HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Giovannina

1 star Hotel | Via Dante 113, Venice Mestre, Italy 30175

65.4% Overall Rating

382 out of 564 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

"Cheaper than staying in Venice. Really close to the hotel. Sink in room. Very clean bathroom!"

Read all Hotel Giovannina reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Venice Mestre?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Venice Mestre

Villa Ricordi BB
55.77 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Piave
32.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.1% 48 reviews
B&B Confort
36.75 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 3 reviews
Hotel da Tito
39.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Vidale
23.62 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 78.9% 27 reviews
Train Station Hostel
21.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Centrale
23.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 62 reviews
Hotel al Vivit
68.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.4%

Overall Rating

382 out of 564 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Giovannina'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
71.2%
Value
64.0%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 310 of 394 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Mestre train station, easy access - literally 5 minutes walk.

Disliked: Stayed there in 2011 and now in 2014 and nothing, absolutely nothing has changed. If you're on a budget and don't mind the most basic facilities, go for it. Don't even think of any luxuries, WiFi is just as much as you will get. City tax of 1 euro is not advertised on the profile, so expect to pay for this. I stayed for one night only so I think it's 1 euro/night. Wouldn't recommend staying there longer anyway.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station and shops

Disliked: It was discusting! The room was really dirty! Me and my partner got bitten by bed bugs!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheaper than staying in Venice. Really close to the hotel. Sink in room. Very clean bathroom!

Disliked: In a very shady town. Sheets were not clean, but was given a new sheet. Bathroom down the hall, but no problems.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chun-Ping Huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Chun-Ping would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great! 5 mins by walk from station. The room is clean. The price is not so expensive.

Disliked: Sometimes I couldn't get Wifi signal in my room, then I have to go down to lobby to use internet.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ettore ruggieri

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 ettore would recommend this property

Liked: liked mainly the conversation with the owner Massimo! then: location, clean bed, clean toilette, GOOD price, but dirty floor...

Disliked: the floor of the room was dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nurjanah Anisah Hidayati

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Nurjanah Anisah would recommend this property

Liked: excellent

Disliked: there's nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rita Tadi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 October 2013 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: bathroom could be cleaner

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 October 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Two of the three front desk staff were absolute sexist. They smiled and joked with any female guests. When it comes to male guests, they snared at them and slammed the key on the desk when you asked for it. Asking for a receipt was even worst. They asked why do you need a receipt and it took him 20 minutes to get off his cell phone to do it. The bed was ok, but the shower in the room leaks into the bedroom. When you asked for anything to mop it up myself, they asked for cash. I said I'm going the work and I'm not asking you to do it. They replied the room is what it is. You're paying what you get. The only good thing is the location. Can't beat that if you need a convenient overnight stay. Hope this helps!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Hanna Hahorna

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 October 2013

Liked: clean bad

Disliked: very dirty inside and noisy near hotel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no heating

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

INDRA HASMEDY

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 INDRA would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap rate with very strategic location. Just 5 minutes walk to Mestre station and airport bus. There are two Halal food restaurant and also Masjid (Moschea) near the hotel.

Disliked: No elevator and limited acces of internet. Not 24 hours and slow connection.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right next the Mestre train station which made travel in and out of Venice really easy. The room we stayed in was clean, the bathrooms were tiny but clean.

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby, the staff was perfectly helpful and kind to my Italian travel partner but rude to me when I asked questions. The front desk guy openly made fun of me in Italian to my Italian-speaking friend. The place in general is kind of sketchy but if you're just looking for a cheap bed in an expensive city- this is adequate.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gizem Yüksel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2013 Gizem would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to Mestre train station (not Santa Lucia), but be aware that it's difficult to see the sign of Via Dante (the street on which the hotel situated). The staff was very polite and funny, he also gave us a map and marked the places to visit. Rooms were clean, had hot showers. It's not on the isle, but 10-15 minutes by train. The hotels/hostels on the isle are very expensive, so I think Hotel Giovannina is worth the money you give.

Disliked: There is no lift. Wifi access is only in the lobby and until 1 a.m. Rooms don't have air conditiners and net for mosquitoes. Shower was a bit small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mahmudur Rahman Saniat

Alone

City break

20 July 2013 Mahmudur Rahman would recommend this property

Liked: In peak season, for Venice region - one of the Best Deal.

Disliked: No AC, Fan not always available, mosquitos (no way to prevent them - no nets).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Rafael Escarameia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean. The hostel is very near to the Mestre railway station.

Disliked: The bathroom is not so good. There is one bathroom for more than 10 people, and that may be a problem when comes the check out time. The lugagge deposit means that you can put your lugagge on the floor of the entrance. It was very expensive for the quality of the service.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Corinne Bidmead

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013

Liked: Friendly reception staff. Easy and close to train station to get into Venice.

Disliked: A little noisy at night and no air conditioning, very hot

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

YAUHENI VASILEUSKI

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 YAUHENI would recommend this property

Liked: Не плохой отель, немного уюта не хватает, а так в целом норм

Disliked: YAUHENI left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hussam Hebbo

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2013 Hussam would recommend this property

Liked: The price is very good according to what you get

Disliked: The place is not really god

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013

Liked: Nothing, couldnt wait to leave.

Disliked: Disgusting, uncomfortable, unsanitary...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

larisa bursuker

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013

Liked: 1. THE LOACATION IS REALY CLOSE TO MESTRE TRAIN STATION AND CITY CENTER. 2. THE CHEAPEST ACCOMANDATION AROUND.

Disliked: 1. NO LIFT. 2. THE CLEANINESS. 3. THE BATHROOM IS OLD AND POOR

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013

Liked: Location to Venezia Mestre train station, 5 minutes walk

Disliked: General run down feeling of the hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pamela Arzabe Espejo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice hotel with dorms! the staff was very friendly and they help us a lot, there is a coffe machine in the reception. Our rooms had a private bathroom and there was another one in the hallway. The bus stop is close hotel 5 min walking.

Disliked: My bunk bed was broken, it was nailed to the wall what the nail or screws were loose, it was a little scary since my brother was sleeping on the bottom bunk. I told that to the staff and they fixed it for the night but the next mornning was still loose. Our bathroom was a little dirty and the lock didn't work, we could hear hat people was doing in the bathrooms!!! but we had another one in the hallway so there was no much problems.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013

Liked: Good location, near the station

Disliked: No wifi in room and no wifi provide after mid night. 10:30 need to check out

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ismael fabregas

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013

Liked: A tip: this is mestre not venice, so the location is not very important except to say that the hotel is located less than five minutes away from the train station and from where a lot of intercity buses depart.

Disliked: not very clean, passable but left something to be desired. no a/c. Is a converted hotel, so no individual outlets or night lights. For the money is ok to poor and not for extended stays. maybe one or two nights. No breakfast included or place to cook

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Muhammad Prayoga Permana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Muhammad Prayoga would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location if that's your criteria! The hostel is reachable in less than 10 minutes walk from the Venice Mestre Station. Its also affordable compared to another accommodation

Disliked: The facility was very basic; The hostel's wifi signal could not be detected from my room. Fortunately, I could free ride other's unlocked wifi from the surrounding neighborhood; A very small private bathroom