We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Amman hostels

Reviews of cliff hotel

2 star Hotel | Down Town, Princes Mohammed Street, In front of Hashem Restaurant Amman, Jordan .11118

79.0% Overall Rating

43 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

Henry Yamamoto thinks…

"the staff is very nice, i stayed there twice ! its in the heart of downtown, cheap, clean ! i loved the place the bar downstairs has great shisha !"

Read all cliff hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.13
  • Breakfast USD 2.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amman?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amman

Cairo Hotel
8.43 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sydney Hostel
9.84 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.2% 27 reviews
Asia Hotel
15.46 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Asri Hotel
12.65 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
NEFERTITI HOTEL
10.54 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hawa Guesthouse
16.86 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Torwadah Hotel
7.03 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.8% 18 reviews
Jordan Tower Hotel
17.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.8% 74 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

43 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'cliff hotel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Yamamoto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very nice, i stayed there twice ! its in the heart of downtown, cheap, clean ! i loved the place the bar downstairs has great shisha !

Disliked: laundry could be cheaper

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 June 2014

Liked: Cheap accomodation near city center. Walking distance to all historical sites in Amman. Comfortable beds. Reasonably clean toilets and showers.

Disliked: Old building. Very small unusable kitchen. Wifi during limited hours only.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my time here. I extended my stay and, after going to Petra, returned to stay again. Andrew is definitely the best part about this place. He is honest, friendly, and really fun to have a conversation with; he makes you feel like family. As far as I am concerned, this is the only place to stay in Amman.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Pattamon Rungchavalnont

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Pattamon would recommend this property

Liked: CHEAP, good center location, and good place to make new friends. Because of the snow storm, I was stuck there for many days...and with only one heater in the common room, everyone was forced to hang out there...ended up as a good social time!

Disliked: The shower SERIOUSLY needs some fixing! Only one out of 3 showers has good working hot water. You need to tell the staff every time you want hot water on. No heater in the room either...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antony Hylton

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 December 2013 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: I am an evangeslist and travel the world telling people that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures, he was buried, and he rose again on the thrid day according to the Scripture, He appeared to many and will return to judge the living and the dead. When i travel i have to sometime stopover in a city, this place was perfect. I booked late and arrive after ten pm but got a great bed and a nive clean room. It was very clean and there was an atmosphere of free conversation. The people there were very helpful and it was located near some of the well know sites. I was pleasantly surprised because I had read some very negative reviews so I was on my guard. If those reviews were true then the hotel management has changed its approach. No one tried to foister the airport shuttle on to me and if I had taken the advice of the owner I would have had a much eaiser journey to the airpot. He is very sensitive about the needs of the backpakers and tourists and tries his best give them a comfortable stay. I liked very much the lounge and the TV there where you could feel comfortable to just hang out and watch a great film. All the facilities were very clean and a pleasant atmosphere exuded the place. I recommend it and will return there God willing. I was on my way to share the gospel in Kenya.

Disliked: They should give a clearer address in their advert like that it is at the beginning of Prince Mohamed street and opposite Hashim restaurant or a number of the place.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013

Liked: Cheapest dorms I could find in Amman, good location, and the tours appeared to be very well priced. Sink in each room. Across the street from excellent restaurant, and close to lots of the sights. Due to lack of other good options, I suggest couchsurfing for Amman lodging.

Disliked: Not very clean. No tours running when I was there due to insufficient number of people so I could not try them. Shower rooms are tiny and messy. Only one toilet with a seat for many rooms to use. Must ask at front desk for toilet paper and top sheet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ian May

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Great for price and a fantastic location for walking to local attractions. Andrew the main man is firm but fair and a decent guy.

Disliked: Only a couple of things but probably more to do with me. Lack of plug sockets in the rooms. Smoking in the social area, it bellows down the halls and sometimes if enough are smoking you cant stay in the common area and you end up doing what they should be doing and sitting on the balcony.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

James POWELL

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent central location; very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Its very basic (although you get what you pay for); the showers and toilets were in great need of renovation and could have been cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tsoofit naor

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 August 2013 tsoofit would recommend this property

Liked: great place in the middle of amman with very nice staff-who are willing to help you in any way! we arrive and i made a mistake in the reservation.few minutes after they find a room, and all is o.k. clean room,nice atmosphere ,clean bathroom,many westerners,owners are very friendly!

Disliked: nothing to dislike!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Dino Norrman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013

Liked: Good location downtown.

Disliked: Lout traffic outside, no AC, no elevator.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariusz Bodych

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2013 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed 3 nights in Cliff hostel altogether. It has excellent location, great backpackers' hostel. This is maybe not a 5 star hotel, but staff totally makes up for missing stars :) Actually, staff was one of the most hospitable than I had pleasure to deal with. What is more, they offer cheapest tours to Dead Sea, Madaba etc., wherever you want. When it comes to Wadi Rum camps, they recommend Madallah M.Atiq camp, which was really worth it. :) Definitely will return to Cliff during next visit in Amman.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Denny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Andrew was wonderful! Actually all the staff were but he was especially very nice and helpful. I was very impressed because the owner came to pick me and my friends up from where our bus was coming in (very far). The tours seemed fairly priced though I didnt do any of them. Also the location is unbeatable.

Disliked: The hotel was older and the front room especially could use a few new couches (and it ALWAYS smells like smoke). And it has more of a hotel than a hostel environment, but hey, for the price it is the best option available!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Patrick Cahill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2013

Liked: Nice staff with pretty good english, neat cafés nearby.

Disliked: Sweltering rooms with stagnant air(mid-june) and noisy as heck outside all night. Never any toilet paper and the bathrooms seemed perpetually under 'renovations'.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Agnieszka Kreciglowa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2013 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfull staff, great location.

Disliked: no minuses

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are all nice and helpful. Hot showers available for the greater part of the day. Location is very good; the bakery right in front from the entrance, and Hashem Restaurant across from the building are amazing!

Disliked: No elevator (though it's only 2 flights of stairs). No space to really keep your clothes dry/change in the shower stalls. No locks on dorms. Also, I had laundry done there but some of my shirts came back stretched out.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

HANAHRAM LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013

Liked: Cheap price. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Not so good cleaness, poor wifi at the room. Noise from outside.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi worked well, Staff were honest and helpfull, location is perfect

Disliked: Everything was fine, was a good value.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emma Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Obviously you can't beat the price in Amman. The location is great, right in the middle of downtown and almost every taxi driver knows where Hashem restaurant is (right across the street from Cliff.) Room doors lock. Staff are super friendly and organised cheap tours for us.

Disliked: Beds weren't the most comfortable and the noise from the street was present all night. Bathrooms were not 100% clean but if you are used to budget backpacker hostels its fine (definitely need shower shoes.) No toilet paper but you can ask the staff nicely or buy a roll from the convenience store downstairs. You get what you pay for - if you are a budget backpacker Cliff Hotel is fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Cunliffe

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 January 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, cheerful, clean, friendly staff, great location, free (strong) wifi

Disliked: Cold in winter - no heating in rooms, needed 3 blankets!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012

Liked: Cheap, near the centre of the city.

Disliked: Not very clean and you don't get a key to your room, you have to leave it with reception when you go out. No lockers. Filthy bathrooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff

Disliked: Some beds in our room had bed bugs. Had never experienced that before. Think it came from the old matresses.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic. Excellent value for money, and the staff were among the best I have ever encountered, anything you need they will do their best to help you with.

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in the heart of downtown Amman. Andrew, the Manager, is very friendly and helpful. If you need anything at all he is the person to speak to. Exceptionally good value for money.

Disliked: Showers and toilets were what you would expect at this price.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and made you feel welcome. They even kept my suitcase while I was traveling around for a couple of days before returning to Amman. It is very good value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rue Daye Vermillion

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Rue Daye would recommend this property

Liked: They are very welcoming here and encourage mingling amongst guests, its a good place to meet up with fellow like minded travellers.

Disliked: The only issue I had was a booking issue I booked more days than I actually stayed then when I made the amendments to leave they refused a refund for the days I was not going to stay any more.


See all Amman hostels