HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

79.5% Overall Rating

539 out of 684 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.24
  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
27.62 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
41.43 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
35.91 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
41.43 USD

Hostel 85.5% 119 reviews
Hotel Stella
27.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Lella
26.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 248 reviews
The Place in Rome
34.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

539 out of 684 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 480 of 646 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rakesh jena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 August 2012 rakesh would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to the station and the staffs are helpful.

Disliked: The rooms lock need to be changed. The bathroom is too cramped up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Bit expensive but that's Rome

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shiru Xue

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Shiru would recommend this property

Liked: Its Location

Disliked: If there is an AC here that will b better :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

gagandeep singh

As a family with children

City break

12 July 2012 gagandeep would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: gagandeep left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, staff were nice

Disliked: Ok if you stay out the back and not in the hotel itself you will be subject to sounds of porn from the adult cinema on te block. Unbelievably annoying but otherwise its ok for what it is

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Barreto

Alone

Business / conference

09 July 2012 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and welcoming staff, always eager to help. Central, just a couple of blocks from Termini Station. Clean and quiet place.

Disliked: nothing, everything was good!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ARIF BADEM

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 ARIF would recommend this property

Liked: the location was good, close to termini and the staff was helpfull. the sheets and bathroom is clean.

Disliked: the room is too small and in bathroom, it was hard to breathe. but we had a small balcony and it was nice. the room is so hot in room and the fan is not adequate.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bei Hsiao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Bei would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for 4 nights in 4 female dorm, and good location for every sight seeings. clean and safe, close by supermarket, and restaurants, bars, and main road, easy to get transport. nice and lovely.

Disliked: Bei left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you book a hostel, you just want a bed to sleep in, and as far as this is concerned, il papavero has done a great job. The room was clean and the location is close to Termini and piazza de republica, the staff is friendly and its worth the money

Disliked: The toilet is not as clean as I wished, but i guess everything has a flaw ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Barba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Las personas son muy amables, tuve un problema estando ahí y ellos me portaron de lo mejor.. El dueño super accesible y buena onda... de verdad me salvaron la vida.. Muchas gracias!!!

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 May 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Too expensive compared to facility

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Izzet Bozan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Izzet would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the first advantage, price is reasonable. The facilities looked new to me altough I only slept one night the bed was very comfortable. Attentive and friendly staff. Toilet was clean, showers are inside the rooms which is good. 24h reception, no curfew.

Disliked: The bunk bed on the below has very limited place on height like 30-35cm. I hit my head two times when I woke up and the surface under the top bad which holds it was made of chains one side open. My only complaint about hostel, otherwise the beds were quite new. Beware Internet connection is not free!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Being closer to the center.

Disliked: Toilets were irritating , doors werent closed easily and the idea of using toilet with 4 people and defect doors inside the room makes the room awful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean, good bed, location

Disliked: It could be not hostel fault but I heard resident living upstair my room watching porn loudly and even keeping it the whole evening! Wish hostel provide breakfast/tea too tho

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danilo Lamonica

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price.

Disliked: Paid for low speed WiFi connection (at the room it as relaly slow, but pretty good at common room).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dietrich kayser

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 dietrich would recommend this property

Liked: This place is cheap and has everything you need. It isn't fancy, but when I am traveling I don't hang out or spend much time in the hostel. It is also near the train station which is convenient.

Disliked: In the morning the worker didn't speak much English, but they have at least three other employees that do fluently. Paying an extra euro for wifi is a surprise but no biggie. One disappointment was that there was no common room, but hostels are arguably for sleeping not hanging out. Additionally, the room doors do not lock, only the lockers. This was different, but all went well. The hostel is cheap and good for a nights sleep. I would recommend it for a budget traveler.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cody Basch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: No internet as claimed and no lock on a door anyone could walk in

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012

Liked: It was inexpensive.

Disliked: The dormitory is barely liveable. One night stay max.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Denae Hebert

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Denae would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly staff. Good price.

Disliked: Wi-fi is not free (although the 1 euro/24 hr charge is not bad). Wi-fi is only available in the main building, which sucks if your room is not in the main building. No real kitchen, but there is a fridge and microwave.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Herli Surjadjaja

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Herli would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Termini Station and Metro, wide and clean room, cheap

Disliked: Herli left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Abovementioned

Disliked: Had to pay for WiFi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ali imran sandhu

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

05 March 2012 ali imran would recommend this property

Liked: 1-It is located very close to the termini. 2-The lady at the reception speaks very fluent English and she was very helpful. 3- I mistakenly reserved a double room for a wrong date, and she gave me an upgrade of 4 bed private within the same cost, and I truly appreciate it. 4- The room was very clean with hot water facilities. In short I would like to say that I just paid 20 euros per bed, and within this price I got much more than my expectations. For a stay of couple of days, it was the best spot and I would also recomend it for couples as well.

Disliked: my room was exposed to the street so it was noisy even in the night.....but i would rather say that this is very usual and common in almost every hostel.....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice cute rooms, proximity to the centre and staff.

Disliked: nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for your money! Our room was perfect for 2 students exploring Rome for the weekend. Everything was clean and the location was very convenient!

Disliked: My only problem was that you had to pay for the internet, and it was terrible at that. But I knew that from other comments already, so it wasn't a big deal. Still a great place to stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to termini station, clean, friendly.... a very good no hassles hostel for an extremely low price!

Disliked: The height of bunk beds. If u are in a lower bed, beware - there isnt even enough room to get up in bed! One must roll over sideways, drop to the floor and then stand up from there. Isnt nice at all!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels