We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Amman hostels

Reviews of Sun Rise Hotel

1 star Hotel | king hussein street abdali sta, Amman, Jordan 00962/6

71.1% Overall Rating

32 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/10/2013)

"It was close (but not as close as I thought) to the JETT bus station but walkable in about 20 mins (1.5kms) Downtown takes a little longer to get to. Good staff, tried to help arranging things but not things they were…"

Read all Sun Rise Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 21.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amman?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amman

Mamaya Hotel
14.05 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riviera Hotel
9.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.9% 3 reviews
Bdeiwi Hostel & Hotel
7.80 USD

Hostel 81.4% 107 reviews
Nihal Hotel
9.84 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hawa Guesthouse
16.86 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Park Hotel
21.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.0% 20 reviews
Corp Amman Hotel
53.04 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Cairo Hotel
8.43 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.1%

Overall Rating

32 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sun Rise Hotel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close (but not as close as I thought) to the JETT bus station but walkable in about 20 mins (1.5kms) Downtown takes a little longer to get to. Good staff, tried to help arranging things but not things they were profiting from. Good overall, not anywhere near as bad as many reviews on here. It's basic but no less than you would expect.

Disliked: Toilet paper would be good to supply!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: The guy at reception is supremely rude, fleeces you and gives you wrong information to make you take a higher priced room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very near to the Jet station to go to Petra. The staff is super nice and helpful they organized for me a tour to the dead Sea that was very nice. I want to thank them....I was traveling alone for the first time, and I was a bit nervous but the staff give me a lot of information. the place is clean and nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Chadi El Rayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013

Liked: Price

Disliked: Service and Information Support'

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

gautam kumar chouhan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013

Liked: The AC was working fine... and that is all..

Disliked: First of all the location... once in amman I called up the manager on phone and I get a reply that you will not be able to reach by yourself and was suggested to hire a cab, whereas I specifically told that I am in a self driven rented car. Secondly, The rooms and the linen was not clean. The Bathroom had intermittent hot water.. really had to work hard with the mixer, and then pray.. of course to god, to provide appropriate hot water. The staff attitude was absolutely indifferent and unfriendly. They were not ready to help in even basic issues which are generally taken care by these kind of hostels / hotels.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tita Cvetkovic

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2013 Tita would recommend this property

Liked: You will be in good hands if you stay at this hotel. Be honest about your budget and expectations, as the owner and his son will be more than happy to give you useful tips to tailor your stay in Jordan. Their breakfast is great, too.

Disliked: There was no hot water in the shower even thought it was advertised. But this was by far the cheapest accommodation in Jordan and is definitely amongst the cleanest. Good value for money!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011

Liked: Free WiFi. Some computers you can use.

Disliked: One of the owner(the father, I guess) seemed totally unwilling to answer any of my questions. The other owner( the son) was very dishonest. First he told me to wait 30 min. to get a room, and I waited at least 2 hours to no avail. I got a bed after returning to the hotel 6 hours later. He also told me another Swedish is living in the same dorm as mine, and later he changed his mind to tell me it would be an American. After one night, no one came. The thing that really got me mad was that he told me there was no taxi or service taxi whatsoever on Fridays due to Friday is Islamic holiday. And so since I had to go to the airport on Friday, he offered me his taxi for 120~170 JOD. But I found out myself that all taxis or service taxis operated normally that day, so, ignoring his offer, I got to the airport with less than 5 JOD! He was totally trying to rip me off, and while I was bargaining with some taxi drivers he even helped the drivers to get an unreasonably high price out of me. What he did was just disgusting. One more thing, he tried to enter my dorm room in the middle of the night (12PM) just to get a fan, and loudly scolded me for having locked the dorm room, claiming that the dorm is not mine alone and I should not have locked it. But the fact is that in more than 10 hostel dorms I stayed across Europe and Middle-East all doors were lockable. He was very pissed off on me locking the door and wondering why someone would want to enter the room in the middle of the night, and blamed me in a very bad manner. All in all, the owners here are horrible, and very unpleasant. Not recommended.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sun Rise Hostel is located in a good location in down town close to every thing you need,the hostel is clean and just been refurbished,hot water and clean sheets changed regularly,the staff were very helpfull especially Odie is a great guy,the internet is free and the use of the kitchen was a bonus, I had a great time and recomend Sun Rise Hostel. Mohammad (UK)

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011

Liked: 15 minute walk to JETT bus station for Petra, owner organizes daily tours with others staying at the hotel for reasonable prices (hough admittedly driver has limited English), wireless internet available in the lounge (note: not in room), free breakfast upon request. Rooms cleaned daily.

Disliked: Either less fraud or more organization on the part of staff - I can't tell which at this point. I booked on hostelbookers (including deposit), when I showed up they apparently didn't have any record of the booking and were assertive about 'upgrading' the room for an extra 5 JOD per night to get a room with hot water/heating (and didn't offer to include the already paid deposit). Required payment in cash the full amount up front. Received a call at 11 PM at night the day after returning from them, advising me that I didn't pay and they were going to charge my credit card. Only apologized after I described in detail the facts of our discussion when I arrived and that the owner and another staff member (and a third person who can vouch for the payment) were all present., and that I am well-connected enough to get the police involved if they dared charge me twice. Were pushy about writing a good review of the hotel during the stay (including on the first night of arrival) on a separate site (which required entering credit card details). Room not in great state of decoration but sheets did seem clean and it was definitely cleaned each day. Unfortunately difficult to determine at this point if it's just really poor organization and record-keeping and just trying to establish themselves or a poorly executed attempt to scam (trying to charge twice or three times by putting card details in another site despite the credit card companies and police not tolerating this at all). Will update review (on this site and others) once it's clear there wasn't a scam in place here.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price

Disliked: no modern

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice helpful staff

Disliked: Needs a renovation

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

miklos foti

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 miklos would recommend this property

Liked: wifi, free caffee

Disliked: nothing disliked

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Poi Mei Choong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2011

Liked: The owner and hıs son ıs frıendly. They can help you ıf you ask. The dorm room was so cold wıthout heat. the shower ıs not workıng all the tıme. late nıte most travellers complaınt about ıt. The hotel ıs too old they need to do somethıng about ıt. But 3dıner per nıte. what you can do. The locatıon ıs not so good anymore besıdes close to Jett Bus company. because some local bus company already moved out to somewhere.

Disliked: kıchen too dırty. shower n toılet ıs clean but have no hot water.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2010

Liked: helpful staff.

Disliked: not very clean, no hot water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: for me this the place i can recomend to others coz they will make you feel that your not away from home they will make you feel that your one of the family not as a tourist.the staff are really nice and fun.the place is comfortable and they will give you the best service that they can give it to you.for all tourist who looking for a good place to stay and affordable i will recomend this place for a good reasonable price and best people.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christropher davidson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

01 December 2010 christropher would recommend this property

Liked: well located, easy to arrive, cheap.wi- fi, cheap tours to all jordan higlights.Odai, reception guy really helpfull anything you need he will try to do it for you.

Disliked: christropher left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

odai Hamdan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2010 odai would recommend this property

Liked: Very usefull staff. Located in abdali station to go to damascus.Cheap and money worth it.You can book tours in the hotel to go to Petra and Wadi Rum.And they will help you in anything you need

Disliked: odai left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: none

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joe f lanteigne

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2010 joe f would recommend this property

Liked: close to downtown and jett bus station.both within 5 minutes

Disliked: joe f left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2010

Liked: Convenient for bus station, and helpful (if a little pushy) staff.

Disliked: Was undergoing renovation and as such power supply was intermittent and there was some.noise. Hot water was also broken in our room. The staff were friendly and helpful in their attempts to rectify these problems.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, really helpful, fantastic location. Free, fast wifi is fantastic!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

enno haede

Alone

City break

10 July 2010 enno would recommend this property

Liked: directly at bus station

Disliked: enno left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2010

Liked: It is close to the Jet bus stop to Petra. Other than that, I didn´t like anything about it.

Disliked: The manager made us very uncomfortable. He is known by the locals to be quite tricky and insidious, and we saw that first hand. He will try to talk you into expensive tours and he tries to make a profit off just helping you.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew McAlester

22 June 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

14 March 2010

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Amman hostels