HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hotel Il Papavero Hotel

Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 67%

Location 82%

Safety 75%

Staff 70%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Internet Access
  • Safe Deposit Box

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 47.62USD
  • Luggage Room 2.38USD
  • Towel 1.19USD

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 3 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival.


PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY:
72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied
24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 67%

Location 82%

Safety 75%

Staff 70%

Value 77%

Showing 41-40 of 40 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This was my first hostel experience and I had to say it was good. I particularly liked friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They speak in many languages and they are very polite

Disliked: the lack of good kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: personal

Disliked: locations

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the low price. part of the staff is verry nice and helpfull...

Disliked: when i went to the room that is a lobby, some man came and just shout down the lights, only when i asked him why he did it? he told me it is close in the night... the bathroom was not clean and no one came to clean it for a few days...

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: silence,nice atmosphere,cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Enough for a night's sleep if you just need a bed and shower.

Disliked: Spent 1.5 hours plainly on checking-in. Went to Il Papavero 1 which was already a distance away from train station, only to realise that we were allocated to Papavero 2 which is located on the other direction from train station. Although (and only expected) there was transportation available to fetch us to the other building, it was a waste of time and plans made to visit the attractions in Rome for the rest of the afternoon was gone because of this. Bad experience right from the start.No hot water available in bathroom for both shower and tap. Poorly designed bathroom with water all flowing out of shower area when having shower. Upon calling receptionist about hot water not available in shower area, it was said that the technician will come in 1/2 hour. Called 40 mins later, receptionist said I should keep the shower/tap's water running and soon it will turn hot but in any way the technician will still be coming.No specific instructions on how to check out, I had to feel insecure for the hostel for leaving the keys hanging at the door itself.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice and clean hotel even-though they have ancient building.

Disliked: They dont provide the stair to bed, since i got the upper bunk.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very near the bus and metro station and rome termini

Disliked: small space, internet is not free

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location and staff.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Wall colors, paintings, mattresses.

Disliked: Bad bunk beds with very little space for the person at the bottom, no free wifi, no soap in washroom, staff not knowledgeable about city, a good walk from metro station.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place is good for someone who is simply looking for a clean place to stay and doesn't want to pay a fortune. The rooms are pretty comfortable.

Disliked: This place is pretty cheap on facilities. They charge for wifi that doesn't even work that well... And they charge you for it every 24 hours. So you could end up spending an extra 5 euro for crappy wifi during your stay. Also, they don't provide locks to the room and the security of the building seems so-so. All you have to do is press the buzzer to Hostel Papavero and it unlocks the hostel, and my room was immediately accessible to anyone coming in, as I explained we were not given a lock.Also, don't count on making friends at this hostel. The common room isn't a very welcome place to hang out (as I never saw any guests socializing in there, and the staff did not promote it as a hang-out place).

Check Availability