HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of The Place in Rome

2 star Hotel | Via Macao 9, Rome, Italy 00185

86.7% Overall Rating

106 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

Naomi Webb thinks…

"Really nice room, more like a hotel than a hostel really, and the staff were really great and helpful. Would definitely recommend this - great value for money."

Read all The Place in Rome reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 66.95

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hostel Two Ducks
20.07 USD

Hostel 61.5% 690 reviews
A Casa di Jasmine
25.44 USD

Guesthouse 74.1% 49 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
33.48 USD

Hostel 85.4% 127 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
30.13 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Papaya Female Hostel
24.10 USD

Hostel 91.7% 848 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
28.12 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Freedom Traveller Hostel
32.67 USD

Hostel 85.1% 618 reviews
Hotel Virginia
26.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

106 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Place in Rome'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 110 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Marulanda

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! the staff were just AWESOME. very informative and enthusiastic. the place is in walking distance from everything and the place was extremely clean. Would recommend it to everyone

Disliked: nothing, everything about it was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Takeshi Kihara

Alone

City break

30 May 2013 Takeshi would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful and informative staff. Single room was clean with a large window that opened above the back courtyard. Ensuite shower with shampoo provided. I had the single room at the back which was free from traffic noise. Continental breakfast in room opposite street. Wi-fi worked without problems.

Disliked: Takeshi left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Renáta Tóth

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Renáta would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. I could check in after 23 o clock with no problem. Owner was helpfull with any information.

Disliked: The neighbours made noise every morning, we could not sleep well. Rooms have thin walls. Bathroom is small .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

chmaj gaertner

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 chmaj would recommend this property

Liked: the room was very clean. every day they change the towels en clean up the room. there's free WiFi on the room. The owner is a very good speaking guy. He is really helpful and gives good advices. We did almost everything on foot. (So he would n't recommend the roma pass. (thats a pass for bus, metro etc) the italian people will put money out of everything he said ). the shower is good and warm water. its a 5 minutes walk to the termini station

Disliked: the bathroom is very tiny. Its made for 1 persoon. you cannot put your toothbrush, make up etc on the washingtable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewelina Kotowicz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Ewelina would recommend this property

Liked: It was perfect! Very close to the main attractions of Rome we went everywhere on foot). The staff was extremelly friendly - the owner speaks very good English - and he's very helpful. He recommended a terrific restaruant to us (good prices and delicious food). Our room was not very big - but just enough to have a rest after the whole day of sightseeing. It was really clean! The neighbourhood was safe and quiet. It is really a good value for money!! I recommend it to everyone!

Disliked: There were no such things!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Green

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice place to stay and not far from the center of the city but a bit away from the main tourist attractions and main restaurant areas. However really pleasant stay and was pleased with facilities and breakfast was nice. Although not what we were expecting it is a great place for young couples to stay.

Disliked: There was some confusion with our stay meaning we had to stay our first night in one room then our remaining two nights in another. This was slightly inconvenient however the owner, James, was very apologetic about this. The en suite could have also been slightly better as the shower door was beginning to fall off however this was not a major issue.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is really really helpful and nice. The room has everything which the property is under-rated. The area was safe and have some good nd cheap italian restaurants.

Disliked: its hard to locate the property and you have to email the owner about when you arrive and he will pick you up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hana Jo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Hana would recommend this property

Liked: If you are staying in Rome and looking for totel with reasonable price and cleaness, i strongly recommend The Place in Rome. You can feel that you are staying at your home. The proce includes breakfast and the owner, he is very nice and kind. The location is also good, it is near the Terimini station. You would not have any difficulty to get there,

Disliked: No coffiee pot in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jun Wen Chong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Jun Wen would recommend this property

Liked: It is quite close to the train station, all it took was about 10 minutes walk. There is a street market downstairs, so it was a real treat to walk past that every morning on the way to the train station for our sightseeing. Breakfast was provided, and James the owner was really candid. When we asked him if we could leave our bags with him till 10pm as our train wasn't till that time, he just told us that since it's a slow day for him anyway, we can keep our bags in our room and hold on to our keys till then at no extra charge. Hence we kind of had a late checkout at 10pm!

Disliked: Quite happy with it overall actually.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

coral russell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 coral would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant! Great Manager really helpful told us all the best places to see and eat. was great help in suggestion routes to take around rome! Great room all we needed for a weekend in Rome!

Disliked: coral left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was extremely clean with good facilities that were very well kept. The property was a 15 minute walk from the city center, and there are buses as well that can take you almost anywhere in the city. The staff was very friendly and very helpful with figuring out transportation and where to eat. The room was very safe too and the beds were comfortable. Really good place to go with a significant other.

Disliked: The walk to the city center can be annoying, but Rome is so big that no matter where you stay something will be far away. The walk to the Vatican is about 45 minutes so the bus is really helpful. But walking is also very nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, perfect contact with staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chun-chun Tsai

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Chun-chun would recommend this property

Liked: It's sooooo fantastic the hostel!!!!!! first of all, the location is close by the train station. maybe 10 minutes by walk. before we arrived the hostel, honestly we didn't expect very much, we just want to find a nice place to stay and take a rest, then we found that everything was awesome!!!!!!=))))))) Soooo comfortable the room and nice!!!! even the bathroom was very very clean and bid,also the shower was wonderful!!!!! the host let us used the bathroom even they said that was share bathroom!!!!!!! furthermore, we arrived that day very early in the morning, and the host just let us check in and prepared a breakfast for all of us!!!!!!!!! the host was really nice, friendly, helpful ,and funny!!! =DDDD and the housekeeper was sooooo lovely as well!!! everything was perfect here!!!we had a really nice experience in this hostel!!!=DDD Once I back, i must go back here definitely!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: nothing bad!!!!!!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adrian Hernandez

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

04 October 2012 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: I like its location. Also the staff is as polite and helpful as it gets.

Disliked: The facilities are not new and ultimately the rooms are extremely basic.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: James was incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, the property close to the train station, situated on a quiet side street.

Disliked: I could complain about small details, but honestly -- in a city that has a shortage of good accommodation, The Place in Rome was great. The rooms are small (but very clean). The breakfast isn't amazing (but the coffee machine is great). Compared to other hotels / hostels I've stayed at in Rome, this one is by far the best value for your money!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOSHUA BOWER

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 September 2012 JOSHUA would recommend this property

Liked: simple and the best tips! handy stuff...

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kindly personal, clean, in the centre. For this Price: top

Disliked: Breakfast could be better

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and provided traveling tips.

Disliked: The room and bathroom are too crampy even for 2 small-sized asians. There weren't space for our luggage and moving around. Power points were at awkward places (above wardrobe).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok.

Disliked: At first, we arrive to the direction posted in the reservation paper, we have to to a second floor by stairs and when arrived, a gyu said: "Oh I'm sorry, I forgot to tell you that is your room is not in this building". We went with the guy to another place around the corner, we went to a third floor (by elevator). Once donde the check in, our room was in the second floor, but it was a double room, I we booked a twin room. So they changed our room but we had to go again with our luggage to the third floor. All took like an hour. They said they offered wi fi in the rooms, but the problem remained 4 days... So only wi fi at the reception.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BAHAR GÜNES

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 BAHAR would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff! nice breakfast, location is easy to find!

Disliked: BAHAR left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Burdekin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Simple and Clean.

Disliked: We couldn't get the air-con to work and there was no recreational area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claudio prado de mello

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 claudio would recommend this property

Liked: 1000% GOOD. The BEST place I was in Rome in 6 travels . Next time I will be here again and will recommend the PLACE

Disliked: nothing ! it is five stars all the way

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Termini Station. Room was comfortable with A/C and fridge/ It was like living in a private apartment. Was good value for money and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. James advised on everything we needed to know about Rome and more. When we enquired about certain places and if he didnt know he went out of his way to find out. Will definitely recommend.

Disliked: The breakfast could have been better although the coffee was good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy who ran it was so friendly and helpful. He was really knowledgeable about most of the tourist attractions that we asked him about. The room was quite small but it did have a TV and a fridge. The location was really close to the metro which connects everyhting and easily walkable to the Trevi fountain and the Pantheon.

Disliked: The directions that were given from the train station were pretty useless.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012

Liked: Organised with access to owner or manager

Disliked: Requested family room. This was very small but disliked the fact that they simple set upa camp bed as fourth bed...notcomfortableand very short.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels