HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

79.5% Overall Rating

539 out of 684 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.24
  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
27.62 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
41.43 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
35.91 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
41.43 USD

Hostel 85.5% 119 reviews
Hotel Stella
27.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Lella
26.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 248 reviews
The Place in Rome
34.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

539 out of 684 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 480 of 646 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localizarion

Disliked: the movie noise back my room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful; the room was cleaned every day. The location was very good - near Termini station.

Disliked: The room was too far away from the reception - We had to get out of the building, and enter again almost at the end of the street; there was no breakfast.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Harriet Millard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011

Liked: It's in a good location for walking to most sights as well as for catching both metro lines. It is also close to the station which is useful when you has large bags and it's hot. The bathrooms are all ensuite which is handy.

Disliked: You have to pay for the Internet, it's not overly expensive but it's just annoying. They also put a curfew on using their computers. The street is very noisy at night, but it's too hot to sleep with the window closed as there is no Air con.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing and the staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very comfortable, hot showers and free wifi.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got a free upgrade from 4 people dorm to a double bedroom. The gentleman at the reception was very friendly to us. Awesome guy. Gave us a ride from the one hotel to another hotel (double bedroom). Hotel is within walking distance to colesseo. Also let us know about the supermarket behind that sells cheap mineral water and carbonated drinks, daily supplies etc.

Disliked: No towel given on the first day. I think he forgot. But got our towels on the second day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was EXTREMELY helpful, and most of them knew decent English. They were very accommodating, the room was very nice, and I am planning on staying there again when I go back in a few weeks.

Disliked: It was a little far-ish from Roma Termini, but was pretty easy to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, very silent location

Disliked: shower was not really warm, but workes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Crystal McGraw

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed, gave me advice, answered all my questions... The room was surprisingly clean and spacious. Perfect area, being a short distance from Termini station.

Disliked: Honestly nothing. Everything was perfect. Best hostel I've ever stayed in.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alicia Delago

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in a great location and the facilities were very clean.

Disliked: One of the receptionist's was rude and there was a bit of a miscommunication about prices, reservation dates, and rooms but all the other staff was quite friendly. The security was a little lax. Yes, there was a buzzer to let in the guests but besides that, I felt that anyone could come and go. Keys to the rooms were not given so I did not feel like their was complete privacy or safety.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ilana Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 June 2011 Ilana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are awesome, rooms clean and free lockers were large and useful.

Disliked: Bathrooms small and dirty, water pressure and temp extremely variable and outside light and noise irritating.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were nice and spacious

Disliked: there is no elevator :(

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walkable distance to Termini - OK to do with backpack, maybe not large rolling suitcases though. Not too hard to find. I was surprised to find they made the bed for you every day. Has a microwave, refridgerator and a cafe machine where you can purchase hot drinks. Staff that tried to help.

Disliked: Street very loud for me at night, wore my earplugs to help get sleep. Our tv wasn't working. Pipes in shower smelled like sewage in the private room but the dorm room was fine. Shower did not have hot water - just cold one night then warm the next and was very small. The 150th celebration of the union of Italy was going on while we were there and the staff tried to help us navigate our trip because of this. However, the information was completely wrong that we were given. This should not affect future stays this year though. In the dorm, the next apartment over was watching something that sounded like porn for a long time until late (midnight) - could have been a video game ... maybe. Need video cam at front entrance to see who they are buzzing in. Internet can only be purchased in 1 hour increments and we were told that we must use it straight through and could not pause it to continue in another session. The city instituted a 2 euro fee for hotels and b&b's per person - however we read hostels are supposed to be an exception. Despite this, we were charged a fee so we feel kinda cheated by that.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Hazleton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really nice, spoke very good English and were helpful with any questions we had. The location was perfect for our late-night arrival to Termini, and is close to two other stations for metro lines A and B, although we were able to walk to all of the tourists sites. Rooms are cleaned and beds remade every day, and there's plenty of space inside the dorms and ensuite bathroom.

Disliked: The shower was a bit temperamental - the first day it was fine, but the following three days it would shift every 15 seconds or so from hot to cold. It wasn't unbearable, but wasn't pleasant. (We didn't inquire about this, so perhaps it is a temporary problem?). The shower was also quite small, even for European standards. The beds were very narrow but otherwise comfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room and bathroom are ok. The location is really good.

Disliked: you have to buy the internet (wifi) and it doesnt work. You have to connect and disconnect all the time..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Gonzalez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 June 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extra-friendly. The location is unsurpassable to visit Rome.

Disliked: May be fact that the TV had only one channel working, but I don't consider that very important

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, relatively near the termini and other attractions. Bathroom and room were clean and wifi was cheap at 1euro for 24 hours.

Disliked: No kitchen facilities.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a king of "family hotel", transformed from apartments. Rooms are cleans, shower is at the rooms. Nice place to stay for a few days. perfect if you are looking for a rest. The staff was all the time at the place and they speak different languages. there was even girl at the reception speaking Ukrainian, which is rare.

Disliked: They don't change bedclothes while you stay there. it can be some noisy during the night if your window are on the street. Wifi and hot water are served quite good, but there can be some problem if there are too many people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really helpful, thank you so much

Disliked: i think for a backpacker is fine, clean sheets, bathroom and pretty much quiet (compared to other places). Also the price was ok, in Rome everything can be quite expensive. gratzie

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

santiago miranda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 santiago would recommend this property

Liked: location, very clean

Disliked: you have to pay for internet 1euro the hour

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our room was very nice, clean and comfortable

Disliked: it was awful at nights, because of a noise from a street. it was absolutely impossible to sleep. it was a very noisy street.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Emilio Gilmar Farias Salvado de Lima

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

06 June 2011

Liked: ...

Disliked: internet has to be paid and you only can use at the building beside, it´s dangerous at night. lift doesn´t work well. receptionist sometimes treat you well sometimes bed. one receptionist does not speak english. but they help you, when you need.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice. It was a fine place to stay. Not great but fine.

Disliked: Hard bed, kind of gross shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kara Moro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 Kara would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything, clean.

Disliked: a bit loud, but nothing a good pair of earplugs wont fix.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

muhammed eken

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: staff is untolarable. they dont help you. there is no understanding. my friend just slept while she was sitting and the lady get her wake up because sleeping is forbidden just for a second. they make problems about the payment. according to them they are good but i saw lots of hostel but it is the worst one for the money. they even dont give soap for toilets the reason is everybody can buy the soap themselves. i dont recommend you to go there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms was generally pretty clean, and each room has their own bathroom. The staff was really great with advice on where to eat and how to get everywhere. Overall, great place.

Disliked: Not a big space for meeting people except for your roommates.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels