We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Pensione Maggiore

2 star Hotel | Piazza Di Santa Maria Maggiore, nr 12, Rome, Italy 00185

79.2% Overall Rating

38 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2014)

Galo Spinelli thinks…

"Good location, nice building and a nice bedroom, with a bathroom in good conditions and everything really clean. I recommend it and in two weeks we are again in Rome and I already booked the 1 night…"

Read all Pensione Maggiore reviews

Facilities

  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Express check-in / out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 64.73
  • Breakfast USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

A surcharge applies for arrivals after reception has closed, unless you have chosen to use the airport pick-up service of Maggiore GuestHouse. All requests for late arrival must be confirmed by the property. In the case that the guest arrive before the check in time (14:00) can leave the luggage with us We offer continental breakfast wit a little extra cost of 2,00 Euro per person The payment must to be done in cash at the arrival In the price is not included the city tax 2,00 per day per person Fot the Hostel Bookers guest a special 15% discount in the restaurant “Forchetta D’oro” near the guesthouse Cancellation policy 72 hrs before the day of arrival (13 :00 local time)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Giubileo
45.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 83 reviews
Casa Della Amicizia
45.31 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 90 reviews
Gaia B&B
34.96 USD

Guesthouse 75.5% 322 reviews
Blue Hostel
69.04 USD

Hostel 92.8% 125 reviews
Hotel Portafortuna
38.84 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
B&B Smart
45.31 USD

Guesthouse 96.5% 261 reviews
Hotel Farini
45.31 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Buonarroti Home
49.20 USD

Apartment 89.0% 127 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

38 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pensione Maggiore'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Galo Spinelli

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

09 August 2014 Galo would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice building and a nice bedroom, with a bathroom in good conditions and everything really clean. I recommend it and in two weeks we are again in Rome and I already booked the 1 night more.

Disliked: We didn't have a sheet in bed, only the big one you put over the summer sheet. But was not a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOHN BUTCHER

Alone

Events / festivals

05 August 2014 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Super friendly staff, very professional and welcoming.

Disliked: I did not like that I have never been here before and only had one night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Termini,only 5 minute walk,staff great,extra clean.,There is no kitchen in the pansion,but there is cafe downstairs and food store right across the square so that`s not really a problem,.It is a bit noisy,but that`s Italy during the summer,All in all,I would definetely recommend it.For the price perfect :D

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really in center or Rome, easy to walk everywhere.

Disliked: Minor gaps in furniture state and doors.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

EVANGELOS CHRISTOPOULOS

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 EVANGELOS would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap for this area.

Disliked: The room was small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Pachal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the interior of the room. The sheets weren't the cleanest, but the room was very cool and modern-looking. It is located close to Termini station.

Disliked: The room might be hard to find.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect.

Disliked: The staff didn't speak English and even Italian very well and they made a mess of our stuff while cleaning (one of my friends had lost some clothes because of that). Wifi didn't work properly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

janet aristobil-adele

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 January 2014 janet would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fully renovated motel with lots of character in an excellent location right in the heart of Rome.

Disliked: It didn't have wifi

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, clean bathroom, you can easily go to tourism place and also easily access from station

Disliked: there is no signage mention the hostel and since it is located inside a building (i think apartment) so its hard to find the location. the wifi only could be found in lobby.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013

Liked: Location fairly close to metro and bus station. The cafe cottini where you get the breakfast is a great place to get coffee and danish or dessert in the evening, the staff is friendly and helful.

Disliked: Everything else.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were basic but clean and everything worked.

Disliked: Only had Wi-fi in the guest room and signal was not great.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joanne Scott

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The room had a dangerous tiled ramp from the foyer down to the sleeping area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Jia Law

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2013 Lee Jia would recommend this property

Liked: The private triple room we got is clean, spacious and nice. The location of this B&B is good as well as it is just 10 minutes walk to the Termini Station.

Disliked: It is kind of hard to find this B&B because it locates in a building. You have to look carefully at the door of the building to find out that this B&B is in it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice apartment type room, walking distance to major sights. bathroom was good size and cleaned daily. air conditioning. man at reception was very helpful and gave lots of information

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Shifty reception staff. The guy tacked on 20 euro in "late check-in fees". Robbery in broad daylight.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good price for the location and that state of the room. easy to find, cafes, shops, termini station and attractions nearby. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Disliked: you hear a little noise from the street, but it´s in Rome in general I think. but it was not such problem.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very godo location, clean, safety

Disliked: If You want a breakfast You have yo Pay, and our room are in Other building 5 minutes walking

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mimi Lee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Mimi would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, we had issues locating the entrance to the pension. The staff member called me on my cellphone and picked us up from a cafe close by. Hotels were very clean and comfortable. Overall highly recommended as price is unbeatable. And you get your money's worth.

Disliked: Some of the room appliances were broken early morning showers were impossible due to hot water shortages, so we had to shower in the afternoons or evenings. Windows didn't seem to be noise proof as pension, a bit loud during weekends.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Giuseppe Marino

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: We where positivly astonished how near it was to reach famous buildings.

Disliked: Giuseppe left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although, we arrive at the hostel afraid opf what we will find, we find a very good, and well-located hostel. The entrance of the hosstel was right in the Piazza San Maggiore as the owners write. Also, the room were as the pictures show. This hostel is located right in the centre of Rome, in the most popular sightseeings, and very close to the train station. All the distances referred to the site of the hostel are true. It is easy from this place to reach all the destinations on foot. The owner was very helpful, and provided us a map for all the sightseeings.

Disliked: Akthough is bed and breakfast, no breakfast was provided.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YE LIN

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 March 2013 YE would recommend this property

Liked: really worth staying here. quite cozy.

Disliked: YE left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Julián Ernesto Haeberli

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

03 March 2013

Liked: Nothing at all. Nada.

Disliked: The room was in another building other than indicated on the page. That building was in an alley or area that is very unsafe. In addition, there was no phone in the other building to communicate with reception. The changing of towels are made ​​only on the third day and still did not change it. The room had a private bathroom and not cleaned everyday. The treatment of the owner was not the best, did not show an attitude to solve their problems and also they wanted to take care of the problems of the pension. The opening hours of the reception are not respected and there was no one to meet at the times indicated. The place is unsafe at night there are fights in the square, vagrants sleeping in the train station and the hotel has no security. They say that "obviously" don't accept credit card payments, however, the reservation has been made with credit card. La habitación se encontraba en otro edificio distinto al indicado en la página. Ese edificio se encontraba en un callejón o zona no muy segura. Además, no había teléfono en este otro edificio para poder comunicarse con la recepción. Además, el cambio de toallas se hacía solamente al tercer día y aún así no lo hicieron. La habitación tenía baño privado y no lo limpiaban. El trato de la dueña no fue el mejor, no mostró una actitud hacia arreglar sus inconvenientes y además, nos quiso hacer cargo de los problemas de la pensión. Los horarios de atención de la recepción no se respetan ya que no había nadie para atender en los horarios indicados. El lugar es inseguro, a la noche se producen peleas en la plaza, vagabundos durmiendo en la estación de trenes y el hotel no tiene seguridad. También dijeron que "obviamente" no aceptaban pagos con tarjeta de credito, y sin embargo, la reserva la hacen con tarjeta.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sdsdf

Disliked: dfs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Rob

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: I appreciate cery good location, only five minutes walking from Termini Station and ten minutes from Colosseo. Very quiet location in city centre. Rooms looks very good and clean. There is a fridge, TV and ceiling fan. Receptionist is very helpful, staff cleans the room every day.

Disliked: Window of the room is not facing to the square, but to the street at the opposite side of the building. There is no sightseeing, you can see only scaffold in front of your windows (Jan 2013). It´s not problem for me, but some people can be disappointed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure, warm, aromatic, clean.

Disliked: Wi-fi can only be used in one small room quite apart from the actual main rooms.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels