We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels

Reviews of Hotel Caneva

1 star Hotel | Calle de la Fava, 5515, Venice, Italy 30122

65.1% Overall Rating

43 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2012)

"The location had an outside gate which was great, made me feel very secure. also there is a living room, much like a common area, this is nice when you have others over and do not want to let them pass to the room."

Read all Hotel Caneva reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation policy: 3 DAYS NOTICE**** We accept Visa and Mastercard. No American express, no diners, no debit card. The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit card before arrival

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice

Hotel Alla Fava
84.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.9% 26 reviews
Hotel Astoria
47.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.6% 69 reviews
Boutique San Marco
51.79 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 41 reviews
Emerald Palace Hostel
38.85 USD

Hostel 71.8% 52 reviews
Sweet Venice
51.79 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Lion Morosini Palace
55.03 USD

Hotel 80.5% 6 reviews
Albergo San Samuele
59.82 USD

Hostel 85.7% 306 reviews
Locanda Barbarigo
64.09 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.1%

Overall Rating

43 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Caneva'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
60.8%
Value
61.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 54 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: This was one of the worst "Hotels" I have stayed at. you could feel the springs in your mattress. The towels were like sandpaper. Reception was rude. Noisy in your room. They brought people to my room for theirs once upon arrival. The toilet shot water all over the bathroom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Location

Disliked: Very basic

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Thais Uzun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013

Liked: Nothing good

Disliked: The owner tried to charge extra money from my credit card. He was also very unpolite. Be careful if you wish to stay in this hotel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012

Liked: Only the location

Disliked: There was no air conditioning in the room which in a city with so much humidity this is not acceptable. The staff was extremely rude to the point where we were accused of trying to avoid paying for the breakfast for the one morning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luciana Moura

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 July 2012

Liked: Localização.

Disliked: Internet apenas no saguão do hotel, nosso quarto era num prédio diferente, na verdade não é um hotel, e sim uma pensão num prédio muito velho e umido. O quarto para quatro pessoas era absurdamente pequeno, as camas não eram confortáveis e o cheiro não era muito agradável. Pelo menos tinhamos banheiro no quarto.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012

Liked: Free wifi in the lobby and location that was about it.

Disliked: We arrived and were not even greeted by the man at reception, he simply demanded our passports. We were then taken out of the hotel into a back section which was far more like a hostel behind a locked gate that would have been extremely dangerous if there was a fire. The room was very basic with old beds and furntiure and a tacky old bathroon. No views of canels or anything except a brick wall making the room very dark. We were bitten by mosquitos all night the first night and asked for some repellent for the second night which the lady at reception did provide. Beds were saggy and a general bad feel about the place. Other part of the hotel looked nicer but we felt ripped off for the price we paid and were put in this other section. Fortunately it was close to all the sites.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location had an outside gate which was great, made me feel very secure. also there is a living room, much like a common area, this is nice when you have others over and do not want to let them pass to the room.

Disliked: The room did not come with any accommodations for food, such as a refrigerator. Also, there is one restroom to be shared within all the guests on the floor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alysia Madan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2011 Alysia would recommend this property

Liked: Read reviews that people were mean, not the case...everyone was nice and helpful. Excellent location/close to main area and vaporetto stop.

Disliked: Overpriced for what came with the room. Internet only in main reception area, which for us, we had to go outside and into the adjacent building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wynand Smit

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Wynand would recommend this property

Liked: Very good in all aspects. Very nice, helpful and friendly staff. Recommended. En suite bathroom minute! We will stay here again.

Disliked: nil

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

10 August 2011

Liked: Nice staff and a GREAT location.

Disliked: The pre-authorisation of my credit card is still on. Its said it takes up to 1 month until I will get the money

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011

Liked: the night watchman was friendly and very nice. we stayed till late to use the internet but he pleasantly accomodated to our timing. the location was very convenient.

Disliked: the first thing when we entered the room, we felt that the floor was tilted. the furnishing was like a picture out of a 70s show. at night we could literally feel the whole building swaying to the waves from the canal. the corridor was ghostly and the toilet was incredibly far from the room. the path to the hotel was dimly lit and hard to find. given the price(although venice is touristy) it is hardly value for money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sze yuen wu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

30 June 2011 sze yuen would recommend this property

Liked: price is low

Disliked: without breakfast no fan or air conditioner.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

saminathan govindasamy

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011

Liked: Unexpectedly, free wireless internet was available in the lobby..!!!

Disliked: The only black spot in my Venice trip...wouldn't be looking to stay again there...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Looks very nice from the outside. Old building and plants and It gives and Romeo and Juliet atmosphere. Our rm has a view Of a pretty canal. Inside the room it's not so charming. But it's clean and sAfe

Disliked: hOpe the inside of the rm is nicer and more comfy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center.

Disliked: check in after 1PM, We arrive Venice at 6AM, we can't check in and can't take shower after overnight train trip! NoTV set in the room. There is not kitchen in hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Rush

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and friendliness of staff

Disliked: bathroom outside of room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan Antonio Pulido

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

31 August 2010 Juan Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Location, it was close to most important places of the city.

Disliked: It is not a "dislike" but you could lose easily, but I think it may have happened to most of the tourists, even with the map we have lost ourselves everyday, hahahaha (per San Marco, per Rialto).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of Venice

Disliked: slightly hard to find

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good to have aircon in Venice. Really good location as well

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a good location near to the Rialto bridge and St Marks Square. Its probably the cheapest place you'll find in Venice.

Disliked: Its expensive for what it is, breakfast wasn't great, the room was quite small and the shower didn't fit onto the wall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joanna hey

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 August 2010 joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big room and view over the canal. Excellent value for money. Even breakfast was included.

Disliked: Could only book 2 nights, would liked to have stayed longer

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its is in a part of venice that gives you access to the rest of venice. the room had a nice view of the water. it offer a big breakfast with range of things to choose from

Disliked: the shower was really small and wasn't really room. its not really the type of place you meet new people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, and staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. Our room had a balcony overlooking a canal which was lovely. The included breakfast was nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Venice hostels
See all Venice hotels