We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

72.1% Overall Rating

550 out of 701 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Karen Wiznia thinks…

"The hostel is separate in two. We were staying in front of it and it was like an apartment with kitchen a sofa, 2 computers, 2 common toilets (and we had one in the room). the location was good, just…"

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 51.79
  • Luggage Room USD 2.59
  • Towel USD 1.29

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
25.90 USD

Hostel 89.7% 858 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
38.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
36.26 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
38.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
34.96 USD

Hostel 85.3% 130 reviews
Hotel Stella
32.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 19 reviews
Hotel Lella
32.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.9% 264 reviews
The Place in Rome
29.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 114 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

550 out of 701 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
64.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 492 of 662 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were wonderful and very helpful. The location is great, a 10 minute walk fromTermini station and the neighborhood is elegant. Good restaurants all around, a supermarket, pharmcy, etc. The rooms were simple, but with a pleasant atmosphere.

Disliked: The walls were too thin, but we didn't hear much noise most of the time!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Having a fridge in the bedroom is good; sympathy of the staff and all the help to organize our trips around the city; very good location, in a calm area and close to all the public transports

Disliked: Every morning there were constuction workers making lots of noise since 8 AM; the room didn't seem very clean; the common area was very small and it was almost impossible to get inside during the busiest hours.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011

Liked: It was very clean. Air conditioning. Close to the termini station. Not too expensive.

Disliked: The room we were put in was around the corner from the office. There was one set keys for a room with 4 girls so we had to leave the keys at the office anytime we left. Whoever got home first got the keys, the people at the office had to let the other people in. There were 4 different doors to open to get in the room. Kind of annoying. You had to pay a Euro/24 hours for the internet but it only worked in the office.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: No air conditioner

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathroom, good place

Disliked: no common room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011

Liked: people working there were very friendly

Disliked: little bit far from the station

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Likes: owner was very helpful, close to the metro and train stations and easy to get around rome from there, this is more like a hotel than a hostel (cleaning service cleans your room every day), two fast computers for use.

Disliked: Dislikes: we didn't stay in the main building, we were led around a corner (still very close) but internet didn't work there, so we had to go to the lobby area to use internet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Olli Halonen

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Olli would recommend this property

Liked: Clean ensuite bathroom, air condition, room cleaned everyday and yet a very cheap price! :)

Disliked: The street can be noisy if you're sensitive (I didn't mind), but a pair of earplugs will fix it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Fernanda Lammoglia Cobo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Maria Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we've gone to. The staff was really nice and even helped us make plans for our visit.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011

Liked: It was very close to the train station and metro, also has a bakery opposite which was only about 2.50 for a panini which was really nice.

Disliked: When we first got there the lady helped us quite a lot but after the second day there was a different lady and she was quite unfriendly, also we were in a 3 bedroom ensuite and you can't access the WiFi from your room you have to go a couple of doors away and it in the communal room which is usually full of new arrivals bags. Also when we were leaving they said they had no space in the locker room as our train left at 4 so we bought internet and they shouted at us for bringing our bags into the room even though is seen other people's bags in there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the reception is like a tourist info. They are very helpful and friendly. The hotel was very clean and everything was better than I hope. It is near Roma Termine. It was perfect with everything!!!

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Shirish Umadi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011

Liked: Location is not bad.

Disliked: The room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localizarion

Disliked: the movie noise back my room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful; the room was cleaned every day. The location was very good - near Termini station.

Disliked: The room was too far away from the reception - We had to get out of the building, and enter again almost at the end of the street; there was no breakfast.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Harriet Millard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011

Liked: It's in a good location for walking to most sights as well as for catching both metro lines. It is also close to the station which is useful when you has large bags and it's hot. The bathrooms are all ensuite which is handy.

Disliked: You have to pay for the Internet, it's not overly expensive but it's just annoying. They also put a curfew on using their computers. The street is very noisy at night, but it's too hot to sleep with the window closed as there is no Air con.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing and the staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very comfortable, hot showers and free wifi.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got a free upgrade from 4 people dorm to a double bedroom. The gentleman at the reception was very friendly to us. Awesome guy. Gave us a ride from the one hotel to another hotel (double bedroom). Hotel is within walking distance to colesseo. Also let us know about the supermarket behind that sells cheap mineral water and carbonated drinks, daily supplies etc.

Disliked: No towel given on the first day. I think he forgot. But got our towels on the second day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was EXTREMELY helpful, and most of them knew decent English. They were very accommodating, the room was very nice, and I am planning on staying there again when I go back in a few weeks.

Disliked: It was a little far-ish from Roma Termini, but was pretty easy to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, very silent location

Disliked: shower was not really warm, but workes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Crystal McGraw

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed, gave me advice, answered all my questions... The room was surprisingly clean and spacious. Perfect area, being a short distance from Termini station.

Disliked: Honestly nothing. Everything was perfect. Best hostel I've ever stayed in.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alicia Delago

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in a great location and the facilities were very clean.

Disliked: One of the receptionist's was rude and there was a bit of a miscommunication about prices, reservation dates, and rooms but all the other staff was quite friendly. The security was a little lax. Yes, there was a buzzer to let in the guests but besides that, I felt that anyone could come and go. Keys to the rooms were not given so I did not feel like their was complete privacy or safety.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ilana Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 June 2011 Ilana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are awesome, rooms clean and free lockers were large and useful.

Disliked: Bathrooms small and dirty, water pressure and temp extremely variable and outside light and noise irritating.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were nice and spacious

Disliked: there is no elevator :(

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walkable distance to Termini - OK to do with backpack, maybe not large rolling suitcases though. Not too hard to find. I was surprised to find they made the bed for you every day. Has a microwave, refridgerator and a cafe machine where you can purchase hot drinks. Staff that tried to help.

Disliked: Street very loud for me at night, wore my earplugs to help get sleep. Our tv wasn't working. Pipes in shower smelled like sewage in the private room but the dorm room was fine. Shower did not have hot water - just cold one night then warm the next and was very small. The 150th celebration of the union of Italy was going on while we were there and the staff tried to help us navigate our trip because of this. However, the information was completely wrong that we were given. This should not affect future stays this year though. In the dorm, the next apartment over was watching something that sounded like porn for a long time until late (midnight) - could have been a video game ... maybe. Need video cam at front entrance to see who they are buzzing in. Internet can only be purchased in 1 hour increments and we were told that we must use it straight through and could not pause it to continue in another session. The city instituted a 2 euro fee for hotels and b&b's per person - however we read hostels are supposed to be an exception. Despite this, we were charged a fee so we feel kinda cheated by that.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Hazleton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really nice, spoke very good English and were helpful with any questions we had. The location was perfect for our late-night arrival to Termini, and is close to two other stations for metro lines A and B, although we were able to walk to all of the tourists sites. Rooms are cleaned and beds remade every day, and there's plenty of space inside the dorms and ensuite bathroom.

Disliked: The shower was a bit temperamental - the first day it was fine, but the following three days it would shift every 15 seconds or so from hot to cold. It wasn't unbearable, but wasn't pleasant. (We didn't inquire about this, so perhaps it is a temporary problem?). The shower was also quite small, even for European standards. The beds were very narrow but otherwise comfortable.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels