We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel Iris

2 star Hotel | Sestiere San Polo 2910, Venice, Italy 30125

69.7% Overall Rating

63 out of 88 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2014)

"Great, charming location, quiet, very close to public transport, mostly very nice and helpful staff."

Read all Hotel Iris reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Haven Hostel
32.37 USD

Hostel 72.1% 36 reviews
Al Gallo
58.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.8% 21 reviews
Venice Academy
38.85 USD

Guesthouse 83.7% 164 reviews
Frari Apartment 1
51.79 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Ca' Contarini
16.83 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 948 reviews
B&B Ca'Contarini
51.79 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 9 reviews
Venice Resort
68.63 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 63 reviews
Frari Apartment 2
84.16 USD

Apartment 93.1% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

63 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Iris'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
63.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 85 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gülser Damar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Gülser would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, nice location and our room was with gondola sight.

Disliked: not an extreme bad things.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location good. Bar round the corner.

Disliked: Room very small, bed was rather uncomfortable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011

Liked: Breakfast:fresh coffee,juice,croissant,jam. Close to st.marks square,about 15 mins walk.

Disliked: Washroom and showers were shared,not very clean.No AC,only a fan. WiFi only available on the floor where there is the reception.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I never stayed, but I did pay! My flight was cancelled due to a strike in Italy and they were not very nice when I called to cancel the reservation. I will not go there!

Disliked: staff

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

NEIL O'RIORDAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011

Liked: Nothing, it's an overpriced dump.

Disliked: Where do I start?!! After initally sending my mate and I to a double room (having booked a twin), we then got a room that looked like something from the 1970s. Grubby, cracked walls, dirty floor, horrible decor/furnishings, tiny pokey bathroom. Overall just really dingy. Air conditioning was a disgrace - ridiculously noisy and completely ineffective unless you literally stood right next to it. We had to turn it off at night because of the noise and consequently didn't sleep as it was so warm. Not a good start! Mosquitoes - the room was rife with them. Wifi was only available from 11am - 11pm. Bizarre. Shower was erratic, going from very hot to very cold every 2 minutes. Price - way overpriced for what we got, but maybe that's just Venice.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011

Liked: It had a pretty good location. If you have not been to Venice before then expect to get lost, when you reach the hotel the thing to do would be to memorise the way to it from something heavily labelled like the Rialto bridge for example. That made it easy for us to find our way back each night.

Disliked: Staff were average, not a high level of enthusiasm that you would expect from a service dependant business.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel is located in a center of Venice so it was comfortable to reach all the famous places. Moreover, everything was really clean.

Disliked: When we stayed in the hotel it was in the process of reconstruction. So during the day time and mornings it was noisy. Room didn't have conditioning system and was very hot. It was difficult even to sleep during the night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011

Liked: There was a breakfast but it was not really good (only coffee & cruasan) + There were a lot of mosquitoes - we can't sleep the whole night

Disliked: There was a breakfast but it was not really good (only coffee & cruasan) + There were a lot of mosquitoes - we can't sleep the whole night

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location. right in the centre

Disliked: the staff were at times unfriently. the hot water wasn't working and their was constantly workers in the building. you could hear every noise possible

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our room was nice and clean and even though it wasn't an ensuite we still had a sink which was nice. the shared showers weren't that bad and there's free breakfast and free wifi (only in the lobby).

Disliked: a bit expensive for what you get but that's just the price in Venice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrienne Scott

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: The main reason to stay here is the location for sure. Easy walk to everywhere. Rooms are clean, staff are nice. A really good base for exploring Venice. Wifi on the ground floor, free (very) basic breakfast, Short walk from S. Toma water bus station.

Disliked: Not a lot going on at the place socially (more of a hotel- no common rooms etc). We didn't meet anyone else staying there. MASSIVE TIP: Go onto googlemaps and search for 'Hotel Iris' NOT the address they supply. Otherwise you will be wandering around lost for a long time! If you take the water bus to S. Toma, its only a couple of min walk from there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charles Boyd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms with good shower.

Disliked: Not a very social place

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jillian Cvengros

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Jillian would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location!

Disliked: Air conditioning and television didnt work, but neither of those were really necessary. "Breakfast" was drinks and bread. Yes free, but not filling.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No hot showers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was OK

Disliked: nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011

Liked: Its location was ok.

Disliked: It was very difficult to find. The room was small with just enough space for the bed and to walk to the bathroom. The room was not very clean either and the tv did not work. No guest computer to use. The breakfast is just bread with jam. It is not a nice hotel with any charm to it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 June 2011

Liked: - the staff was very helpfull

Disliked: - the room wasn't very clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kristina Arntz

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, large clean room for the price. It was nice.

Disliked: No wifi access.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location. Nice stuff.

Disliked: Not really easy to find. On google map make sure to write "hotel iris, venezia, ITA" and not only the post adress. Ask people around S. Toma to find the place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and neat, nice staff, great position.

Disliked: very thin walls, very noisy some nights from the bar and street. Breakfast not great but if you like bread for breakfast its ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Pass

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 March 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great value for money, bedrooms very nice

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hotel is really good lots of shops nearby and close to S.Toma waterbus stop. The breakfast is good too!

Disliked: The address given on the website is wrong, we had a hard time finding the place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great hospitality--the people were very nice. The coffee was wonderful and there was internet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good price for Venice, located near a waterbus stop

Disliked: the heating was on way too high

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. Room was clean and well presented. Sheets were made daily and bathroom cleaned.

Disliked: No television in room - despite fixures and cables on wall


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels