HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel San Maurizio

1 star Hotel | Calle Zaguri, San Marco 2624, Venice, Italy 30124

81.1% Overall Rating

247 out of 277 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

"The location was one of the better things, and not having a curfew was also great"

Read all Hotel San Maurizio reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Concierge
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 13.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

In order to guarantee the Hotel in case of NO SHOW we make a pre-authorization (not a charge) for the total amount of your stay. In case of late cancellation( 7 - 2 days prior arrival) the hotel will charge 1 night stay, from 2 - 0 days prior arrival or for No Show , the hotel will charge the FULL AMOUNT of the stay .No cancellation will be accepted by phone.. In case of early departure the client must pay the entire amount of reservation .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Ca' del Pozzo
45.55 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Venice Paradise
56.27 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Friendly Venice - Female only
50.91 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 66 reviews
Locanda Arte
60.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
53.26 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Venice Academy
37.51 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 161 reviews
Hotel Messner
36.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.6% 95 reviews
Ca' Contarini
17.42 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 937 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

247 out of 277 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel San Maurizio'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 186 of 268 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Bad service, paying wi-fi, can't get any service after five in the afternoon... like internet for instance...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central to all the "popular" places in Venice yet it is still very small, cute and friendly. Ideal for people looking for a cheap yet comfortable stay in Venice for a few days, The staff were very helpful and friendly and the bedrooms and bathrooms were kept clean. I had a great time in Venice and this hotel provided part of that experience.

Disliked: You had to give in your keys when leaving the property. Although everything was kept safe I found this quite usual...but that may just be my personal opinion!?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful. Accommodations were extremely clean, and exactly as described.

Disliked: Nothing. They represented themselves as they are.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara Soria Fortuny

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Location , rates and cleaning.

Disliked: The trap of the sink in our bedroom was broken and all the water came out, but they didn't fix it despite we gave notice of it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christina Smart

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011

Liked: The staff was warm, friendly and professional.

Disliked: I didn't like the idea that the property was advertised as a hotel, when it was a hostal

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katie Morgan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, close to vaporetto station and main plaza. Room was pretty.

Disliked: The airconditioner worked poorly so we had to leave the window open and got bitten by mosquitos. So in summer it may not be the best place to stay. The TV reomote was missing and they didn't have another one so we were unable use our TV. You were not able to arrange internet access in the evening for some reason.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: I found it a bit expensive for what it was but it was venice so I guess that is expected

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 September 2011

Liked: the staff is so nice and helpful. he is so friendly and even recommend us a very good place for dinner. the location is quite convenient.

Disliked: the room is small and bed is not in good condition.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Monika Niesterowicz

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really friendly, helpful :) the location is great, only about 10 minutes by walk from the piazza san marco!

Disliked: nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near Saint Mark's Square. Always a staff member at the front desk so you feel safe.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms, so not terribly clean. Obviously very old so all of the doors and latches are very noisy anytime they are opened/closed, especially in the middle of the night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Keith Jenkins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, as well as all being fluent in English (which makes a difference when you're flustered and have just arrived). For example, we wanted to get out of the hotel at 5am one morning to see sunrise, and the receptionist got up at 5am specifically to unlock the gate for us - we were very impressed.

Disliked: There is no air-conditioning in the rooms, just a fan on the ceiling. In the heat this can result in a bad night's sleep.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decor nice very venitian.

Disliked: Staff not that friendly like. Tv small not that many channels to choose

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Aries

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: The design and the location in the twisted alley of Venice itself is great! The room was also bigger than we had expected.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location! Definitely value for money because we originally reserved a room for 3 without air-con but luckily got upgraded to a deluxe room which was very big and with air-con! We had a happy stay in Venice!

Disliked: No elevator, we had to take our big baggages 2 floors up to the room which was tiring.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was perfect.

Disliked: It was too hot in the bedroom, one could hear all the noise from the corridor and the bathrooms. We wanted a double bed and we didnt get it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jack Cummings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (5 mins from St. Marks Square). Very helpful staff. The double bed in the 4 person room was detachable. Room had a balcony which was very handy for drying towels.

Disliked: 3 bathrooms shared between our floor. I was asked to pay by cash. Key had to be handed in at the reception and collected later which wasted time. Expensive breakfast.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Thomas Broadbent

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 August 2011

Liked: Location and friendliness of staff

Disliked: Rooms were basic. Showers often dirty unacceptable considering the amount we paid. A/C was not present so sleeping was difficult in such hot conditions

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect for exploring Venice.

Disliked: It was a little pricey for what we got, and the price didn't include breakfast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff and keen to help out with orientating you to the city. The rooms are a little run down but have a true rustic charm. Really well located and only a couple of mins walk from San Marco's square.

Disliked: Unfortunately the AC didn't work too well so nights were a bit sweaty

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location is amazing. Only 10 minutes walk from most things like the Piazza San Marco and water taxi's. The staff are super friendly and helpful. And the hotel is just very nicely set up.

Disliked: Breakfast was a little expensive at 7 euro's per person. But it's hard to beat that if you try to find your own breakfast. Also internet is a little pricey.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hotel estaba en pleno centro, muy cerca de la plaza de San Marcos. El personal era muy agradable y el hotel era muy tranquilo.

Disliked: No tenía wifi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roger Noti

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: staff / location

Disliked: not much / wlan isn't for free

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Tait

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were full of traditional character, the location perfect (5 minutes walk to Saint Mark's Square) and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

Disliked: Room wasn't huge and the television only had Italian channels. Not a lot to complain about really.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, below hotel was a gelato shop and other food shops. Walking distance to ferry therefore was very easy to get around Venice.

Disliked: When we checked in we were not told a lot of information. For example the hotel offers breakfast and we were not told. We also were not told to leave our key when we leave the hotel so they know your out. This resulted in us being locked out of the hotel at 3am in the morning. There is a buzzer to buzz so someone from the hostel can let you in but whoever was on duty that night must have fallen asleep. We had to pay to stay somewhere else because we couldn't get in. The hotel did refund us the fee we paid for the other accomodation but not for the amount we had paid to stay at their hostel. This error made our stay in Venice not so good as the streets of venice e are scary at 3am in the morning. The hostel did apologize but because of this I wouldn't reccomend staying there.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels