HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel Rossi

1 star Hotel | Lista di Spagna, 262, Cannaregio, Venice, Italy 30121

83.2% Overall Rating

131 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2014)

"The location was fantastic, an easy and quick walk from the train station. It's off a busy street but you turn under an archway into a nice side street which was very quiet, and we slept well at night. We stayed over…"

Read all Hotel Rossi reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
35.94 USD

Hostel 87.8% 524 reviews
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
51.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 204 reviews
San Geremia Rooms
35.94 USD

Hostel 80.9% 418 reviews
L'Imbarcadero
48.38 USD

Hostel 89.0% 775 reviews
Hotel Moderno
55.29 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Anonimo Veneziano
71.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Viva Venezia
53.90 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 61 reviews
Hotel Atlantide
45.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.7% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

131 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Rossi'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 153 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right next to the one of busisest streets in Venice...

Disliked: Breakfast room is tiny and you're very close to the other guests.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, an easy and quick walk from the train station. It's off a busy street but you turn under an archway into a nice side street which was very quiet, and we slept well at night. We stayed over New Years, and even on New Year's Eve after we made it back from the fireworks, the street was quiet. The breakfasts were the typical Italian breakfast (roll, butter, honey, jams, coffee, juice, delicious hot chocolate for the kids, and contrary to some comments they are not stale rolls! they are lovely fresh crisp breakfast rolls! Linens were clean, as were towels. The mattresses were really comfortable.

Disliked: There wasn't much to dislike. The wifi was only in the lobby, but for such a good price that didn't bother us, and almost all the cafés around there have wifi, so you can go somewhere else if you want to.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Auguste Meskyte

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 December 2013 Auguste would recommend this property

Liked: That it was in very good location

Disliked: Breakfast it was really poor, but better than nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

09 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the train station.

Disliked: Very small bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location in regards to arriving in Venice. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful even though my Italian wasn't that good and his English was minimal. Best value for a comfortable, clean sleeping room and bathroom. I would book with Hotel Rossi again in the future.

Disliked: Carrying luggage up flights of two flights of stairs...but, it was ok since I only had one roller board suitcase.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Craig Matelich

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: Overpriced. Mold in the bathroom. Rotten wood. Breakfast was only a stale bun and coffee. The owner was arrogant and rude. The WIFI was intermittent and only accessible from the lobby. The carpets all needed to be replaced. It was a dump!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEFFAN migliaccio

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 October 2013 STEFFAN would recommend this property

Liked: location was perfect and clean

Disliked: stairs only

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our ceiling was painted which really made it feel like a Venetian break. We were shown to an apartment 10 mins from the hotel which was further towards the city centre so ended up being a a bonus, however not a given as it sounds like they have many scattered apartments. The woman who guided us to the apartment was lovely and really helpful, even said if we had of been in touch she would have met as at the train station! It was late when we arrived and she gave us advise on good places to eat and left is with a map. As they only took cash we left our payment in the room for her to collect and she surprisingly left the few euros change! They allowed us to leave our bags after check out so we could make the most of our last day, I would stay with them again.

Disliked: When we arrived we were informed that we would not be staying in the hotel but instead in an apartment 10 mins walk away. As it was late the walk felt a little odd as though we were being hustled. They seemed a little off with us that we had not replied to their email about arrival time etc, and the language barrier made it difficult to explain that we never received one. All that aside, the location was good but there was no toilet paper on arrival.. and no local store that we could find. Only small things.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is very conveniently located in Cannaregio, at walking distance from the train- and busstation. The hotel rates itself with one star but deserves a bit better. We were supposed to stay with four adults in a room with four single beds, after a telephone call however we found out that it was a double room with two camp beds. As staff seemed a bit shocked that we were travelling with four adults instead of a family with kids, they gave us two double rooms in the attic. The rooms were tiny but clean. The bathrooms were more like a cupboard with a shower in it, however all other floors had a very clean shared bathroom with good showers.

Disliked: It is a very small and basic hotel. Breakfast is very basic, just white rolls and jam, coffee/tea.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close proximity to all areas of Venice

Disliked: The stairs - no lift

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Denelle Brown

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013

Liked: Staff was friendly

Disliked: The riom was dirty and in the shared bathroom there was literally S$@T! on the floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a lot of space!

Disliked: too dark, the windows were so tiny

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, had air conditioning, and the private bathroom was nice. They also cleaned our room every day--for a one-star hotel, it exceeded all my expectations! They even had breakfast!

Disliked: Only had one outlet in our room, wifi only worked in the lobby (not too much of an inconvenience, but a hassle).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joan Letocha

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: A very big, well-appointed, cool (ie. not hot & stuffy!) apartment with lovely furniture & fittings, great bathroom, extremely quiet & secure as the family live upstairs. Very close to main hotel for breakfast. Close to shops, restaurants, water-bus etc. Easy to get to Treviso Airport.

Disliked: Lack of electric kettle. Misleading description on your site. Double bed when I booked for twin, so my son had to sleep on the sofa-bed in the living-room. None of this mattered too much however, as the apartment was so good. PLEASE NOTE: this review refers to the apartment, NOT the main hotel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathroom facilities inadequate. Didn't get fresh towels daily

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were sent off site to an apartment several blocks away which was more than adequate and very well supplied. Had to walk back to the hotel for breakfast. Not sure what the arrangement is with the apartment owner but it appeared to be a private apartment that the hotel used on occasion.

Disliked: Had a little problem communicating with the staff as we don't speak Italian and they had limited English. It was unclear to us when we arrived that we would be at a different location from the hotel. as we thought we were going to be at the hotel location.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price.

Disliked: The rooms is small the the bathroom isn't clean enough.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location right near the ferry stop Overall comfortability of the apartment was good

Disliked: Constant buzzing from the electricity box within the apartment Expected more facilities for self-catering considering its listed as an apartment

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013

Liked: The water for shower was hot, so it's good

Disliked: The place was old and dark.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian McBride

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Great old Italian hotel at atmosphere

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment is really nice: a beautiful room with a double bed, a small TV, a bathroom and a small living room with a small fridge and a shower. Everything looks new, sober decoration and the bed is very comfortable. Perfect for a couple. The location is very convenient as well, it is very close to Casino La Fenice and just a few steps away from the "vaporetto" stop "Sa Marcona". From there you can take the vaporetto to San Marco (I really recommend doing it at night, the buildings along the canal look splendid). During the day we preferred to walk, San Marco is a 15 minutes walk more or less (assuming that you don't stop every two meters for taking a picture, which is what you are probably going to do, Venice is full of breathtaking corners :-). The owner is very friendly as well. I really recommend this room.

Disliked: No WI-FI, that's the only issue I can think of, otherwise it would be absolutely perfect. You can use the wi-fi of Hotel Rossi which is very close, but you have to go there (the apartment is not in the same building as the private room).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joana Domingues

As a family with children

City break

16 February 2013 Joana would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is very well located if you arrive late from the bus or train station you just have to walk less than 10 minutes. The staff is friendly and the rooms are very warm, what is great in Winter.

Disliked: The room was really small for 3 people and very old fashion. There were Internet just in the wall. The breakfast was poor and always the same.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, location, staff

Disliked: small bathroom

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012

Liked: good location

Disliked: entire place reeked of cigarette smoke, rooms not very nice,


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels