HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

74.7% Overall Rating

545 out of 695 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 53.59
  • Luggage Room USD 2.68
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
24.12 USD

Hostel 91.1% 847 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
30.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
28.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
26.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
33.49 USD

Hostel 85.4% 127 reviews
Hotel Stella
24.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 13 reviews
Hotel Lella
32.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 258 reviews
The Place in Rome
29.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 113 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.7%

Overall Rating

545 out of 695 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 487 of 656 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

serife ezgi mertturk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 serife ezgi would recommend this property

Liked: the lady at the reception was really kind and friendly

Disliked: they dont give you key and everything is kinda old.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Pepper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: This Hotel/Hostel was spotless. Very Clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I lost my wallet and they helped me get everything I needed back.

Disliked: Shaun left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and super helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Josmar Alas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Josmar would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to Termini station (train, metro and bus station). Close to restaurants and supermarket. 24/7 reception. Private washrooms in all rooms. Big lockers with enough space for big backpacks.

Disliked: You do not get keys for your bedroom, so anyone can walk into the room. Wifi is not included (€1/day) and it's really slow in the rooms, you have to come to the reception to use it. No A/C so it can get pretty hot and sweaty at night during summer. Printing is €1/page so I'm sure you can get cheaper print outs at cyber cafes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station, easy access and safe. For a basic bed at a basic price it's fine.

Disliked: There's no kitchen at this place. There is a microiwave near reception, but that's it, no plates/cutlery, etc. The 'hostel' is in a converted apartment, and though cramped, is welcoming.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

allyce cameron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 allyce would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and there was a private bathroom. The location is not too bad, about a 10 minute walk from the roma termini station which is a good base. The staff were happy to help us out with anything we needed.

Disliked: There was no air-con in our room and it was really hot, there was a little fan but t wasn't nearly enough! The elevators didn't work so we had to carry all our stuff up to reception, then back down and up another flight to our room... Also there is construction at the moment so if you're hoping for a lie in you're not going to get one!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Roque

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for 3 nights and staff were very helpful during our entire stay there. We were given a free map with al the sights to visit clearly labelled and advised by reception where to go and what to see without even asking. So helpful for our first visit to Rome! It was close to the station and easy to get to. Beds were very comfy too and we were given a fan since it was so hot in the room - no problem! Self storage in the room - lots of space and we were able to put all our belongings in there.

Disliked: the only thing I could fault was that the bunk bed in the room - the top bunk does not have a railing to prevent you from falling off the bed whilst sleeping, however did not bother us too much - may for some people though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rakesh jena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 August 2012 rakesh would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to the station and the staffs are helpful.

Disliked: The rooms lock need to be changed. The bathroom is too cramped up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Bit expensive but that's Rome

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shiru Xue

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Shiru would recommend this property

Liked: Its Location

Disliked: If there is an AC here that will b better :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

gagandeep singh

As a family with children

City break

12 July 2012 gagandeep would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: gagandeep left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, staff were nice

Disliked: Ok if you stay out the back and not in the hotel itself you will be subject to sounds of porn from the adult cinema on te block. Unbelievably annoying but otherwise its ok for what it is

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Barreto

Alone

Business / conference

09 July 2012 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and welcoming staff, always eager to help. Central, just a couple of blocks from Termini Station. Clean and quiet place.

Disliked: nothing, everything was good!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ARIF BADEM

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 ARIF would recommend this property

Liked: the location was good, close to termini and the staff was helpfull. the sheets and bathroom is clean.

Disliked: the room is too small and in bathroom, it was hard to breathe. but we had a small balcony and it was nice. the room is so hot in room and the fan is not adequate.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bei Hsiao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Bei would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for 4 nights in 4 female dorm, and good location for every sight seeings. clean and safe, close by supermarket, and restaurants, bars, and main road, easy to get transport. nice and lovely.

Disliked: Bei left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you book a hostel, you just want a bed to sleep in, and as far as this is concerned, il papavero has done a great job. The room was clean and the location is close to Termini and piazza de republica, the staff is friendly and its worth the money

Disliked: The toilet is not as clean as I wished, but i guess everything has a flaw ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Barba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Las personas son muy amables, tuve un problema estando ahí y ellos me portaron de lo mejor.. El dueño super accesible y buena onda... de verdad me salvaron la vida.. Muchas gracias!!!

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 May 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Too expensive compared to facility

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Izzet Bozan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Izzet would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the first advantage, price is reasonable. The facilities looked new to me altough I only slept one night the bed was very comfortable. Attentive and friendly staff. Toilet was clean, showers are inside the rooms which is good. 24h reception, no curfew.

Disliked: The bunk bed on the below has very limited place on height like 30-35cm. I hit my head two times when I woke up and the surface under the top bad which holds it was made of chains one side open. My only complaint about hostel, otherwise the beds were quite new. Beware Internet connection is not free!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Being closer to the center.

Disliked: Toilets were irritating , doors werent closed easily and the idea of using toilet with 4 people and defect doors inside the room makes the room awful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean, good bed, location

Disliked: It could be not hostel fault but I heard resident living upstair my room watching porn loudly and even keeping it the whole evening! Wish hostel provide breakfast/tea too tho

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danilo Lamonica

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price.

Disliked: Paid for low speed WiFi connection (at the room it as relaly slow, but pretty good at common room).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dietrich kayser

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 dietrich would recommend this property

Liked: This place is cheap and has everything you need. It isn't fancy, but when I am traveling I don't hang out or spend much time in the hostel. It is also near the train station which is convenient.

Disliked: In the morning the worker didn't speak much English, but they have at least three other employees that do fluently. Paying an extra euro for wifi is a surprise but no biggie. One disappointment was that there was no common room, but hostels are arguably for sleeping not hanging out. Additionally, the room doors do not lock, only the lockers. This was different, but all went well. The hostel is cheap and good for a nights sleep. I would recommend it for a budget traveler.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cody Basch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: No internet as claimed and no lock on a door anyone could walk in

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012

Liked: It was inexpensive.

Disliked: The dormitory is barely liveable. One night stay max.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels