We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

72.1% Overall Rating

550 out of 701 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Karen Wiznia thinks…

"The hostel is separate in two. We were staying in front of it and it was like an apartment with kitchen a sofa, 2 computers, 2 common toilets (and we had one in the room). the location was good, just…"

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.60
  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 87.2% 862 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
17.71 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
21.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 85.5% 131 reviews
Hotel Stella
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 19 reviews
Hotel Lella
25.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 266 reviews
The Place in Rome
15.81 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 114 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

550 out of 701 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
64.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 492 of 662 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Wiznia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is separate in two. We were staying in front of it and it was like an apartment with kitchen a sofa, 2 computers, 2 common toilets (and we had one in the room). the location was good, just 5 minutes walking from termini.

Disliked: The problem with this hostel is that if you are in the other part of the hostel (where the reception is) its terrible. Its really dirty, and the reception woman is really crazy. When we were leaving there were 2 chinese girls that told me that this woman wanted to charge them 5€/person for the aircon witch is crazy. So be careful. I was staying in a 4 female dorm, they said they were in a 6 dorm. Maybe that help!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff, clean, neat, good location

Disliked: They don't serve breakfest.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bartosz Dycha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Bartosz would recommend this property

Liked: location, price

Disliked: one receptionist (described itself as a owner) didn't allow us to eat breakfast in kitchen at 11.00 (said is too late ...) beside it was agreed with another receptionist .. and there wasn't any rule like this ... shame ..

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Susanne Pössinger

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014

Liked: the location was ok

Disliked: i also told the staff what i am about to write here: - i had to wait 10 minutes until they checked me in - internet not in the room - the room had no window and the ac was not working. i asked for a fan but they didnt provide one. only when i asked the next day they got me a fan. - there was no toilet paper for 2 days. i also had to ask for it, they didnt check it for 2 days - the most craziest thing for me was that there werent enough keys for the room with 6 people. so, the man had to open the door to our rooms - that was ok. but at night we werent able to lock the door. anybody could have walked in at any time. - the staff: well the lady was quite polite, but there was an older man he was difficult. he seemed annoyed when i asked him for a room key and toilet paper and a fan. then it took him forever to tell us that there is no roomkey. also he told a girl that the internet costs 1€ even though it says it that is free. . . the room was ok for the size and the location was ok but I would not stay there again because of the safety issues and the staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Bathroom was too small

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yaroslav Pelekh

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Yaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Nice old building helped to handle the summer heat

Disliked: I wish it was closer to metro station : )

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sangeun Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 July 2014 Sangeun would recommend this property

Liked: The manager marianne is perfectly kind for us!!

Disliked: No. Just the mistake of the staff that one more person slept in our room

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: Poor service

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014

Liked: Close to the supermarket and metro station.

Disliked: We stayed with my friend a dorm and our room hasn't any windows like a prison at nights a little bit.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city center

Disliked: Internet connection is a bad one

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kristin Przybyla

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014

Liked: It was the cheapest hostel available last minute

Disliked: Staff member EXTREMELY rude. No wifi in rooms. Had to pay for wifi. Rooms smelled bad. Bad wifi in lobby area. Rooms not connected to lobby. Cleaning staff came in room without knocking

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

David Bagatella

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 January 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything. I didn´t like the beds. The shower was really dirty. They charge you for the internet. The staff treats literally like they are you doing you a favor.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and always available to help

Disliked: There was no free WiFi and no facilities to prepare a meal

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Rowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, especially for Rome. Fairly basic but it has everything you need.

Disliked: It's a long walk to the sights but the train station is pretty close so it's not too bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lorna Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station and city centre, cheap and convenient.

Disliked: Staff a little unfriendly, no communal area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013

Liked: The receptionist, absolutely lovely welcome ! Gave us a great run down of things to see and do in Rome !

Disliked: We turned up at the hotel and then were told we were staying at there 2nd property. We were driven to another area and dropped off at a random property. The area itself didnt feel safe enough to walk around after dark. The room didnt have any aircon and was very dated. The TV looked l;ikie it was from the 80's and didnt even work. Hard to get hot water running. There is no reception desk at the second property, just 4 rooms off a hallway and atleast a 20 min walk from the first property. Dissapointed in our stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Leszczynski

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was not expensive and was close to the main train station as well as another metro station. We managed to walk to most of the parts of the city centre on foot so nothing to complain here. Pretty clean, lockers, no problem with late check in and early check out.

Disliked: If you are unlucky enough to be located in a room next to the Via Cernaia then you will have a hard time to sleep. Ours was on the groundfloor and right behind our window were the dumpsters. Every single night at 2am we got woken up by the disposal truck emptying the dumpsters - breaking glass bottles in the process. Also, the last 1,5 day we did not have warm water in the shower so it was a bit of a pain to shower in an ice cold water.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location, friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Cramped common room. Hostel refuses to take responsibility for their hot drink machine if it fails, which is absolutely absurd- if they're not responsible for it, who is?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolin Lena Wilken

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Carolin Lena would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really nice place to stay and the stuff is very friendly and helpfull

Disliked: Carolin Lena left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

China Satti

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 China would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to central station, food stores and restaurants. and the receptionist especially "Ica" she was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Some times the bathroom door lock is not working.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful. We arrived earlier than 2 o' clock but our room was ready so we could move in. The room was cleaned everyday so we were perfectly satisfied with the cleanliness.

Disliked: We weren't satisfied with that the use of the wifi was not included in the price. There was only one key to the room, which we had to leave at the reception. Because of this we didn't feel our stuff in safe.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fine place

Disliked: Just nice but the doors was not good and hard to open

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We arrived before 2 o'clock, but that was no problem, our room was already ready for us. We could also leave our luggage on the day of our departure untill our train was leaving.

Disliked: The property was close to the trainstation, however it was quite a walk to all the sites, especially to St. Peter's Basilica.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels