free transport to and from 'big' Petra which is good though a taxi only costs 1 JD. However they charge you 20JD for a taxi to little Petra which I was told should be 5 dinar . and considering the distance, that makes sense. They are pretty good about organizing transport for you though some (cynical (?)) people say it's just so they can make sure you spend your money with them and no one else.

Disliked: The staff, though friendly on the surface, really gave the impression that they were just interested in your money. And the more money you spend the better they will treat you. Though the dinner was great and I would highly recommended it, it was really pushed on me and when I hesitated at first their attitude wasn't great. And I had to fight to get the meal I payed for to be changed to a different night, despite telling them hours in advance. They made out like it would make a massive difference to their planning (it was 16 instead of 17) and I knew that one girl had just asked to be added to dinner less then half an hour before and of course there was no problem changing things that way. There were also another couple of other incidences when I noticed that they wouldn't go out of there way for you especially if money was at stake which is their prerogative but not an attitude i have come across very often with small hostels. Maybe I'm naive. Also generally the attitude, 'on the street' as it were, towards them is not good. I did not hear one person say a good word about them. People seemed to really dislike them but that must be taken with a pinch of salt obviously. There could be many motives. All in all its a cheap place to stay and worth it for dinner but do not expect quite such the welcoming attitude that you get with some hostels and don't expect them to be working in your best interest. However i wouldn't recommend single women stay there on their own...... WARNING FOR WOMEN - my biggest problem with this hostel is not entirely their fault though I think they should take more responsibility in preventing it happening again. On my last night I chatted with one of the guys behind the desk about trying to get to Madaba. He said he would see if any other people wanted to go and do a tour on the way and get back to me. If no one was around he said he would take me to get the minibus. As I turned around this guy who was sitting in reception (drinking i now realize) called MAHMOOD (says he lives in america but also is the owner of little petra bedouin camp) said he had overheard our conv. and that he was going to go to Amman the next day with a friend and his friend's g/f and if I wanted to go then I could tag along and they would drop my near mount nebo. He said for free but I took this with a pinch of salt but I figured it wouldn't be as much as paying on my own. Plus he was leaving a bit later so i could have a lie in. He invited me to cave bar that night too but I said no cuz i was exhausted. He seemed fine with it. I ate dinner and on my way to bed I doubled checked that he was still okay with it and he said yeah. Well the next day came and went and he did not appear. Consequently I missed the mini bus and had to pay more then I could really afford to get a taxi. More to the point it was quite late by this time, so I didn't get to see many of the sights on the way and it was my only chance. Anyway I have since found out that he does this on a REGULAR basis with women travelling on their own. My 'error' was turning down the invitation to cave bar cuz that signaled that he wasn't going to get much 'extra' from me and therefore I wasn't worth the trouble. I thank my lucky stars I didn't go anywhere with him even though it screwed me money wise on travel. Anyway this guy seemed pretty well known in the hostel (he was drinking with the guys who work there AND i look back now and from the comments in the morning its obvious they all knew he wouldnt show) and i wonder why he is allowed to get away with doing it. Really a responsible hostel wouldn't allow it on their premises. I got the feeling that maybe they would have helped more but they were pissed off because i was trying to get a free trip as opposed to paying them money. Which really made me angry. Surely the safety of their customers takes priority. Anyway, in conclusion, stay with them if you are travelling with men, its worth it for the food. If your a women on your own - watch your back cuz they wont do it for you.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bernd Wahlen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Bernd would recommend this property

Liked: free shuttle bus to petra entrance, wadi rum tour (no rip off)

Disliked: mould in the shower

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the price, nice buffet dinner for JD5, helpful staff, decent beds, free transport to/from Petra.

Disliked: No heating in dorm (cold in winter), cold or lukewarm shower, had to pay 1/2 a dinar for toilet paper, no shower curtain, so bathroom floor always had puddles.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Olivera Petrovic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Olivera would recommend this property

Liked: dinner

Disliked: that we booked beds in dorm and got double room, which we had to pay...:(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Lots of personality. The staff were great and the buffet in the evening was awesome. If nothing else, just go for the buffet. Its great value for money and is the best spread you will have seen for a while. The transport system is really good as well. They were really helpful in helping us find transport to other cities and picked us up at a moments notice.

Disliked: We didn't get a key to our dorm.


See all Petra hostels