HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

72.1% Overall Rating

550 out of 701 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Karen Wiznia thinks…

"The hostel is separate in two. We were staying in front of it and it was like an apartment with kitchen a sofa, 2 computers, 2 common toilets (and we had one in the room). the location was good, just…"

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.60
  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
22.77 USD

Hostel 87.2% 862 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
36.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
32.89 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
30.36 USD

Hostel 85.3% 130 reviews
Hotel Stella
22.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 19 reviews
Hotel Lella
27.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 266 reviews
The Place in Rome
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 114 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

550 out of 701 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
64.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 492 of 662 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: From the hostel you can walk to the main train station Termini in about 10 minutes. The room I stayed in (6 beds - women only) was not huge, but large enough for everyone to put their stuff away. The beds were comfortable and every second day we got new sheets. The lockers where inside the bedroom and big enough to fit a big suitcase in them. The locks where provided for. The bathroom was all right; the shower was relatively small, but the water was hot. The internet cafe is a small room with a fridge, a microwave and a coffe machine. The cost is very cheap: 1€ for one hour on their computers or 1€ for 24 hours on your own computer. The female staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: the rooms are on the first floor of that building and there is no elevator. So you have to carry your luggage up the first fleet of steps (so you should be good on foot). The one male staff member I got to know was not so friendly. He even came into our room without knocking once...to show other girls the room (but I guess that's not the normal procedure there :-) In the bathroom there were no towls or soap (but I guess that's normal for a hostel).

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alice Richardson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011

Liked: location good

Disliked: strange atmosphere, dirty dorm, dirty bathroom, broken shower, have to pay to use wifi on your own laptop. one of the worst hostels i have ever stayed in.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: some staff was kind and friendly.

Disliked: Location. Coffe is not free. WiFi charged. Checkout time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, quite close to Termini station. The staff was friendly.

Disliked: At night you could hear the AC from outside, when the window was open.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good accomodation for what you pay, reasonably located, very helpful staff. Definitely worth considering when coming to Rome

Disliked: nothing really..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: private bathrooms were a plus, ditto having a balcony.

Disliked: it was fine.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Small room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to central train station, subway. Easy to find.

Disliked: Elevator works from 2nd floor only (we've stayed on 4th)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011

Liked: Really sweet and helpful staff

Disliked: no kitchen, common area could be more comfortable

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alireza Mehdizadeh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 September 2011

Liked: Its near the University.

Disliked: Everything, the price, services, staff, facilities....EVERYTHING!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station and metro stops

Disliked: a little difficult to find

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY friendly staff, wonderful location, nice price, nice old building. Actually I like nearly everything.

Disliked: It is a little bit noisy in the evenings. If you plan to go to bed early it may be a little uncomfortable. But on the other hand - it's a hostel, so there are a lot of young people who may be noisy and willing to party. :)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: I lived here the worst nightmare ever. My bed was full of ticks (garrapatas in spanish). I had bites all over my body... that lasted about 3 weeks. I am alergic to insects, so I had to take medicine also. The staff changed our room, and refund the money for the one night that we slept in that bed. But believe me this was not enough for me... I had trouble with sleeping for days and the itching in my body lasted for weeks. Really the worst experiencie I have had travelling around europe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a good time there... cleanliness place and some of the staff are friendly, and the location is amazing!

Disliked: Only one of staff was extremely rude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Franklin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really helpful and willing to help you find your way around this beautiful city. There was a mix up with our room on one of our stays and so we had to be given a different room which made no difference to us but they were really apologetic and gave us a free breakfast. Cannot fault their customer service. The room itself was exactly what you would expect from a hostel, but it was clean and safe, and it was quiet. Overall a brilliant hostel and one I would definitely stay in again. Thumbs up!!!

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reception was 24 hours and staff was very friendly. There were cupboards for us to hang our clothes and the rooms had nice decorations. Hair dryers were also available and lockers too. Location wise, it was very near to Termini and Conad, a local supermarket.

Disliked: The hostel did not provide free towels, free internet nor free shower foams. There were not enough chairs in the dormitories. There was only 1 bin provided, which was in the toilet. Lighting was quite poor in the dorms too.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to Termini, it's very silent, the room was cleaned daily... it's cool at night if you leave the window a little open. There was a fan, which was really helpful.

Disliked: The woman at the reception was helpful but definately not friendly.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Rajan Sami

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011

Liked: Value for money.

Disliked: The weather was hot but they don't have any air con and even they don't have enough fan to cool the room. No hand soap and toilet was really small for shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maya Mason

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011

Liked: Its close to the train station and you get a private room with a bathroom for cheap

Disliked: The room was really rundown and actually was next door to the recepetion of the hotel. The bed was hard.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff we very rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gino Moio

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 September 2011 Gino would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, the people were very helpful and just a good overall atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and close to Roma Termini. we had a double and it was clean every day, and they gave us towels everyday as well.

Disliked: it was very hot, no air conditioning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice. Not too big, so we had to put our stuff pretty much everywhere, and the bathroom was sooo small, but livable.

Disliked: The staff was kinda rude, especially the first employee we met. It was close to the station, but far from everything else, and for walkers is not such a good solution. Plus, it didn't have any link with restaurant and stuff to offer to the costumer a cheaper but still good dinner. It's something that I've always found in italy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is perfect.

Disliked: The bunk beds were abit noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and tidy

Disliked: The street outside was very loud but it didnt matter too much


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels