HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel San Maurizio

1 star Hotel | Calle Zaguri, San Marco 2624, Venice, Italy 30124

82.6% Overall Rating

245 out of 273 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/01/2014)

Wojciech Leoniuk thinks…

"I spent there almost a week and I felt like a permanent resident of San Maurizio. Each time when I was passing the lobby staff were so friendly, kindly and very helpful. There is something about this…"

Read all Hotel San Maurizio reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Concierge
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 13.82

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

In order to guarantee the Hotel in case of NO SHOW we make a pre-authorization (not a charge) for the total amount of your stay. In case of late cancellation( 7 - 2 days prior arrival) the hotel will charge 1 night stay, from 2 - 0 days prior arrival or for No Show , the hotel will charge the FULL AMOUNT of the stay .No cancellation will be accepted by phone.. In case of early departure the client must pay the entire amount of reservation .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Ca' del Pozzo
46.99 USD

Guesthouse 75.5% 30 reviews
Venice Paradise
58.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Friendly Venice - Female only
52.52 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 65 reviews
Locanda Arte
55.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.9% 41 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
61.85 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 79 reviews
Venice Academy
41.47 USD

Hostel 86.5% 147 reviews
Hotel Messner
62.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.1% 91 reviews
Ca' Contarini
17.97 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 912 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

245 out of 273 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel San Maurizio'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 182 of 264 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to San Marco. Clean.

Disliked: Staff is not super helpful and the wifi is overpriced, slow and complicated to use!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome staff, awesome hotel, awesome location

Disliked: everything was perfect for us

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Good morning staff... slightly awful night staff who looked at their facebook accounts rather than helping us.

Disliked: a bit noisy from the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Very secure. Clean and comfortable in the best part of Venice. Only a short walk to the square and all of the best shopping :) Recommended

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: Very small rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anand Kulkarni

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 June 2011 Anand would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel location was really good.

Disliked: The building from outside found to be old.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 June 2011

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No bathrooms enough.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hotel is very nice

Disliked: i dont have

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Poh Ling Koh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Poh Ling would recommend this property

Liked: good location, room comes with a safe and fridge

Disliked: no wifi, rooms are really tiny!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was in an excellent location. It is near everything you would want to see and visit while in Venice. We were very happy with the hotel because the staff had very good english and were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We didn't book an ensuite and it was awkward having to wait to use the shower as there was only one working, between all the guests on our floor. I would recommend that you book an ensuite if possible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jean winfree

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 jean would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location and it's very clean, the staffs are friendly. The direction provided by hotel were very good, easy to find. The price was reasonable.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very quaint and hidden away in the perfect location (5 minute walk from st marks sq). very big room (4 guests) and a lovely balcony. shared bathrooms were clean and not very busy. the shower was amazing! staff were lovely and helpful. should be rated more than a 1 star hotel!

Disliked: not much but the church bells next door ringing every hour from 7am was sometimes annoying.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Venetian decor very quaint!

Disliked: Difficult to find

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Weber

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. It is true - only 5 mins from Piazza San Marco! The directions on the site for how to get to the hotel were great.

Disliked: The room was small and cramped. Wifi was available but at a charge.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gareth mac donald

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated to San Marco Square and close to water taxi stop. Clean room and hot showers with a fridge in the room and FREE wifi which was essential to keeping in touch with home and business. Very smart feel in the lobby. Good matresses, smart decor. Spotless bathroom, no mould. Good value for money especially if you are converting South African Rand to Euro.

Disliked: The double en-suite is exceptionally small and the ceiling is low which make the room a bit depressing. The a/c was turned up high, and no regulating switch in the room.... and it was so hot that we had to sleep with windows open which brought the mosquitos inside !!! No kitchen facilities to use. No microwave. Walls are thin ...you could hear the couple "bonking" next door!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Couldn't ask for a better location. Clean rooms.

Disliked: 'private double' had two single beds. Traveling as a couple I found that frustrating. Remember to close your window before the Sun goes down, or mosquito hell ensues. Was a little wierd that we had to leave our key at the desk everytime we left, but they were always nice about it and we went in and out quite often. There was always someone at the desk so not so bad.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marien Lebreton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Marien would recommend this property

Liked: - Very clean: we went for a shared bathroom and it was obvious it was cleaned at least twice a day. Room was very clean as well. - Very well located (short walk from literally any Venice point including San Marco), close vaporetto stop allowing effortless transfer to/from airport or railway station with luggage. - Very friendly staff. - You can drop off your luggage at any time, whatever first day or last day. Not always obvious for all hostels...

Disliked: - Minor point and not really a dislike: just note the "24/7" reception might sometimes require you wander across the hotel to find the staff member in charge. Or you can phone as they have a DECT phone with them at any time. - Over-heated. For some reason (maybe moisture?) even with 25°C and sun outside, heaters were on, making 1st floor temperature hard to cope with.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pablo Jacobe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The location and cleaness.

Disliked: Only one shower available. The other bath was under repair.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great about the stay, the rooms, the bathrooms, where it was situated and the staff were lovely and helpful, it was one of the best holidays I've ever had.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked about the property at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Celia Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, really central

Disliked: Room was not ensuite and the provided shared bathrooms were in need of repair and not always equipped with toilet roll.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel was very cute and small. I enjoyed our stay here. It was quiet and we were happy to get some sleep after a busy day. There was no lounge area, but we were only staying for one night and were out all day and night exploring Venice.

Disliked: If I was staying in Venice for longer, I would prefer a place with a small lounge area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Qiong Jiang

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

27 April 2011 Qiong would recommend this property

Liked: I LIKE THE ENVIROMRNTS AND THE STAFF ARE VERY FRIENDLY.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Yakelis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean rooms.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, safe, secure, great staff. Location is excellent and further it is easy to find if you follow the directions properly. It was typical Venetian with beautiful interiors albeit a bit on the small side. I was impressed upon my arrival and will definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone else who visits Venice. Location SUPERB!!!!!

Disliked: On a very minor note, we were not told that breakfast can be prearranged from reception which would have been a plus.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Neville

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great property located very close to San Marco. Rooms were small but neat and clean. We were upgraded to the hotel section which was amazing. Staff were friendly and always willing to help and offer tourist advice.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels