HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of The Place in Rome

2 star Hotel | Via Macao 9, Rome, Italy 00185

87.5% Overall Rating

101 out of 107 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

Susan Hull thinks…

"The property itself, typically Italian with shuttered windows; the beautiful marble stairs and big doors; the cleanliness of the room we were in and the bathroom. Also the helpful and very friendly…"

Read all The Place in Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 69.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hostel Two Ducks
27.64 USD

Hostel 61.4% 672 reviews
A Casa di Jasmine
45.61 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 45 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
35.94 USD

Hostel 86.2% 120 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
44.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Papaya Female Hostel
34.55 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
26.26 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
35.25 USD

Hostel 85.3% 595 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

101 out of 107 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Place in Rome'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 104 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

EKREM ÖNSOY

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 EKREM would recommend this property

Liked: James is a great guy. He is very helpful about anything you need. İnternet connection is OK. The location is 8-10 mins away (by foot) from Republica where there is a metro station and bus station to reach all popular places. Also Termini the main train station is 10 minutes away by foot. He also offers a free beverage and breakfast for every morning you stay.

Disliked: the bathroom cabinet is a little bit small, however today we are in Firenze in another hotel and this badroom is way worse, so i am already missing that bathroom in The Place in Rome.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gül Durak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 Gül would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,big rooms,really friendly,helpful and kind staff.Location is great.You can go lots of famous places by walking in Rome.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a great person host of the year.he is friendly and also a traveler.location is great in the middle of the center,easy to find and closed to the termini.it is so clean.rooms are beatiful with comfortable bed.breakfast is included and delicious.if i go to rome again, i will prefer here again.

Disliked: NOTHİNG!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrej Valentovic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay at! Conveniently located near Termini (not at all difficult to find - just read the instructions and you'll be fine), in a side-street (so very quiet) in a nice, safe building with both supermarket and pasticeria located just around a corner. All Rome's major sightseeings in a walking distance. Rooms were spacious enough and cleaned daily. Free wifi worked OK. Free welcome beer was a cherry on top. Breakfast was served in a nearby cafe. The land-lord - James - is a great guy, very helpful and ready to assist in whatever you may need. He waited for our late arrival (around 11 p.m.) and was always reachable on a cell.

Disliked: Andrej left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Murphy

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 April 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: James & is staff were very pleasant. James went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. He was very imformative and helpful especially giviing tips and advice on transport and Rome in general. He deserves to every success with his business.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

irina goryacheva

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 April 2012 irina would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Very strange ownwer. It is better to check all his advices in touristical points. Rome sity tax was not mention on the site. He asked for this tax our last day and had not give us confirmation document for this payment.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Selwood

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the central railway station, we walked to Colloseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, etc. pretty much most of the "must see" tourist spots, The Vatican was a train ride there to save our tired legs but we walked back. Found the place ok at 11pm but couldn't get in, ended up ringing the number and James was just around the corner and arrived promptly, he is very helpful and made the stay easy.

Disliked: Cramped, small bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Radoslaw Kurek

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Radoslaw would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind staff. Good location, close to metro station. We got small suprise - bottle of wine.

Disliked: Could be difficult to find, there is no designation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was great. the room was clean but not so big. the hostel is really close to the train station.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Waters

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff.

Disliked: Room was right opposite reception, so could hear everything with other people checking in and checking out.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good welcome and very helpful.

Disliked: Shower

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Doyle

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: The main guy was really nice and helpful, a refreshing change from the general moodiness of the city. The rooms were a good size and really comfortable.

Disliked: The cab company that the manager called for us to take to the airport was a complete rip off. We were told it would be 40 euro, but when we got to the airport the driver told us 55 (the meter was already at 11.70 when we got into the cab and about 5 minutes before we got to the airport he hit a button on the meter and it suddenly sped up).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very close to public transport. Very nice and helpful staff. Free wifi was fast and the room was secure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located close to the main bus/train station which makes it easier to get to from the airport and also easy to get to other parts of Rome. It is a bit far to walk anywhere from the hotel, but public transport in Rome is cheap. The owner is very helpful, but has an unusual sense of humour which may take some nationalities a while to get used to. He seems to be a typical Italian - fairly laid back and very talkative.

Disliked: There is no signage whatsoever for this hotel so it made it a bit confussing trying to find it. Make sure you take note of the street number and telephone number or you'll never find it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: they are rare on towels

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Simonson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very helpful and gave us all kind of useful information. He even told us about a Halloween party happening down the street that he was going to. We knew we would be checking in very late and sent him an email 2 days before. He was waiting for us when we arrived around 12 in the morning. You are a short walk from Termini station. At Termini, you can find all the public transportation you need and there are sightseeing buses from there as well. The room was excellent for European standards. It was very clean, comfortable bed, fridge, nice bathroom (although tiny), hot shower and free internet. Breakfast was a pastry/croissant and coffee at a little cafe a street over. We almost missed our flight in the morning and the owner made sure to wake us up so we didn't miss our flight! It cost us about 40 euros to get to the airport in a taxi from there as we left so early in the morning there were no buses/subways running. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Disliked: We had a hard time finding it at night as it was on a small side street and some streets had no signs. I would suggest (from Termini station) going down Volturno and then turning right on Montebello and from there you will see via de macao on the left (it's a very small street). Find house # 12 and ring the bell for #7.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Abigail Medrano

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, private. Owner was very helpful. Location's distance from metro stop was okay.

Disliked: It's in a side street that is hard to find. No elevator to carry lugguage up 2 flights of stairs. The bathroom had a funny smell.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property itself was secure and in an easy to manage location.

Disliked: There is no signage to indicate the location of The Place. At the address the buzzer is number 7 however there is no sign to indicate this; we had to use hostelbookers comments to discover which buzzer to use. The 24/7 reception is a bit misleading; we arrived at 2pm but where unable to get assistance checking in till around 4 pm. There is 24/7 access once you have keys. James was extremely pleasant if a bit overwhelmingly so.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, basic but clean enough. Large room with space to move around. Good wifi internet connection. Key entry to the front of the building.

Disliked: The owner took about an hour to check me in, a real hassle after spending all day getting to Rome. The room wasn't ready yet when I arrived after 3 in the afternoon. Had to sit in a hallway and wait for the cleaners to make up the room. The shower was so small that you could hardly turn around and the shower head sprayed over the top of the shower into the toilet, rather than into the shower. The door of the room didn't lock from the inside, so it didn't feel all that safe at night. The breakfast provided is one cup of coffee and one croissant. I felt that for 85 euro a night, this was way over priced for the facilities.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great friendly staff and good location.

Disliked: could be little bit cleaner

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: James is a very nice host and was always helpful with hints and suggestions. He has a 24 hr. service!!! We only contacted him during "normal" service hours, though :-) The Place is situated in a quiet neighborhood with lots of little restaurants for evening fun and a market/bakery in the morning. I missed a table in the room, but other than this, it was perfect (even a small fridge in the room).

Disliked: When we first arrived there, we didn`t find it at Macao 12. Then the hotel in the neiborhood told us to ring Number 7 (without a name on it). If you do so, James will open :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikaela Djambaska

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Mikaela would recommend this property

Liked: For this price "The Place in Rome" is simply a luxury.Private bathroom, air conditioning, TV, internet, fridge and very nice manager.Close to train station "Termini" and a small fruit market every morning.There are several inexpensive cafes.These things make a pleasant return to the hotel.Breakfast is an Italian coffee and croissant in the near cafe-Just to know.The place is safe and arrive at night is not bad to have a phone number, you will be welcomed.

Disliked: No.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Seiculescu

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place and very sociable front-desk. The position is great and the room was like on a hotel. We were really impressed about the cleanliness of the room and when we arrived they surprised us with a bottle of wine (because we stayed more than 3 days).

Disliked: "Dislike" has no place when describing our experience on "The place in Rome".


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels