We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel San Maurizio

1 star Hotel | Calle Zaguri, San Marco 2624, Venice, Italy 30124

81.3% Overall Rating

251 out of 281 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

Emma Williams thinks…

"Staff on reception were helpful and friendly. Location was brilliant, a short walk into the main square along a lovely alley full of posh shops."

Read all Hotel San Maurizio reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Concierge
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 12.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

In order to guarantee the Hotel in case of NO SHOW we make a pre-authorization (not a charge) for the total amount of your stay. In case of late cancellation( 7 - 2 days prior arrival) the hotel will charge 1 night stay, from 2 - 0 days prior arrival or for No Show , the hotel will charge the FULL AMOUNT of the stay .No cancellation will be accepted by phone.. In case of early departure the client must pay the entire amount of reservation .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Ca' del Pozzo
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Venice Paradise
53.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Friendly Venice - Female only
45.54 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 67 reviews
Locanda Arte
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
41.11 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Venice Academy
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 165 reviews
Hotel Messner
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 96 reviews
Ca' Contarini
16.45 USD

Guesthouse 80.9% 951 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

251 out of 281 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel San Maurizio'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 272 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, comfortable bed, clean bedroom, our room in suite has a great bathroom

Disliked: We thought we could have the 5 eur breakfast in the place but it was not possible (anyway in less than 100 metres from the hostel you have 3 bars). We had a look to the shared bathrooms and they were not so good.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2010

Liked: The location was nice. It is central, but still in an area that is quiet.

Disliked: The staff weren't friendly and did not try to help you at all. It wasn't a particularly relaxing place to stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right between L'Accademia and Piazza San Marco in a really nice area and obviously central. Can walk almost everywhere.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms and they gave us a twin room when we'd asked for a double.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central, easy to find, nice room

Disliked: shared shower was leaky

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 October 2010

Liked: The room furniture was new looking, and they provided an armoire as well. The sheets were clean and crisp, and towels were provided. The floor was a pink marble. The room was a nice size, and good value for the money.

Disliked: The room was dirty, especially along the lower walls, where it meets the floor. The sink was loosened from the wall and you could see all the yucky grunge behind. We had shared bathrooms. 6 rooms, 3 bathrooms. One of the bathrooms was good. The other two always had liquid of some kind on the floor, water or??

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brett Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

19 October 2010 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: close to water taxi and st Marks

Disliked: Brett left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Tosheva

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

27 September 2010 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Location and helpfulness of the staff !

Disliked: everything perfect, no dislikes

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff where friendly and the location even though it was a bit of a walk from the station it was central to the main sites.

Disliked: the breakfast was horrible and the most expensive of the trip. it was the most expensive place we stayed, they also wanted us to pay for wi-fi which was free in other cheaper places we had stayed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location friendly and helpfull staff

Disliked: Pillows were hard and two would have been better

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Great rooms. Great service. Friendly staff!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Buena locacion. Los baños limpios.

Disliked: La habitacion muy pequeña.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2010

Liked: Great location, and only a half hour water taxi to the hostel. Next to snack bars and restaurants.

Disliked: When we arrived it was dirty, including a dead scorpion on the floor and squashed mosquitoes everywhere! We sat on the bed at it broke! The extra mattress was in dire conditions, and only suitable for a child. We checked out the bathrooms and there was hair everywhere, mould curtains and the toilets hadn't been cleaned. No services on offer apart from a broken bed. Would only recommend for location as it was actually quite expensive to stay!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Raphael Santos

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2010 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: The Hotel is good, clean and safe

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: Expectations not met, unaware and at times unhelpful staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Kron

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! It is exactly what you would expect to stay at in Venice. The rooms were huge, the place clean, and the staff very helpful!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent hotel. Clean, comfortable room with a sink and ceiling fan.

Disliked: No aircon, very expensive Internet, no breakfast, shared bathroom (broken lock). In other words, you get a room and almost nothing else.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and really neat courtyard entrance

Disliked: The room was very small. The smallest in all the hostels we stayed at but it was still very nice and the bed was comfortable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Lawson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 July 2010 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is in a great location, the staff were very helpful, it has the most amazing sitting area on the top floor

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Coupry Fabrice

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

12 July 2010 Coupry would recommend this property

Liked: La localisation le rapport qualité prix

Disliked: Coupry left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jonathan Villegas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, facilities were ok, nothing special...

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michelle Ostrowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location!

Disliked: We were there during a very hot and humid season and there isn't air conditioning of course, so we were extremely hot most of the night

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, right near San Marcos square.

Disliked: Beds were not comfortable, Wireless internet was not free but expensive. Most are free at good hostels. Important to travelers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2010

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: I had a BAD experience with the hotel. I had printed out my booking reservation, and upon arrival to the hotel I was told that my booking didn't get through because my debit card was bad (which is absurd as I have used the card to reserve hostels through HostelBookers more than a dozen time successfully). And they told me they only have a Private triple ensuite room for about 100euros a night (my initial booking was for 22 euros per person). As it was late, I had to take the "offer". Although the room they gave was nice, but it felt as if I have been conned thus leaving a bitter taste to my stay in Venice.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Own room

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a grate place to stay in Venize, it´s clean, lovely and confortable.I recommended so much!!!!The ubication is good, if you get in train, the option to move is take the boat to Ponte Academia.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels