HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

74.7% Overall Rating

545 out of 695 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 53.71
  • Luggage Room USD 2.69
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
24.17 USD

Hostel 91.1% 847 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
30.21 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
28.20 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
26.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
33.57 USD

Hostel 84.9% 126 reviews
Hotel Stella
24.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 13 reviews
Hotel Lella
32.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 258 reviews
The Place in Rome
23.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.0% 112 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.7%

Overall Rating

545 out of 695 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 487 of 656 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MIKHEIL ABASHIDZE

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2011 MIKHEIL would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: they should be a little bit

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lara Hefson

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 August 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bright clean room with fan and hairdryer. Towels changed daily.

Disliked: The room we were allocated was not at the same address as advertised, although we were driven striaght there on arrival.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zhiyong Wu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Zhiyong would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: room size

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the cheapest shared room which is an apartement off the side of the main building which means no reception to keep guard, but we had keys etc. The apartment was basic but really cool which was great for summer in Rome, it even had air con! Overall this is a great place to stay for a few nights and great value

Disliked: Unfortunately shower was freezing despite us telling them about the problem. Reception is based in a separate building and the staff aren't overly friendly but not unfriendly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yan Duchemin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Yan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff nice all explication for visit the city neer for the train station

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the room had air conditioning and it was relatively close to Temini Station.

Disliked: It was really quite, not the place to meet people. A little dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrija Ceperkovic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Andrija would recommend this property

Liked: Near the Termini

Disliked: a room that faces the street where the higher noise

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a place in good shape with everything you would need and at a great location. It was clean and comfortable, and we had a nice stay.

Disliked: The locks were pretty unsafe, I could probably open that door with a normal screwdriver

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was space in the rooms which i liked, compared to some other backpackers.. It was very clean, we had sheets changed every day. Staff were friendly but this was depending on who was there..

Disliked: Some of the junior staff/cleaners were quite rude and abrupt but this was only on very few occasions. The shared lounge area was a tad too small

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is not far from Termini station. There was a fan in our room which made it more comfortable to sleep there.

Disliked: The staff used to ignore us though we stood right in front of the desk. The toilet didn't always flush.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 August 2011

Liked: The location only.

Disliked: It was a really small room and no consumer service! When we went to the hostel, they took us to another building. In this place, there were few rooms and absolutely no staff! When we were checking out, we had to walk to the hostel. It was such a waste of time.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nao Hashinaga

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011

Liked: nothing special

Disliked: we had a difficulty to open and close the door with the key. my room was not very clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location to the station and to Republic Square. Room was nice and there was a fan which was really good in the heat. Did exactly what it said on the tin.

Disliked: Some of the staff didn't speak very good english and were a bit grumpy.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011

Liked: Close to Termini Train Station

Disliked: Th staff kicked us out of our room without warning, telling us an hour beforehand. The others on our floor that they similarly kicked out were out for the day already and the hostel staff simply bundled up their stuff and moved it to another room. Once they had moved our belongings to another room, we came home wanting to get a few items from our baggage. The hostel staff tried three different rooms to find our stuff before finding it. I was nervous that they would lose our luggage or worse. They did not warn us upon check in that they would have to move us, which could have solved all of the problems. They also did not clean our bathroom for 3 days, and there was no toilet paper in the bathroom for 3 days as well.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a fairly average hostel, ok but nothing special. The rooms were cleaned every day which was nice.

Disliked: Our room was next to a sex cinema and all we could hear most nights was noises through the wall.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small rooms - very low ceiling in a private double room!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011

Liked: cheap price

Disliked: room was in another building and if we wanted to go back to it we had to ask staff to come with us to unlock as no keys

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: Location close to Roma Termini

Disliked: We were stuck in another location than the advertised rooms. Had to wait almost an hour for someone to drive us there. Then when we got there we were left all alone in some kind of apartment converted into guest rooms. It was in a seedy building on a seedy street and we didn't feel safe. Room was dusty and there were bed bugs. TV only had one channel. Room smelled funny. Tiny bathroom. Toilet cistern tank was installed high up in the wall and it leaked. Tiny towels, no bathmat. Walls very thin and we could hear people in the next room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

01 August 2011

Liked: People at the reception were nice and helpful.

Disliked: The double room we got was really small, not even the space to open the luggage. Moreover the bathroom was small and smelly and leaking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hotel to sleep cheap. Close to the train station. We didn't sleep in the given adress. They have a second room closer to the train station but they had drivven us to the other adress, so it was no problem.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were wonderful and very helpful. The location is great, a 10 minute walk fromTermini station and the neighborhood is elegant. Good restaurants all around, a supermarket, pharmcy, etc. The rooms were simple, but with a pleasant atmosphere.

Disliked: The walls were too thin, but we didn't hear much noise most of the time!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Having a fridge in the bedroom is good; sympathy of the staff and all the help to organize our trips around the city; very good location, in a calm area and close to all the public transports

Disliked: Every morning there were constuction workers making lots of noise since 8 AM; the room didn't seem very clean; the common area was very small and it was almost impossible to get inside during the busiest hours.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011

Liked: It was very clean. Air conditioning. Close to the termini station. Not too expensive.

Disliked: The room we were put in was around the corner from the office. There was one set keys for a room with 4 girls so we had to leave the keys at the office anytime we left. Whoever got home first got the keys, the people at the office had to let the other people in. There were 4 different doors to open to get in the room. Kind of annoying. You had to pay a Euro/24 hours for the internet but it only worked in the office.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: No air conditioner

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathroom, good place

Disliked: no common room


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels