HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

77.0% Overall Rating

539 out of 685 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.28
  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
34.55 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
44.91 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
41.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
35.93 USD

Hostel 86.2% 120 reviews
Hotel Stella
41.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Lella
37.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 248 reviews
The Place in Rome
29.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

539 out of 685 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 481 of 647 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013

Liked: The location is very convenient to get to main spots in Rome.

Disliked: Only 1 staff is very friendly, and the rest of staff is rude. Also, there is no lock of door which means everyone can enter room anytime.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jovan Djundev

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Jovan would recommend this property

Liked: personal

Disliked: locations

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bakhtiiar Muzakparov

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2013 Bakhtiiar would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel experience and I had to say it was good. I particularly liked friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They speak in many languages and they are very polite

Disliked: the lack of good kitchen

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013

Liked: the low price. part of the staff is verry nice and helpfull...

Disliked: when i went to the room that is a lobby, some man came and just shout down the lights, only when i asked him why he did it? he told me it is close in the night... the bathroom was not clean and no one came to clean it for a few days...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: silence,nice atmosphere,cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carla Martins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: very near the bus and metro station and rome termini

Disliked: small space, internet is not free

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mahesa Krishna Raditya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Mahesa Krishna would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean hotel even-though they have ancient building.

Disliked: They dont provide the stair to bed, since i got the upper bunk.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013

Liked: Enough for a night's sleep if you just need a bed and shower.

Disliked: Spent 1.5 hours plainly on checking-in. Went to Il Papavero 1 which was already a distance away from train station, only to realise that we were allocated to Papavero 2 which is located on the other direction from train station. Although (and only expected) there was transportation available to fetch us to the other building, it was a waste of time and plans made to visit the attractions in Rome for the rest of the afternoon was gone because of this. Bad experience right from the start. No hot water available in bathroom for both shower and tap. Poorly designed bathroom with water all flowing out of shower area when having shower. Upon calling receptionist about hot water not available in shower area, it was said that the technician will come in 1/2 hour. Called 40 mins later, receptionist said I should keep the shower/tap's water running and soon it will turn hot but in any way the technician will still be coming. No specific instructions on how to check out, I had to feel insecure for the hostel for leaving the keys hanging at the door itself.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were SO incredibly helpful. Highly recommend them. They gave me a map of Rome and circled places that I migh find interesting and how to get to them.

Disliked: The room was kinda small and in a different building. Also I had to carry my lauggage up the stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simone mellano

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 November 2012 simone would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff.

Disliked: simone left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012

Liked: This place is good for someone who is simply looking for a clean place to stay and doesn't want to pay a fortune. The rooms are pretty comfortable.

Disliked: This place is pretty cheap on facilities. They charge for wifi that doesn't even work that well... And they charge you for it every 24 hours. So you could end up spending an extra 5 euro for crappy wifi during your stay. Also, they don't provide locks to the room and the security of the building seems so-so. All you have to do is press the buzzer to Hostel Papavero and it unlocks the hostel, and my room was immediately accessible to anyone coming in, as I explained we were not given a lock. Also, don't count on making friends at this hostel. The common room isn't a very welcome place to hang out (as I never saw any guests socializing in there, and the staff did not promote it as a hang-out place).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

19 October 2012

Liked: Wall colors, paintings, mattresses.

Disliked: Bad bunk beds with very little space for the person at the bottom, no free wifi, no soap in washroom, staff not knowledgeable about city, a good walk from metro station.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sergio Santos Junior

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012

Liked: the worst hostel I've ever stayed, behind the hostel has a porno movie that goes until dawn moans impossible to sleep with the head, the people are friendly but the hostel is horrible

Disliked: everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andreas Kalogirou

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady on the front desk was very helpful when I checked in, she gave me a map and highlighted all the important sights (the one everyone goes to) on the map, plus her 2 favourite (free) spots and the local supermarket. She also wrote down opening hours, transport prices and some other useful information on the map which was great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012

Liked: I really found a hostel expensive for what was offered, was a shared room for 6 people and the other hostels we stayed were much cheaper. We had a private bathroom that can be seen as beneficial, but in our room, a bath room only gave us more trouble than anything else. It was something out of the center of Rome, but near the train station. If a person looking for a hostel in Rome to be near the exit area (Trastevere), I think it's a bad idea to choose this hostel. A mi me pareció un hostal caro para lo que ofrecían, era una habitación compartida de 6 personas y el resto de hostales que estuvimos eran mucho más baratos. Teníamos baño privado que se puede considerar como algo beneficioso, pero en nuestra estancia, un baño para solo una habitación nos dio más problemas que otra cosa. Estaba algo apartado del centro de Roma, pero cerca de la estación de tren. Si una persona busca un hostel en Roma que esté cerca de la zona de salir (Trastevere), me parece que es una mala idea elegir este hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maxim Yudichev

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

04 October 2012 Maxim would recommend this property

Liked: -/-

Disliked: -/-

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Diego Hinojosa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012

Liked: The location is right near to Termini station.

Disliked: The shared room is next to an adult cinema and you can hear everything.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, and easy to find from the description provided. We got to leave our backpacks early in the morning, even though we couldnt check in till 11 (which was 3 hours before the time provided on the website!!) Overall a good experience, and recommendable, if you need a place to crash for a couple of nights.

Disliked: The toilet wasnt too clean, and it was a bit smelly in the dorm. Other than that, nothing mentionable at all!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

serife ezgi mertturk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 serife ezgi would recommend this property

Liked: the lady at the reception was really kind and friendly

Disliked: they dont give you key and everything is kinda old.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Pepper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: This Hotel/Hostel was spotless. Very Clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I lost my wallet and they helped me get everything I needed back.

Disliked: Shaun left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and super helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Josmar Alas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Josmar would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to Termini station (train, metro and bus station). Close to restaurants and supermarket. 24/7 reception. Private washrooms in all rooms. Big lockers with enough space for big backpacks.

Disliked: You do not get keys for your bedroom, so anyone can walk into the room. Wifi is not included (€1/day) and it's really slow in the rooms, you have to come to the reception to use it. No A/C so it can get pretty hot and sweaty at night during summer. Printing is €1/page so I'm sure you can get cheaper print outs at cyber cafes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station, easy access and safe. For a basic bed at a basic price it's fine.

Disliked: There's no kitchen at this place. There is a microiwave near reception, but that's it, no plates/cutlery, etc. The 'hostel' is in a converted apartment, and though cramped, is welcoming.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

allyce cameron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 allyce would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and there was a private bathroom. The location is not too bad, about a 10 minute walk from the roma termini station which is a good base. The staff were happy to help us out with anything we needed.

Disliked: There was no air-con in our room and it was really hot, there was a little fan but t wasn't nearly enough! The elevators didn't work so we had to carry all our stuff up to reception, then back down and up another flight to our room... Also there is construction at the moment so if you're hoping for a lie in you're not going to get one!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels