HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel Astoria

2 star Hotel | Calle Fiubera, 951, S. Marco, Venice, Italy -

68.6% Overall Rating

49 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

"This hostel has a great location just between S.Marco and Rialto bridge. It was clean and pretty good value considering the cost of accommodation in Venice."

Read all Hotel Astoria reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.33
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Hotel Alla Fava
82.23 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.9% 26 reviews
Hotel Caneva
41.75 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.1% 58 reviews
Boutique San Marco
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 41 reviews
Albergo San Samuele
56.93 USD

Hostel 85.7% 306 reviews
Locanda Barbarigo
60.09 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 50 reviews
San Marco Apartments
94.88 USD

Apartment 80.4% 8 reviews
A Venice Emerald 1&2
158.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Emerald Palace Hostel
35.42 USD

Hostel 71.8% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

49 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Astoria'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
65.6%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 67 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great location just between S.Marco and Rialto bridge. It was clean and pretty good value considering the cost of accommodation in Venice.

Disliked: The property is old but everything still worked.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Astoria has a really nice location, easy to find and nice area

Disliked: I saw two little bugs walking On my bed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near Piazza San Marco, but quieter.

Disliked: No elevator.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff was very friendly.

Disliked: The pillows were quite hard and small, but the bed was nice.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Matthew Thompson

Alone

City break

28 April 2014

Liked: Fantastic location - no frills.

Disliked: I slept on a very uncomfortable camping bed. It was small and bent down quite a bit so woke up with a stiff back. Charged 2 euros for a towel which I was not informed about previously - surely it should come included?! Breakfast was appalling even at 5 euros. Opted to get something from local cafe instead. Shower broken and quite dirty.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephanie Bell

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 April 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: - Excellent location, right behind Saint Marks Square, very easy to find - Free wifi (only in the lobby, but it still worked in room 102) - Showers had great pressure and always had hot water - Breakfast was included between 8-10am (very basic, but saved me from buying food out) - Staff were always very friendly and willing to assist - I paid more than I budgeted but it was definitely worth the extra euros - My room and private bathroom was cleaned every day - 24 hour reception was useful as I arrived after midnight

Disliked: - My room got quite cold at night and there was no spare blanket (I was there in April), however when I asked reception they happily gave me a little fan heater - The mattress was quite uncomfortable

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kristin Osborn

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: Location was EXCELLENT

Disliked: The "private bathroom" was a completely different room so when needing to go to the bathroom during the night would have to get the key to unlock our door, walk across the corridor to then unlock the bathroom door then back again - vet frustrating but location was excellent Very old No TV or fridge Wifi was only in the "lobby"

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - about 2 mins walk from San Marco's

Disliked: The rooms are incredibly basic and slightly scruffy looking, although for one night and literally a place to rest your head for the night, it's okay. They had provided an electrical fan in an attempt to cool the rooms down which was appreciated. However, in the (private) bathroom - shower screen was broken and cobbled together and then shower head kept falling off the attachment on the pipe. The breakfast was distinctly average - certainly NOT worth paying €5 for! There are several bars that serve coffee and croissants a little further down the alley. I'd recommend guests going there for a proper taste of Italian breakfast. WARNING - Hostelbookers says that this hotel has NO curfew! It does! Fortunately I checked the sign behind my door and was able to adjust my plans. Monday - Thursday they close their doors at 01.30am. Friday-Sunday has no curfew. Saying that you will have to ring the bell several times (probably waking guests up) before some emerges to let you in. Slightly disconcerting, especially as a female travelling on her own down a relatively dark alley.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: The breakfast for 5 euro helped start the day hassle free and the hot chocolate was superb. It's also 60 seconds from the square.

Disliked: I paid $45 for a trundle bed in a four bed dorm. It sank in the middle so I ended up putting the mattress on the floor. It was also sweltering hot and had almost non existent Internet.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rafael Faria

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: not very comfortable. the bathroom was quite old

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2012

Liked: its in the city center

Disliked: there was no shower head (the water flowed out of the pipe in the wall) and the bath room, especially the shower was dirty

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

emily ayling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 emily would recommend this property

Liked: Location was its main seller...literally a 2 min walk from saint marcos square

Disliked: Pretty old and dingy looking, doors to rooms didnt close properly. No safes or lockers in the rooms. No fans or aircon either...very hot!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2012

Liked: There were three beds in the room instead of four. We had to add a night to our reservation adn I emailed ahead and it was no problem (probaböy because nobody wanted to stay there).

Disliked: The staff had no idea what was going on. They had to ask us how many beds we had in our room. We were supposed to have 3 people in the room (there were two of us travelling) and the 1st two nights there was only us two which was great. However, the 3rd night they added someone which was fine, but they added someone at 1 in the morning and woke us up to do it. The shower was dirty and not inculded in the room as described. We had to go down the hallway to use the bathroom adn when you turned the shoewr on, it got the whole bathroom wet because it was so small adn cramped. We dreaded going back to the hotel every night. A regular sized towel was 3 Euros a night, so we didn't use one, just a hand towel. Wi-Fi was also expensive, 4 Euros an hour. Only one staff member out of 4 or 5 that we met was night. He worked evening shift during the week, but I don't remember his name.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

yao jiang

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012

Liked: the hostel is near the San Marco, but is difficult to find. the receptor's English is Ok

Disliked: no Wifi. And facilities are not so good. the door of our room is bad, which cannot be closed well. and the room is cold.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luciano Steolo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 November 2011

Liked: es cerca de la plaza san marco,pero en venecia,hay otras zonas mas lindas.igualmente,es tan chica la ciudad q todo esta cerca! el desayuno,a 5 euros,es bueno

Disliked: las condiciones del baño (a compartir entre varias habitaciones)no eran buenas,tampoco d la habitacion q m toco a mi.conoci otra habitacion q era mejor,no se por que sera! es caro en cuanto a las condiciones en q esta el hotel,aunque se q venecia no es barato.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Heidi Tenkanen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and they upgraded us from dorm to own room.

Disliked: Not very clean and it was difficult to find. We needed to call to find the place even we had a map.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Webb

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Grat showers in the rooms

Disliked: The foldout bed I had:( the hotel was late opening in morning and meant I almost missed my train. People at the front desk didn't really speak much English.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, I have booked a dorm room and was upgraded with a room by myself. Great central location. They give you everything you need- linen, towels, soap , a safe etc...

Disliked: had to pay for wifi, was a bit too hot in the room, it was small no area for socializing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Aydin Yaman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011

Liked: location is the only positive thing.

Disliked: The building needs work done. floor has pot holes. receptionists were very dull, weren't willing to help you out. rooms were tiny. beds were too small and rock hard, along with the pillow. toilet didnt flush properly, shower had no water pressure. no atmosphere. hard to connect to wifi and had to pay, easier to just go to an internet cafe. wouldn't stay here again.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and this was best possible place to stay for money payed

Disliked: I was expected that WiFi is for free but no, and it was expensive network.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, clean

Disliked: no hot water one morning

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011

Liked: Great location

Disliked: It was very suspicious that the minimum charge on a card was more than the value of a bed in a dorm for the night. I've never heard of a 50euro minimum charge. So come prepared with cash. Unfortunately, most of the bad experience was related to a very poorly behaved backpacker. However when I arrived in the room there were three beds made up. Two singles and a double. At 1am in the morning a fourth person was put in the room forcing the person on the double to separate his bed and share sheets. Totally unacceptable. Staff wouldn't do anything.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Francois du Plessis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2011

Liked: location only

Disliked: everything besides the location

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's location is excellent, it is quite clean and the staff are polite and happy to help.

Disliked: No internet (wi-fi available, but no computer), no social atmosphere, no lockers, only one key per room - meaning you get locked out if your roommate is asleep.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rosely Ernesto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Rosely would recommend this property

Liked: very good location. near st marks square.

Disliked: the staff is rude. the beds are old. there´s a lot of stairs and no lifti (and no help from the staff).


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels