HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel San Maurizio

1 star Hotel | Calle Zaguri, San Marco 2624, Venice, Italy 30124

81.0% Overall Rating

250 out of 280 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

Emma Williams thinks…

"Staff on reception were helpful and friendly. Location was brilliant, a short walk into the main square along a lovely alley full of posh shops."

Read all Hotel San Maurizio reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Concierge
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 13.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

In order to guarantee the Hotel in case of NO SHOW we make a pre-authorization (not a charge) for the total amount of your stay. In case of late cancellation( 7 - 2 days prior arrival) the hotel will charge 1 night stay, from 2 - 0 days prior arrival or for No Show , the hotel will charge the FULL AMOUNT of the stay .No cancellation will be accepted by phone.. In case of early departure the client must pay the entire amount of reservation .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Ca' del Pozzo
45.11 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Venice Paradise
55.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Friendly Venice - Female only
59.71 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 66 reviews
Locanda Arte
59.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
54.73 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Venice Academy
39.80 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 162 reviews
Hotel Messner
48.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 96 reviews
Ca' Contarini
17.25 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 944 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

250 out of 280 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel San Maurizio'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 270 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, below hotel was a gelato shop and other food shops. Walking distance to ferry therefore was very easy to get around Venice.

Disliked: When we checked in we were not told a lot of information. For example the hotel offers breakfast and we were not told. We also were not told to leave our key when we leave the hotel so they know your out. This resulted in us being locked out of the hotel at 3am in the morning. There is a buzzer to buzz so someone from the hostel can let you in but whoever was on duty that night must have fallen asleep. We had to pay to stay somewhere else because we couldn't get in. The hotel did refund us the fee we paid for the other accomodation but not for the amount we had paid to stay at their hostel. This error made our stay in Venice not so good as the streets of venice e are scary at 3am in the morning. The hostel did apologize but because of this I wouldn't reccomend staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Botta

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: THE GREATEST PLACE TO STAY IN VENICE!!!!! Easy to get to from the ferry stop Giglio. Location is perfect!!!! 5min walk to the main square San Marco, but a little bit out not to be surrounded 24/7 by tourists. The staff were SO HELPFUL! We ended up needing an extra night and they did everything they could to help and were so kind and great. STAY HERE!!!! You will not be disappointed! Best place to stay in Venice!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. Stay here!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Cruz

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Decoration, location, staff very helpfull and friendly, cleanliness, good air conditioner

Disliked: small room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Alker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: The room was small but it was ok. Thought it was a bit rude how we they wouldnt print us two boarding passes. Especially for the price you pay. Also the TV in the room didnt have the proper remote so couldnt change channels

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011

Liked: The location is good and the staff was friendly and helpful. The elder lady kindly corrected some mistakes in my Italian, and I enjoyed it.

Disliked: This was the worst "hotel" I've been to, ever. It definitely is not honest in its description on internet. I booked a night thinking I would sleep at a 3 stars hotel. They put me in an awful bedroom. The window looked out to the street and couldn't be properly closed, so all the noise of people talking and men working came loudly inside the room. The roof fan didn't work properly. Amazingly it just worked when the light was switched on. Yes, it's just like I've just mentioned! If I switched on the light, the fan started working. If I switched off the light, the fan did the same way. The room has a decadent look and the bed went a kind of down when I simply sat on it. Additionally, in my opinion they over charge guests for the use of internet: 10 euros for 20 hours. Most hotels simply include that service on the price you pay. It seems I'm lying but, taking another look on the pictures they put on your website, the only thing I can say is it doesn't correspond to truth!!!! A BIG NUMBER OF HOSSSSTELS ARE MUCH BETTER THIS HOTEL!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to San Marco. Clean.

Disliked: Staff is not super helpful and the wifi is overpriced, slow and complicated to use!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome staff, awesome hotel, awesome location

Disliked: everything was perfect for us

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Good morning staff... slightly awful night staff who looked at their facebook accounts rather than helping us.

Disliked: a bit noisy from the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Very secure. Clean and comfortable in the best part of Venice. Only a short walk to the square and all of the best shopping :) Recommended

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: Very small rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anand Kulkarni

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 June 2011 Anand would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel location was really good.

Disliked: The building from outside found to be old.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 June 2011

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No bathrooms enough.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hotel is very nice

Disliked: i dont have

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Poh Ling Koh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Poh Ling would recommend this property

Liked: good location, room comes with a safe and fridge

Disliked: no wifi, rooms are really tiny!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was in an excellent location. It is near everything you would want to see and visit while in Venice. We were very happy with the hotel because the staff had very good english and were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We didn't book an ensuite and it was awkward having to wait to use the shower as there was only one working, between all the guests on our floor. I would recommend that you book an ensuite if possible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jean winfree

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 jean would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location and it's very clean, the staffs are friendly. The direction provided by hotel were very good, easy to find. The price was reasonable.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very quaint and hidden away in the perfect location (5 minute walk from st marks sq). very big room (4 guests) and a lovely balcony. shared bathrooms were clean and not very busy. the shower was amazing! staff were lovely and helpful. should be rated more than a 1 star hotel!

Disliked: not much but the church bells next door ringing every hour from 7am was sometimes annoying.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Venetian decor very quaint!

Disliked: Difficult to find

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Weber

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. It is true - only 5 mins from Piazza San Marco! The directions on the site for how to get to the hotel were great.

Disliked: The room was small and cramped. Wifi was available but at a charge.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gareth mac donald

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated to San Marco Square and close to water taxi stop. Clean room and hot showers with a fridge in the room and FREE wifi which was essential to keeping in touch with home and business. Very smart feel in the lobby. Good matresses, smart decor. Spotless bathroom, no mould. Good value for money especially if you are converting South African Rand to Euro.

Disliked: The double en-suite is exceptionally small and the ceiling is low which make the room a bit depressing. The a/c was turned up high, and no regulating switch in the room.... and it was so hot that we had to sleep with windows open which brought the mosquitos inside !!! No kitchen facilities to use. No microwave. Walls are thin ...you could hear the couple "bonking" next door!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Couldn't ask for a better location. Clean rooms.

Disliked: 'private double' had two single beds. Traveling as a couple I found that frustrating. Remember to close your window before the Sun goes down, or mosquito hell ensues. Was a little wierd that we had to leave our key at the desk everytime we left, but they were always nice about it and we went in and out quite often. There was always someone at the desk so not so bad.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marien Lebreton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Marien would recommend this property

Liked: - Very clean: we went for a shared bathroom and it was obvious it was cleaned at least twice a day. Room was very clean as well. - Very well located (short walk from literally any Venice point including San Marco), close vaporetto stop allowing effortless transfer to/from airport or railway station with luggage. - Very friendly staff. - You can drop off your luggage at any time, whatever first day or last day. Not always obvious for all hostels...

Disliked: - Minor point and not really a dislike: just note the "24/7" reception might sometimes require you wander across the hotel to find the staff member in charge. Or you can phone as they have a DECT phone with them at any time. - Over-heated. For some reason (maybe moisture?) even with 25°C and sun outside, heaters were on, making 1st floor temperature hard to cope with.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pablo Jacobe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The location and cleaness.

Disliked: Only one shower available. The other bath was under repair.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great about the stay, the rooms, the bathrooms, where it was situated and the staff were lovely and helpful, it was one of the best holidays I've ever had.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked about the property at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Celia Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, really central

Disliked: Room was not ensuite and the provided shared bathrooms were in need of repair and not always equipped with toilet roll.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels