HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel Montestella

1 star Hotel | Via Palestro 88, Rome, Italy 00185

71.4% Overall Rating

331 out of 538 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/10/2011)

Nadia Rivet thinks…

"Beautiful room for 3 peoples. The breakfast was good after i request that the internet site was saying breakfast include the staff gave us one breakfast free."

Read all Hotel Montestella reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.70

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Anakin
21.60 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.0% 370 reviews
Hotel Gabriella
40.49 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Stargate Hostel
20.25 USD

Hostel 81.5% 783 reviews
Hotel Aristotele
33.74 USD

Hotel 85.7% 6 reviews
Cristina Dependance
29.69 USD

Guesthouse 82.2% 274 reviews
Serendipity Hostel
26.99 USD

Apartment 81.2% 7 reviews
Eurorooms
24.29 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 26 reviews
Funny Palace
37.78 USD

Hostel 89.3% 569 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

331 out of 538 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Montestella'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 265 of 290 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014

Liked: The kind staff, close to train station.

Disliked: Having to pay with cash, the wifi not working/only works in kitchen for an hour a day, no towels, people smoking inside, bad elevator and stairs

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jing Ren Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014 Jing Ren would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, overall clean place

Disliked: Poor location, poor wifi in reception, no wifi in rooms.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2012

Liked: The room was nice enough, but over priced.

Disliked: The staff told me I was sent an email to say there had been a mistake with my booking. I have checked, I never received an email. They blamed hostel bookers and said it happened often.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Adrian Ramos

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2012

Liked: Close to the train station.

Disliked: Very unfriendly staff, bordering rude. No luggage storage (although advertised). We had two rooms, a double and a twin. The twin was correct, the double was EXTREMELY and ridiculously small (almost not even enough space to leave the suitcase), with an equally small bathroom (shower almost on top of WC).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and big rooms!

Disliked: No parking available!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nadia Rivet

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful room for 3 peoples. The breakfast was good after i request that the internet site was saying breakfast include the staff gave us one breakfast free.

Disliked: Staff angry that we don't have the exact money. We had just 50 euros. He was impatient when i told him that on internet there wasn't the good information. We had a real argument. But i have to say that 5 min after he when at our room to excuse is attitude that he was very tired.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Barry Blair slingerland

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Barry Blair would recommend this property

Liked: location was good, close to the train station

Disliked: a little confusing to fins at first, found bed to be very hard, not enough pillows

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

04 September 2011

Liked: nothing!

Disliked: The service was awful and it did not match the descriptions in the website!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, friendly service

Disliked: No free wifi

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Vijaykumar S Kinchi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Vijaykumar S would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff....

Disliked: no free internet.....

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011

Liked: i was closed to the termini sation and it makes trip convenient

Disliked: the point that i couldn'tt use the internet in my room, and there was also a limited time for using it at the lounge. Also, the time for breakfast was so short and it start bit late, so i only could have it once during 3 nights stay. the staff was NOT so nice neither.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Felipe Hickmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011

Liked: Bathroom was private, nice and clean. Linen and beds were new. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: Very small room to fit 5 people. It's in the same old building as other 3 or 4 hotels - some of them with more than one name. Montestella, for example, is actually called Stargate. The whole thing is quite confusing, but I guess it is pretty much the same in any other hotel in the area around Termini.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent, 5 min walk from termini station...

Disliked: small rooms for five people- you cant have any comfort, it could be cleaner. broken shower doors, and some long black hair on the sheets... room had a small fridge, but the access to it was jammed by the beds...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to the terminal station

Disliked: Unable to find the parking

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fair price

Disliked: not so nice to walk at night tothe hostel

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2010

Liked: Clean, location next to the Termini railway station

Disliked: Walls of the rooms are too thin. Noisy neighbours. Too many hostels and hotels in the same building.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was close to the Termini train station even though it was not in the best part of town. I did not feel unsafe, really. It was nice to have a metro stop (in the train station) so close.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rosario Arias

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

22 September 2010 Rosario would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to remini station. very clean and nice rooms. however to save money they added an extra bed to a room that was fitted for just 2.

Disliked: They have a very small sign outside of the building so it was difficult for us to find it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great value for money, clean and spacious room, with towels, good bed, fridge and AC - recommended!

Disliked: Need to ask for stargate hotel, not Montestella hotel

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hannah Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very helpful to us for finding places to go for our age range.

Disliked: a bit of a walk from the main part of rome which wasnt the worst thing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Rude staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elliott Kwong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Elliott would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were huge and even had a table in the middle, the staff were helpful with every problem we had. It was very well situated from Termini station and close to all the major attractions.

Disliked: The water and electric went on the blink one night so we had to shower in the freezing cold. A minor hiccup though.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2010

Liked: it was good location.

Disliked: there was dusty and there was a lot of warms.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2010

Liked: May be the bugs that exist everywhere are better than the staff there~!!!

Disliked: Everything~!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and provided the necessities. For 5 of us, we got a 5-bed room (4 of the beds are bunked) and a private bathroom. We didn't spend much time there, but it was a nice place to come back to sleep.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels