HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel San Maurizio

1 star Hotel | Calle Zaguri, San Marco 2624, Venice, Italy 30124

81.3% Overall Rating

251 out of 281 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

Emma Williams thinks…

"Staff on reception were helpful and friendly. Location was brilliant, a short walk into the main square along a lovely alley full of posh shops."

Read all Hotel San Maurizio reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Concierge
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 12.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

In order to guarantee the Hotel in case of NO SHOW we make a pre-authorization (not a charge) for the total amount of your stay. In case of late cancellation( 7 - 2 days prior arrival) the hotel will charge 1 night stay, from 2 - 0 days prior arrival or for No Show , the hotel will charge the FULL AMOUNT of the stay .No cancellation will be accepted by phone.. In case of early departure the client must pay the entire amount of reservation .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Ca' del Pozzo
43.01 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 33 reviews
Venice Paradise
53.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Friendly Venice - Female only
56.93 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 67 reviews
Locanda Arte
63.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 42 reviews
Locanda Art Deco
55.03 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 80 reviews
Venice Academy
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 165 reviews
Hotel Messner
52.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.3% 96 reviews
Ca' Contarini
16.45 USD

Guesthouse 80.9% 951 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

251 out of 281 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel San Maurizio'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 272 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raymond Deguara

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: Extremly central location

Disliked: nothing to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is perfectly located.The staff are very helpful. It was very warm - very good for our winter holiday.

Disliked: We were disappointed to be hit by this silly 'Tourist Tax' of a euro per night per person. This was not explained to us in advance which was annoying but at least it wasn't too expensive.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Hergott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and their friendliness

Disliked: We couldn't pay seperately

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Could not ask for a better location. Why stay anywhere else at three times the price?

Disliked: Very minor thing, but the pub just beside was a little noisy from my room. Probably not heard anywhere else in the hotel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly welcoming staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well kept. Maintanance is good. Ambiance is very homely. Location was very convenient and central.

Disliked: Doors to the rooms were mostly creaky which disturbed sleep in the morning. One bed frame was bend at the bottom and another bed was squeaky.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalia Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 September 2012 Nathalia would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the hotel was very well appointed. To be honest, for the price we paid we were expecting something a lot less! So, a pleasant surprise.

Disliked: The weather in Venice at the time we stayed was ridiculously hot and humid. The room itself was very small, the walls covered in thick wallpaper, the window opened onto a wall, and the air conditioner couldn't cope. The first night saw us get almost no sleep at all, and nearly suffer from a claustrophobia induced panic attack. To be fair the hotel staff the next day did check the air conditioner to make sure it was working (although they claimed it was) and after indicating I wished to go out and buy a fan, they did relent and give us one. Perhaps the weather is very rarely like this, but they should be equipped better to handle it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Purcell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: Our double bed consisteted of two singles pushed together, and the mattresses ere two doddering heights and one of the beds sqeeled a lot so rolon over was a mightmare. Also the sink in our room didn't work which we weren't told about until we got into the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Location. Extremely clean. Modern and nice bathroom - good showers! Very friendly staff and extremely helpful when asking for directions/instruction regarding boats. Not too expensive. Luggage storage after check-out available.

Disliked: Pillow in the rooms were very thin.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012

Liked: The shower was awesome and staff were friendly

Disliked: Airconditioner did not work. No fridge in room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012

Liked: Location was great. Easy to find from the Grand Canal when arriving and quick walk to St Marks Square.

Disliked: The hotel was very noisy. The walls are incredibly thin so we could hear every conversation going on in the surrounding rooms. This became rather embarrassing as we felt like we were intruding whilst being in our own room!! Also I did not feel our room and belongings were at all safe or secure here due to the key system. Each day when you head out, you must hand your key into the desk. If only staying for a couple of days like us, the staff do not necessarily recognise you and you deal with different people - when you ask for your key back, there is no check of names etc so anyone could be given the key to your room. I think this system needs to be overhauled immediately. I would only stay here for 1 night if absolutely necessary. I will definitely be looking for something else in Venice next time and will spend a bit extra for safety & security.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and nice. Good location. Everything is good for price?

Disliked: no wifi. The room was to close to the reception, which made some noise from time to time.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cara Hewitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012

Liked: It was quite cheap and close to a vaperetto stop. Also the shower was amazing.

Disliked: The room was quite dark and smelt really musty. There wasnt sufficent aircon and there were no computers for guests. Also strange that you had to hand your key in everytime you left.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: having to leave your keys can be annoying getting in at night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No airco in the rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqui Cooke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Jacqui would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly and helpful staff. the rooms are great! the whole place has heaps of character, very clean and tidy and such a great price for the middle of Venice!!!!

Disliked: Jacqui left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elaine smith

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 elaine would recommend this property

Liked: location, value, clean, safe

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean and very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bernard Banoviez

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Bernard would recommend this property

Liked: Good service with his own elegant style. A few minutes walking from P. San Marco and P. Ducal.

Disliked: Bernard left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Retsos

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Great location, close to all main attractions and sites. Large bathroom and shower.

Disliked: Poor air conditioning unit. No small fridge in room. Handing in of key every time leaving the hotel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was BEAUTIFUL - full of character and old-fashioned (but in a good way). They will hold your bags for you for free once you've checked out, even if you don't pick them up until 10 pm! The location could not be beat. It was a five minute walk to the Grand Canal, and after that, a 5 minute walk to the other side of the island where there is excellent dining along the water.

Disliked: Staff was friendly, but there was a mixup where one employee told us we could pay with card, and then when we went to pay at the end of the stay, we were told we needed to pay with cash (which is what they say on their website). That was it!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Th staff were really friendly and helpful. The decor in the rooms was really cool.

Disliked: It was odd that we had to hand our room key into reception every time we left the hotel

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Luke Clements

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012

Liked: The location is great - the hotel is in the heart of Venice

Disliked: The pictures shown online are misleading, they are nothing like the room we received. It is over priced for the facilities. You are essentially paying for the location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDRE DE KOCK

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2012 ANDRE would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and safe. The staff were helpful and very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lai Yin Wai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Lai Yin would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is good. Very quiet.

Disliked: The hot water supply is unstable. The bed is too soft.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels