We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of President Hotel Splendid

3 star Hotel | Via Cappuccini, 10, Taormina, Italy 98039

82.2% Overall Rating

30 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2012)

"Hotel Splendid was a clean, pleasant place to stay. Staff were polite and helpful when you needed anything. The pool was a welcome addition, as you have to take a cable car down to the beach. We also had a large…"

Read all President Hotel Splendid reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

from the 01/11/2009 till 10/04 2010 we will be opened in modality bed and breakfast, that is without service of front desk, and is obligatory to leave said approximately time of check-in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taormina?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taormina

Hostel Taormina
22.64 USD

Hostel 89.3% 58 reviews
B&B MELANY
44.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Isoco Guesthouse
65.78 USD

Guesthouse 96.0% 42 reviews
Taormina City Center Apartments
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 9 reviews
Casa Rupilio
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 66.6% 19 reviews
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
88.55 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3 reviews
Taormina's Odyssey
20.24 USD

Hostel 84.2% 31 reviews
Villa Regina
35.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.0% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

30 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'President Hotel Splendid'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 31 reviews
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matthew Holdgate

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, view from the terrace and the location.

Disliked: Air conditioning not included in the room rate, there are fans in the bedrooms but in July this is not enough. Wifi not available in the rooms, only in reception and the pool. Not a large variety in breakfast( no fruit)hard croissant, disgusting juices.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that it was close to the main street and it had a splendid view.

Disliked: The terrace needs an update. Rather disappointed with the family room as it had no view, however, ample space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geraldine Thornton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

31 July 2012 Geraldine would recommend this property

Liked: It was very spacious and clean, in a great area and gorgeous!

Disliked: The hills you have to walk up (buts that is coming from a very lazy girl)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2012

Liked: Hotel Splendid was a clean, pleasant place to stay. Staff were polite and helpful when you needed anything. The pool was a welcome addition, as you have to take a cable car down to the beach. We also had a large balcony, which on the fifth floor, gave us a nice view of the bay.

Disliked: We had to pay an extra 10 euros for the air conditioning, which in july, you obviously need. Also, the breakfast was a bit bland, and the coffee served was terrible. Overall, the reasons why I wouldn't recommend Hotel Splendid are because it lacks charm. It is a very generic, forgettable place to stay, nothing stood out as great, and I don't think the staff went to any particular effort to ensure your stay was memorable. Other smaller B&Bs we stayed at in Sicily offered much better customer service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Lo Bartolo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, most of the staff were very helpful

Disliked: The night staff were not very informed about the hotel's policies etc.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice and the balcony offered a wonderful view of the sea. They provided a nice breakfast buffet.

Disliked: The roads were narrow and challenging walking along with traffic.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

02 July 2011

Liked: not a real lot and would not stay there again

Disliked: the fact that they charge 10 euro for aircon - it really should be included in the price and provided! The fitout was average and needs redoing and the overall feel of the place was very old and run down.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpfull staff. Nice rooms, in 70s style. Nice location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikolett Nagygal

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

07 September 2010 Nikolett would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place, very kindly people, fantastic landscape!!

Disliked: I like everything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room: no air condition, but there was a fan above the bed, which was enough. The room was nice and clean, acceptable furniture.Location: pleasant surroundings, close to the center.

Disliked: No real coffee (meaning: cappuccino) for breakfast! Incredible in Italy, but they served instant coffee.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nice stuff, excellent coffee in the morning, rooms are a bit small and could be a tiny bit cleaner, but in general a good place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Ashton

21 September 2009 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Great sea view from our room and for breakfast. staff very helpful. Bar at night was very cheap, especially by Taormina standards (eg beer 2.50 euro whereas beer in bars in town was 4 euros). Mini supermarket down the road for supplies. Breakfast decent but the same every day. Very affordable by Taormina standards - Taormina was the most expensive place we stayed in Sicily. Try not to stay on the 3rd floor though as the breakfast room is on the 4th floor and you hear chairs scraping on the floor overhead from 7.30am. Was a little noisy some nights, with people arriving home late from the bars. There was only be three parking spaces out the front of the hotel, which were free, but seemed to be no other parking around the hotel - streets were very narrow, so could not park on the street.

Disliked: Dean left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: don't know what to say about this hotel as we were moved to another hotel upon check in due to no rooms available. the hotel we ended up staying at was called Soleado and the staff and owner were very nice to us

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walk to town, great views, great pool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All they need is wifi and it would have been perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was only a short walk from the centre of town. Parking was good but can imagine it would be quite crowded in high season. The apartment was very clean. The pool was nice with amazing views across the coast to the sea.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Belinda Tucker

17 March 2008 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: The views are wonderful, the lady at the front desk was so very helpful and the rooms were lovely. Including underfloor heating in the bathroom! The only thing we didn't like was breakfast - not worth going upstairs for. Everything else was great.

Disliked: Belinda left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 September 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the dining room over the bay was fantastic. The hotel was good value. A friend and I booked a twin and got a triple. It was very clean and the staff were friendly and spoke good English.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 August 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the swimming pool, our balcony view, the location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tessa bindloss

16 July 2007 tessa would recommend this property

Liked: room with large balconygreat sea view

Disliked: tessa left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 April 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Lenny Nigro

11 April 2007

Liked: Position was great - thats it.

Disliked: Lenny left no negative feedback.