HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel Minerva & Nettuno

1 star Hotel | Lista di Spagna 230, Cannaregio, Venice, Italy 30121

79.9% Overall Rating

162 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Stephen Banks thinks…

"The Hotel exceeded our expectations. Everything worked and was in a good state of repair. As mentioned by others, the lady behind reception was very polite and helpful. The waitress at breakfast was…"

Read all Hotel Minerva & Nettuno reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Concierge
  • Wake-up calls
  • Pets allowed
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people are considered a group, reservations for groups can not be made through a booking engine which is meant for individual bookings, but have to be dealt with the hotel management with different conditions. Bookings for more than 15 people will not be accepted and the 10% payment will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Hotel Rossi
53.18 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.2% 155 reviews
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
35.92 USD

Hostel 86.5% 526 reviews
San Geremia Rooms
35.92 USD

Hostel 80.9% 418 reviews
Hotel Moderno
138.14 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
L'Imbarcadero
51.11 USD

Hostel 88.9% 776 reviews
Anonimo Veneziano
71.83 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Atlantide
45.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.7% 25 reviews
Viva Venezia
53.87 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

162 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Minerva & Nettuno'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 203 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Banks

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 April 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The Hotel exceeded our expectations. Everything worked and was in a good state of repair. As mentioned by others, the lady behind reception was very polite and helpful. The waitress at breakfast was most kind and enthusiastic. The location was fantastic and the price very reasonable for Venice. Beds very comfortable with 2 pillows and crisp white sheets.

Disliked: The man behind reception.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Most of staff nice and friendly.

Disliked: Very small towel - just face size.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014

Liked: Private room and 24 hours open.

Disliked: Smells terrible of smoke. The management is constantly smoking downstairs. Only one shower for the whole building. One stall for the whole floor.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Está cerca de la P. Roma (para el transporte de equipaje resulta cómodo) y del centro turístico de Venecia. La habitación era amplia y el baño (compartido) estaba limpio.

Disliked: Estábamos en una habitación situada en un inmueble del hostal, pero en la acera de enfrente y el personal del hotel tenía que acompañarnos para abrir la puerta de acceso al "edificio". No disponía de ascensor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Psarros

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: the staff went out of their way to assist us in every way they could! I had my wallet stolen before catching a flight to Venice and when I tried to cancel my cash passport card all I could get was spoken in French, SO I COULDNT understand them. The receptionist tried for hours even looking up ph numbers on the internet and ringing for me. They eventually got someone that could speak ENGLISH SO I could cancel my card WITHOUT THEIR HELP I WOULD HAVE LOST ALL MY MONEY I COULD NOT THANK THEM ENOUGH GOING BACK THERE TO STAY AGAIN 2015

Disliked: IT was all I expected, didn't dislike anything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mushegh Mkrtchyan

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

06 January 2014 Mushegh would recommend this property

Liked: the place was nice

Disliked: Mushegh left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Miranda Romkey

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014

Liked: The property was in an amazing location, for the price it's unlikely you'd find anywhere as close to the Milan Central Station. The staff were all very lovely and friendly.

Disliked: Firstly we had booked a Double Room and received a Twin, so my boyfriend and I pushed our beds together. The beds are actually just cots within a frame facade, but the frame does nothing except make them look slightly prettier. One of our beds was comfortable the other was incredibly uncomfortable, sinking slightly in the middle. You get 3 hours of free Wifi and after that you have to pay €5 for an extra 3 hours, which is just ludicrously expensive. For our entire trip, my boyfriend and I stayed in budget hotels and while we didn't expect much, this hotel we both felt was significantly lacking. While the staff was lovely and the location was good we would not stay again.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013

Liked: Great location. Easy to ask about the city or tourist sites.

Disliked: Wifi costs 5euro for 3hours; in addition, this allows one device only. To be validated. Need to wait for next morning for replacing linens and towels; no exception. There was no lift for upstairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the Italian restaurant just right beside it taste awesome.

Disliked: The heater cannot be adjusted but was comfortable during the night with blankets. Have to pay for wifi which had very strong signal even though I stay on the top floor. 2 euro for 1 hour, 3 euro for 2 hours and 5 euro for 3 hours. There are restaurants with free wifi 3mins walk down. City tax is 1 euro p.p. So there is nothing I dislike about that place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean.

Disliked: Noise from the street, but that's almost inevitable for central Venice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bus and train station is very near. Good price. Good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and everyone was very friendly. That was a 5star one star hotel:)

Disliked: Everything was ok

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great area, nice room in a quiet hotel.

Disliked: No free Wifi.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Just about 5 minutes walking from the Ferrovia (Train Station). The room was clean and pleasant, we also had a balcony (but it seems to be unique). The hotel was locked during midnight (which is good in my opinion).

Disliked: You are unable to lock the room. WiFi costs money (although we got 3 hours for free). There was a woman in the reception which didn't seem to be so friendly. She thought we're taking food with us to the room and immediately stared at our bag, while telling us that it isn't allowed. You also have to pay city tax, 1 euro p.p.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013

Liked: Comfortable room. No windows though.

Disliked: Counter staff was really weird...insisted on keeping our passports for the city tax and said she'd return it to us by 9pm. Didn't feel safe with our passports in her hands and later insisted that she could take the photocopied ones, whereby she immediately said that we could pay the city tax and get it back. seriously wth. The rooms are in the 2nd level across the street which will be directed to you by the staff. And you're apparently not supposed to bring your big heavy keys out in case you lose them, gotta hand them in to the counter for safekeeping. Was not informed of this by the original counter staff and got a slight reprimand from another guy for something which we didn't even know.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alex Mawby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: M&N is situated a short walk from the train station near the very interesting Canaregio district of Venice. It is close to all the main transport hubs and several supermarkets. The room was clean and inviting and the decor of the hotel was dated yet charming. For the price we paid, I was very happy with the product we received.

Disliked: Our room was facing the busy street outside. Due to the hot weather we were forced to leave our windows open as we slept. Unfortunately an Irish Bar several doors down kept us awake for several hours, with drunken revellers stumbling loudly home in the early hours of the morning. Luckily after the first night it cooled down significantly and we were able to close the window. Also, often the front reception would be unmanned and we would take our own key down from its hook. There would be nothing in such a situation to stop someone from the street doing exactly the same thing, so make sure you keep your valuables with you/in the safe. Making us pay three euros to store our bags there on the day we left was also a bit stingy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed two times and one room a twin was small where the double room was much nicer. Good location and good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the facilities

Disliked: One of the night staff was sort of rude. And they close the doors at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great price, and very helpful staff.

Disliked: We knew there would be a shared bathroom... but it should be made clear, there is one toilet per floor and only ONE shared shower for the whole hotel. We waited in line for a shower. Also, another random fact: my sisters (ages 16 and 17) were traveling with us and we had a lot of trouble because of a new Italian law that says you need a legal release from the parent in order for them to be able to stay. So... if you have minors in your group, be aware of that. We didn't see any information about that on hostelbookers or the hotel website, and that would have been helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Till Tesche

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Till would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the St Lucia Train station and an incredible value for money (a bed in a twin room here was cheaper than a bed in a 16 bed dorm in a hostel that wasn't as central!) and friendly staff as well as clean rooms with fan and in some cases even a balcony.

Disliked: Till left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Charlie Buckland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013

Liked: It was just 10 minute's walk from the main train station and a good base to see the main attractions Venice has to offer.

Disliked: To name but just a few of my dislikes, we were sent to three different hotels before they found our room - so I'm not even sure we stayed in the hotel that's advertised! The 'room' we ended up in was a hall way with three camp beds in it and holes in the walls stuffed with plastic - far from a double room! And the shower! This was quite literally a tiled out cupboard with no lock and a door waterproofed only by sellotape. I would not recommend this hotel if you are paying for the cheaper rooms - you will be put wherever there is space.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mirjam Demon

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013

Liked: I don't know because we didn't stay here...

Disliked: I don't know because we didn't stay here...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Foreman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good location, nice clean room with air con. Free bottle of wine on exit!!!

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff (mostly), free map, great sized room, good working fan!!! Nice power shower, awesome location, sink in bedroom, reasonably comfy bed, good wardrobe space for clothes, two big windows that open wide on to the Main Street. They offered us a discount on the biennale too. Discount for booking early too.

Disliked: Cleaners ignore the 'do not disturb' sign, the shower plug was blocked and full of hair and wasn't cleaned for two days, sink in our room got blocked and leaked on the floor, wifi is charged - seems like a variable policy on it - we got 3 hours free and others none and others unlimited. You have to pay them to store our bags - 3 euros an item which is a bit steep and not very secure, they didn't even shut the door of the storage cupboard! No lift but maximum three flights of stairs to climb. Double bed was two singles pushed together. You can smoke in your room and the staff smoke anywhere - not a problem for us but may be good for others. Generally we were very happy with the room, price and location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close on the train station. There are two buildings. The rooms in the new building of the hotel are very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels