We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel Venice Villa Dori

3 star Hotel | Via Colombara, Via Cesare Piva N. 1, Venice, Italy 30030

66.1% Overall Rating

951 out of 1218 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

"It's clean and the rooms are really good. Not luxurious as they describe, but really clean and comfortable."

Read all Hotel Venice Villa Dori reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.99

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

-We reserve the right to pre-authorize bookers' credit cards at time of reservation and anytime before check-in: if the amount will be not pre-authorizing by our POS, we will e-mail the booker, requiring sending us new credit card details. If we will not receive any confirmation of a valid credit card or any prepayment by bank transfer, we will be regretful to refuse the reservation at check-in if the hotel will be fully booked, without giving any further notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Camping Serenissima
15.41 USD

Campsite 79.9% 61 reviews
PLUS Camping Jolly
12.72 USD

Hostel 80.3% 981 reviews
Hotel Palladio
35.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.0% 77 reviews
Camping Fusina Tourist Village
15.41 USD

Campsite 71.5% 353 reviews
Hotel & Hostel Colombo For Backpackers
25.69 USD

Hostel 65.4% 533 reviews
Nuova Locanda Belvedere
25.69 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.0% 510 reviews
Green Garden Resort
35.97 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Camping Venezia Village
28.26 USD

Campsite 90.3% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.1%

Overall Rating

951 out of 1218 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Venice Villa Dori'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
51.2%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
60.8%
Value
72.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 783 of 890 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There are too many things to go into detail which are unpleasant. The website does not match the rooms! Apparently the bar/restaurant was "closed" due to reconstruction however through ovr posts I realise this has been the case for a while. Our friends were kind enough to help us in with our luggage and embarrassingly the receptionist was rude to them, my partner and I! I actually work in the hotel industry and the customer service is disgusting especially from the moody, grungy woman with short blonde hair! This hotel should not be a 3 star firstly, secondly I feel the health and safety/appropriate authorities be contacted and immediately amend the website as it is a false description be amended! Finally this hotel is more like a prison, the staff especially the woman needs to be sacked?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money; easy access to Venice center; friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Breakfast was not worth the price, the bread and cakes were stale.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014

Liked: It's clean and the rooms are really good. Not luxurious as they describe, but really clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The hotel looks much more amazing than it really is. I don't mean it's a bad hotel, but it's just not what they describe. The directions are really confusing and I had to call them to find the place to take the bus. They say it's just outside the train station, but you have to walk almost 1 km to find the bus station. Not intuitive at all. I also didn't like a fee they created. It was 2 euros a day per person. They say it goes to the Italian government and they refused to give me the receipt for this fee. I don't like when I have to pay more than I was expecting.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Manuela Klaus

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: Near to Venice

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, small rooms with small window, no aircondition, rally bad breakfast, toiletts were not clean at all

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Harriet Ruddleston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014

Liked: This hotel is good if you want somewhere affordable to stay that is near the train station and offers a shuttle to and from Venice Island. The shuttle bus is three euros per trip.

Disliked: The service was awful. The blonde lady who greeted us did so with such an unpleasant attitude it soured our whole stay. This hotel is nice enough and an affordable price but the unhelpful nature of the woman on the front desk soured our entire stay and thus means I cannot recommend this property. It is also important (if as a traveller you are relying on using the internet to make bookings etc) to note that the wifi signal is poor.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The young girl who did the welcome with us was just great! Exactly the person you need when you arrive tired from a long trip and charge you of energy in 10 minutes! She told us the things to do in the region, even she explained us in detail what to do in Venice. Thanks!

Disliked: The room is really dark, and be careful with the cupboard that doesn't fall on you ;)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jovana Vukotic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Jovana would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean, we get new towels every day

Disliked: Small room for 4 persons

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Rodrigues

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shuttle to Venice, quiet, clean,

Disliked: Cost of the breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful and accommodating. Provided shuttle service to and from Venice island, which was convenient and saved time.

Disliked: Slightly far from the city, but still easy to get around. Breakfast spread seemed slightly overpriced.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Carole-Anne Loiselle

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014

Liked: Not much... It was beautiful for the look.

Disliked: Shuttle always late, we waited an hour in the rain for the bus to come take us in Venice so we could go back to the hotel. It was a service we paid for. It happened twice. They wanted me to pay twice for the same bus. Lucky us, we kept the bill so we didn't pay twice for the same bad service. Very loud, at 1h in the morning, we still couldn't sleep because some kids were having lot of fun yelling and knocking at our door. We told them to stop at least 4 times...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nithya hebbal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Nithya would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, cozy decor.

Disliked: No WiFi in the room only in the common area.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014

Liked: It was secure and safe

Disliked: Very badly decorated, small rooms, uncomfortable beds and poor heating system.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Away from rush, but still accessible.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

OLESIA Shulzhenko

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 OLESIA would recommend this property

Liked: amazing interior and very lovely rooms, perfect value for money

Disliked: when we checked in around 14:30 room was still not ready

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, transport to airport, helpful staff

Disliked: wifi poor quality

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were great, very clean and confortable. Good service.

Disliked: The location is an issue, very far from the city but with a good transfer service

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfortable and spacy room

Disliked: mini fridge not working, need a car to go to the city, no free wifi

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Katherine Addicott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013

Liked: The cleanliness. It was designed very well, and had a good looking paint job outside.

Disliked: The ridiculous fee for everything. €2 for a map? I was given a map for free every other place. No free wifi? Never had that problem anywhere else. The unfriendly receptionist with the short blonde hair and bad attitude. Ive never met anyone so unhelpful in my life. In every other hostel the receptionists usually offer their advice about where to go.. When i asked this woman it was as if telling me was a chore she didnt have time for. She was incredibly rude, and ruined my mood right when we got there.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Minibus to and from Venice really handy and just a few euros. Buffet breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcoming staff...very relaxed. ...efficient Room was fab....breakfast was fine

Disliked: No hot food at breakfast. Use the shuttle to get in and out of venice and the airport The directions for arrival by public transport on the email are not presice. It give no alternative for getting back after the last shuttle at 9 30. There is the last two public buses No.53 from th bus station that cost 1.30 and it drops you on the main road which is about 10 mins fron the hotel. This alternative should be given along with taxi numbers in case of problems. You do need some mosquito repellent

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Amanda Leavitt

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 August 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The price

Disliked: Much further to venice then listed

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013

Liked: The buffet breakfast for 6E

Disliked: Paying for internet at a hotel, when it is standard in almost every other hostel/hotel that there is free wifi

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Micha? Garapich

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Micha? would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect hotel for active travellers - just for sleep.

Disliked: It was pretty expensive, but due to location (close to Venice) it's understandable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Bell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: It was basically a hotel and at a great price, it was a great place to come home to after a long day exploring. I think it a great hotel!

Disliked: There was no where to socialise. But other than that nothing.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels