We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Al Gallo

3 star Hotel | Santa Croce 88, Calle del Forno, Venice, Italy 30135

80.8% Overall Rating

17 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2013)

Lina Aramburo González thinks…

"Great location. You can easily walk everywhere. The bathroom was clean and had everything we needed."

Read all Al Gallo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.42

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

City taxes are not included in the room price

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Venice Resort
67.99 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 63 reviews
Cimesinvale
32.07 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Frari Apartment 1
42.33 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Frari Apartment 2
64.14 USD

Apartment 93.1% 7 reviews
Hotel Locanda Salieri
69.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.1% 126 reviews
Hotel Albergo Marin
70.56 USD

Hotel 1 star 93.1% 274 reviews
Residenza Corte Canal-Ca'Dario
35.28 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 87 reviews
Apartments Venice
57.73 USD

Apartment 73.3% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

17 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Al Gallo'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.4%
Facilities
70.5%
Cleanliness
72.4%
Staff
83.8%
Value
73.3%
Safety
88.6%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nettes Personal und tolle Lage (nicht mitten im Touristen-Viertel).

Disliked: Das Bett hat seine besten Zeiten hinter sich.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 October 2013

Liked: N/A

Disliked: The bed was very uncomfortable! We booked a double sized bed and as a matter of fact when we were there, it was a big bed made by two small beds which was very uncomfortable to sleep on as a couple. The crack between two beds constantly slumps when one tends to turn to the middle of the bed. There were mosquitos at night and we were constantly waken up. We left our luggages at the reception after we checked out as our departure was in the late afternoon. When we came back to fetch the luggages and asked for the wifi password again before leaving, we were being declined with some shakey grounds which I think is very unfriendly! Also, nowhere had I seen that I had to pay the local Venice tax when I was booking the hotel on the hotelbooks, but we were asked to pay 2.5 euro per person per night for the local tax which I think is very unreasonable as we were not being informed before hand. It was def a mis-charging!!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lina Aramburo González

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 July 2013 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. You can easily walk everywhere. The bathroom was clean and had everything we needed.

Disliked: At night and sometimes durin the day there is nobody at the front desk, so when we arrived we had to wait 30 min till the person came. However, since they gave us a key from the front door this was no longer a problem. Also, sometimes in our room we had water falling from the ceiling.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anne Beagrie

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to Piazzo Roma

Disliked: Could do with new stair carpet

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Carlos Cabezas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012

Liked: Not in the middle of the tourist area.

Disliked: NO HEAT, NO HOT WATER, NO ENGLISH We checked into the hostel and were greeted by a woman that spoke no english. We were placed in an attic room but it was freezing so we were moved to a room on the first floor which was warmer but still cold enough that I didn't take my coat off. We asked the woman at the desk if she could turn the heat on since it was 42 degrees Fahrenheit outside. Somehow in my broken Spanish I understood that a man had to come and turn the heat on but that he could only come the following day. Hoping for the best, we asked for more blankets and left to see the city. That night the room was absolutely an ice box (no one at the front desk to talk to) and we slept in our coats, scarves and gloves under 3 blankets and were still freezing. The next morning I woke up sick with a cold and sore throat. I got up and went to take a shower but 5 mins in with shampoo in my hair and suds on my body, the water went ice cold. My husband went down to inform the front desk and the lady said to wait 20 mins. So I sit on the toilet with a towel and wet hair in a freezing room waiting for hot water. After 30 mins of waiting there is still no hot water. At this point I have had enough of the cold and we pack up and left. At the front desk there was now a man who spoke English, he returned our money (except the cost of one night which he would not give us a discount for even though the website stated heat and hot water were provided) but didn't seem to care too much about our discomfort.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xingchen LI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Xingchen would recommend this property

Liked: la chambre est grande et tres bien équipée ,le Mesieur de cet hotel est tres sympa et gentil;il y a aussi du café libre;location tres bien

Disliked: Xingchen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, had a/c, free coffee, free wifi connections, easy to find

Disliked: Bed was a bit lumpy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eric Schub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

17 July 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome and amazing property. It was very clean and it felt like I was living in a old ancient Venetian property. The location is really close to the terminal and it is within walking distance from the main attraction .

Disliked: The directions weren't very accurate to get to the hotel. So if you are using their directions , use the landmarks . The direction of the hotel with respect of the canal and water seemed very inconsistent. Secondly the map they give of the city is not a very good map .... If they could somehow provide a more accurate map it would be perfect !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ace location, lovely staff (friendly, informative, English speaking), nice room, Italian football on Channel 58 most evenings, clean, quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Mrinal Shahi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Mrinal would recommend this property

Liked: The room was neat and clean and at a good location.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tugce Atak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Tugce would recommend this property

Liked: You can find the hostel very easily with their adress discription on website. You can reach the bus stop to go airport in 5 min.They are really helpfull and friendly. Room's atmosphere is really pretty. I can suggest Al Gallo who wants quiet, clean and safety place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Charlene Marchand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Charlene would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good Staff was great

Disliked: My room was like an attic and smelled musty...very small My password for wifi ran out at 8pm and there is no front desk from 6pm to 8am venice is VERY expensive for accomodations..it was fine for two nights but no longer

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

khin foong chen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 khin foong would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: No air condition, quite old

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alta Keyter

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 March 2011 Alta would recommend this property

Liked: To start the directions was brilliant. We found the hotel very easy. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was very clean, comfortable and a nice size. All the big sites and public transport are easily accessible from the hotel. Lots of little family run restaurants in the area. We had a fantastic stay. Will highly recommend the hotel!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was nice- very clean and had a great bathroom and shower which was brand new! Good location right on the island for the price that we paid, however beware of grumpy man that works the front desk. We were told breakfast was not free but everyone else in the hotel was eating for free in the morning... odd?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, fantastic location. The only thing I'd say is that we initially booked a room on hostelbookers under the impression that it had a 24 hour check in (you could select the check in time when booking), however I recieved an email shortly after, saying that the latest check in was 8pm for the room we had booked. We were flying in at 10.30pm! Al Gallo was very sympathetic however we had to upgrade to a room with a bathroom in order for them to wait for us to arrive. The manager was great when we finally did arrive. We called when we landed and he was very nice and helpful with directions. Make sure you print out a map though, and ask the bus driver to point you in the right direction!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 June 2009

Liked: In Venice, at least you don't need to travel in for the day. Hot, hot, hot and pigeons flew at our window nonstop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels