HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

77.0% Overall Rating

539 out of 685 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.29
  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
34.55 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
44.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
26.26 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
35.94 USD

Hostel 86.2% 120 reviews
Hotel Stella
41.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Lella
37.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 248 reviews
The Place in Rome
27.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

539 out of 685 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 481 of 647 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY friendly staff, wonderful location, nice price, nice old building. Actually I like nearly everything.

Disliked: It is a little bit noisy in the evenings. If you plan to go to bed early it may be a little uncomfortable. But on the other hand - it's a hostel, so there are a lot of young people who may be noisy and willing to party. :)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: I lived here the worst nightmare ever. My bed was full of ticks (garrapatas in spanish). I had bites all over my body... that lasted about 3 weeks. I am alergic to insects, so I had to take medicine also. The staff changed our room, and refund the money for the one night that we slept in that bed. But believe me this was not enough for me... I had trouble with sleeping for days and the itching in my body lasted for weeks. Really the worst experiencie I have had travelling around europe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a good time there... cleanliness place and some of the staff are friendly, and the location is amazing!

Disliked: Only one of staff was extremely rude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Franklin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really helpful and willing to help you find your way around this beautiful city. There was a mix up with our room on one of our stays and so we had to be given a different room which made no difference to us but they were really apologetic and gave us a free breakfast. Cannot fault their customer service. The room itself was exactly what you would expect from a hostel, but it was clean and safe, and it was quiet. Overall a brilliant hostel and one I would definitely stay in again. Thumbs up!!!

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reception was 24 hours and staff was very friendly. There were cupboards for us to hang our clothes and the rooms had nice decorations. Hair dryers were also available and lockers too. Location wise, it was very near to Termini and Conad, a local supermarket.

Disliked: The hostel did not provide free towels, free internet nor free shower foams. There were not enough chairs in the dormitories. There was only 1 bin provided, which was in the toilet. Lighting was quite poor in the dorms too.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to Termini, it's very silent, the room was cleaned daily... it's cool at night if you leave the window a little open. There was a fan, which was really helpful.

Disliked: The woman at the reception was helpful but definately not friendly.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Rajan Sami

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011

Liked: Value for money.

Disliked: The weather was hot but they don't have any air con and even they don't have enough fan to cool the room. No hand soap and toilet was really small for shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maya Mason

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011

Liked: Its close to the train station and you get a private room with a bathroom for cheap

Disliked: The room was really rundown and actually was next door to the recepetion of the hotel. The bed was hard.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff we very rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gino Moio

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 September 2011 Gino would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, the people were very helpful and just a good overall atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and close to Roma Termini. we had a double and it was clean every day, and they gave us towels everyday as well.

Disliked: it was very hot, no air conditioning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice. Not too big, so we had to put our stuff pretty much everywhere, and the bathroom was sooo small, but livable.

Disliked: The staff was kinda rude, especially the first employee we met. It was close to the station, but far from everything else, and for walkers is not such a good solution. Plus, it didn't have any link with restaurant and stuff to offer to the costumer a cheaper but still good dinner. It's something that I've always found in italy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is perfect.

Disliked: The bunk beds were abit noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and tidy

Disliked: The street outside was very loud but it didnt matter too much

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location helpfull staff

Disliked: no lockers no free internet

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011

Liked: Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Location is good for getting to the Termini station.

Disliked: No communal area, no air conditioning. computer use is expensive. you get kicked out of the room in the morning so it can be cleaned and since there is no communal area you have to leave the hostel. long walk to most tourist sites. staff are not very freindly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Burt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the hotel, which was a great value. The room wasn´t TOO small for a city room--there was enough space to move around and the high ceiling made it feel bigger. Not too noisy.

Disliked: The people who worked at the hotel/hostel were not particularly expedient or polite. AC didn´t work some of the time, and the double bed was actually two single beds pushed together.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xueru Zhong

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Xueru would recommend this property

Liked: -100%friendly reception! -tidy room and toilet, provide shampoo and soap -change our towel daily -perfect location!

Disliked: -HOT! No aircon, when u book the room, make sure your room has AC. i believe some of them has AC! believe me, you cant sleep at all without AC!!!! That so struggle when your physical and mental want to get into sleep but you just cant because its too hot! The fan does not help at all! -due to security, the window was locked! -wifi not in the room but in the other building(reception building) and 1euro for 24 hours -the room is quite small and pack -

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011

Liked: just the location.

Disliked: Walls

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MIKHEIL ABASHIDZE

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2011 MIKHEIL would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: they should be a little bit

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lara Hefson

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 August 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bright clean room with fan and hairdryer. Towels changed daily.

Disliked: The room we were allocated was not at the same address as advertised, although we were driven striaght there on arrival.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zhiyong Wu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Zhiyong would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: room size

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the cheapest shared room which is an apartement off the side of the main building which means no reception to keep guard, but we had keys etc. The apartment was basic but really cool which was great for summer in Rome, it even had air con! Overall this is a great place to stay for a few nights and great value

Disliked: Unfortunately shower was freezing despite us telling them about the problem. Reception is based in a separate building and the staff aren't overly friendly but not unfriendly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yan Duchemin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Yan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff nice all explication for visit the city neer for the train station

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the room had air conditioning and it was relatively close to Temini Station.

Disliked: It was really quite, not the place to meet people. A little dirty


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels