We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Turin hostels

Reviews of Hotel Diplomatic

4 star Hotel | Via Cernaia, 42, Turin, Italy 10122

89.1% Overall Rating

16 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2015)

johannes peters thinks…

"The hotel is located on a rather busy road near the modern Porta Susa railway station, but you will not suffer from the noise of trains or traffic. If you still need to book a hotel this area is more…"

Read all Hotel Diplomatic reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

City tax not included: € 3,70 per person/night

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Turin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Turin

ECO ART HOTEL STATUTO
28.62 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 91.1% 9 reviews
Hotel Artua'&Solferino
26.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Italia
34.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.3% 18 reviews
Hotel Montevecchio
28.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.7% 69 reviews
Albergo San Carlo
38.93 USD

Hostel 85.0% 44 reviews
Hotel Due Mondi
37.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 70.6% 64 reviews
Hotel Centro
32.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.0% 134 reviews
Tomato Backpackers Hotel
24.27 USD

Hotel 90.6% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

16 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Diplomatic'

Atmosphere
83.8%
Location
92.5%
Facilities
86.3%
Cleanliness
90.0%
Staff
86.3%
Value
91.3%
Safety
93.8%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

johannes peters

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 August 2015 johannes would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located on a rather busy road near the modern Porta Susa railway station, but you will not suffer from the noise of trains or traffic. If you still need to book a hotel this area is more preferable than the grey neighborhood of Porta Nuova railway station. This hotel is ideally situated because of its entrance to the city center and the different transport links. There are many (good) restaurants in the neighbourhood (see tips below). Entering the hotel you are in a large hall with on your right the desk and on you left the lounge and the bar. At the end of the hall there is a computer with printer which you can use for free and in the whole hotel there is free wifi, alas somewhat unstable. Staff at the desk is kind and helpful and check in/check out went very smoothly. The hotel started renovating their rooms (starting at the first floor), but we had a room in the old part on the 5th. Floor (503). It is a rather large, very quiet room with an excellent box-spring bed. There is only one bed side table and bed side lamp, so the person at the left side is not able to read a book. The air-conditioner works very well but is somewhat noisy. As the room stays cool for a long time after using the airco, it is not always necessary to have the airco switched on at night. The window is very well soundproofed. There is a rather large working table with a TV above it. . The room has also a minibar, but there is no price list. In the small hall to your room there is a large linen cup board with a safe in it. The bathroom is rather large with a bathtub, a separate shower, a washstand, a hairdryer, a bidet, a toilet and several kinds of toiletries. The shower cabin is extremely small with the soap dish far above your head. Water pressure is sometimes low. We did not use the bathtub. There are 3 towels per person which, completely unnecessary and against their own rules, are changed every day. Bathroom and room are impeccable clean. The hot/cold breakfast buffet is sure to Italian standard good.There are two kinds of juices and, instead of fresh fruit, there is a fruit bowel. The hot breakfast buffet consisted of scrambles eggs and ham. There is yoghurt and milk and two kinds of cereals, and cheese and ham as well. Although breakfast time is till 10.30 hrs. some of the food/drink is not replenished after 10.00 o’clock. We did not have diner in the hotel, but if so, you can have a 3-course menu at 19 euro.   Would we return to this hotel? Yes, although we have some reservations, the positive aspects are decisive: excellent location, we slept very well, there is a good working airco. Be aware that the price in April/May is about 300 à 400 euro a night, what it isn’t worth. Torino is a great city with many parks, buildings, terraces and restaurants. Especially the Parco del Valentino with its Borgo e rocca medievale (a medieval castle) is very recommendable. It looks like Torino is not really discovered by tourists. It was one of the rare times that we had the feeling that we have seen too little in five days. Tip 1: near the hotel there is a very cheap and excellent restaurant called Maxipiatto, via Passalacqua 4 at the corner of the via Boucheron (leaving the hotel you go to the right and again to the right). Try the Trota Salmonate con Mandorle (10 euro), the Scalloppina al vino bianco (9,50 euro) or the Insalata Nizzarda (7,00 euro); they all are great. A very agreeable white wine costs 8 euro a liter. Tip 2: a very good Italian restaurant in the same street is Da Salvo; as is the Italian restaurant opposite hotel Diplomatic. Tip 3: via Passalacqua 4 runs out into Piazza Statuto. Go to the left and you’ll find bar/cremeria Alice, a very agreeable place to sit outside. The tradition is that if you order a drink you can have excellent appetizers for free in such a quantity that it will satisfy one’s hunger. Tip 4: as mentioned above, visit the Parco del Valentino, where you can also book a boat trip on the Po. Tip 5: very beautiful is the trip by cable way to Basilica di Superga. Bus nr. 15 brings you directly to the cable way.  

Disliked: unstable wifi; airco good be better

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Complimentary chocolate. Gluten free cup cakes for breakfast - though they were quite dry so I poured boiling water on them.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carole-Anne Loiselle

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Carole-Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely, staff was nice and spoke 3 languages very well, helped us with our touristic spots we wanted to visit, gave us a card and explain the best way to visit the city, etc. Good dinner for 19 euros, great atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Sheldrick

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2014 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome buffet breakfast!!! The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Igor Kurochkin

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

09 January 2014 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel is very good, breakfast is very good

Disliked: Igor left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is very nice. Their breakfast is wonderful and the rooms very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Jus the hotel is a little far to center. Nearly 20 minutes on foot.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ivan Ushev

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Spaceous and clean room, comfortable matraces and fairly good bed size.

Disliked: As we checked very late, shortly before midnight, the first one we stumbled upon was the reception guy, who was quite unfriendly and arrogant. I suppose he wouldn't treat German or French guests of the hotel the way he did in our case after he had a look in our IDs (issued in Bulgaria), but not knowing that we actually live in Germany and that we are used to a much warmer and friendlier salutation. He didn't even smile at us, not even briefly. To the question about the wireless internet connection he handed out a tiny piece of paper with the user name & password without even smiling or saying a word, what was pretty shocking... Fortunately, the room was spacious and clean enough and the next morning we experienced a much kinder young lady at the check - out, so eventually the hotel turned out to be a good value fot the money. Nevertheless, I wouldn't even think of comparing it to the other 4-star-hotels I've been at :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Zapata

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the property and the location was Excelent, the included breakfast was in deed very good and buffet style and there were parking facilities half a block away

Disliked: Nicolas left no negative feedback.


See all Turin hostels