We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

70.9% Overall Rating

553 out of 707 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

"Good location, close to main attractions and the main Train station. Rather good bathrooms, nice lobby with access to Internet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.72
  • Luggage Room USD 2.24
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 3 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
16.77 USD

Hostel 81.4% 908 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
22.36 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
19.57 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.5% 31 reviews
Hotel Virginia
33.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 6 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
26.83 USD

Hostel 90.5% 143 reviews
Hotel Stella
20.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.5% 24 reviews
Hotel Lella
20.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.3% 274 reviews
The Place in Rome
15.41 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 131 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.9%

Overall Rating

553 out of 707 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
65.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 494 of 668 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fine place

Disliked: Just nice but the doors was not good and hard to open

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We arrived before 2 o'clock, but that was no problem, our room was already ready for us. We could also leave our luggage on the day of our departure untill our train was leaving.

Disliked: The property was close to the trainstation, however it was quite a walk to all the sites, especially to St. Peter's Basilica.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hadas Fruend

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Hadas would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed very much of this hostel. The staff was very nice and helpful . The room look very nice and with shelfs that you can put your things.

Disliked: The Internet was a bit slow

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Cheyne

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 July 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and generous staff, central location, very cheap rates, privacy.

Disliked: Lack of air con, slightly small common room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Gorman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Close to both metro lines, very affordable, bathrooms were spotless and sheets were changed every day. The woman at the front desk gave us a map with the hostel and tourist spots marked.

Disliked: The beds felt slightly rickety. Since there was a normal bathroom for each room, rather than the shower in one room and the toilet in another, the bathroom got somewhat clogged up in the mornings and evenings.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013

Liked: Good comfortable bed, good location, not too many rules.

Disliked: No real common room so you need to be either lucky or have good people in your room to meet people. One of the receptionists could probably try using words like please and thanks, rather than being cranky a lot of the time with snappy comments that show her frustration. No locks inside bathrooms and showers which is crazy. Water stopped working completely overnight.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013

Liked: It was clean, there were beds, there was a shower

Disliked: - WiFi had a 1 euro/24hr charge, terrible connection - Shower water alternated between too hot and too cold - Only one staff member was friendly, the rest were rude a - Common room closed at 1:30 am- can't even sit to surf internet or fill a glass of water!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is near from the main train station, is clean, cheap (considering that Rome is expensive), the receptionist is nice

Disliked: I couldn't sleep weel because my room was near from the reception, and I could hear everything if someone were talking, even with the door closed

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Siddhant Gupta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Siddhant would recommend this property

Liked: Clean linen and well maintained rooms ! The staff is friendly and the location is quite close to the Roma Termini, 5 minutes walking distance. The common area has a computer and a coffee machine too. The toilets were clean.

Disliked: I was given a room where WiFi connection was not accessible. The room was just beside the dumpster area which was subjected to a lot of noise in the morning.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Merve Erkaya

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Merve would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to Termini. It is very clean; cleaning for every morning. Private bedrooms are also good.

Disliked: Internet' is not free and evden if you pay for it(ilke 1 Euro), it does not work well. It is not close to central are but it is possible to walk. No lock for closets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good and really helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Antal

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here twice already and if i go to Rome again i will deff stay here!really nice place, close to all subways and train station.Amazingly helpful staff, specially Ica(the blond girl), she was really really helpful and nice!!:) Grazie di tutto!!!:)

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Reinhard Nowak

Alone

City break

10 June 2013 Reinhard would recommend this property

Liked: near to the Termini station

Disliked: no kitchen

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013

Liked: The location is very convenient to get to main spots in Rome.

Disliked: Only 1 staff is very friendly, and the rest of staff is rude. Also, there is no lock of door which means everyone can enter room anytime.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jovan Djundev

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Jovan would recommend this property

Liked: personal

Disliked: locations

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bakhtiiar Muzakparov

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2013 Bakhtiiar would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel experience and I had to say it was good. I particularly liked friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They speak in many languages and they are very polite

Disliked: the lack of good kitchen

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013

Liked: the low price. part of the staff is verry nice and helpfull...

Disliked: when i went to the room that is a lobby, some man came and just shout down the lights, only when i asked him why he did it? he told me it is close in the night... the bathroom was not clean and no one came to clean it for a few days...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: silence,nice atmosphere,cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carla Martins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: very near the bus and metro station and rome termini

Disliked: small space, internet is not free

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mahesa Krishna Raditya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Mahesa Krishna would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean hotel even-though they have ancient building.

Disliked: They dont provide the stair to bed, since i got the upper bunk.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013

Liked: Enough for a night's sleep if you just need a bed and shower.

Disliked: Spent 1.5 hours plainly on checking-in. Went to Il Papavero 1 which was already a distance away from train station, only to realise that we were allocated to Papavero 2 which is located on the other direction from train station. Although (and only expected) there was transportation available to fetch us to the other building, it was a waste of time and plans made to visit the attractions in Rome for the rest of the afternoon was gone because of this. Bad experience right from the start. No hot water available in bathroom for both shower and tap. Poorly designed bathroom with water all flowing out of shower area when having shower. Upon calling receptionist about hot water not available in shower area, it was said that the technician will come in 1/2 hour. Called 40 mins later, receptionist said I should keep the shower/tap's water running and soon it will turn hot but in any way the technician will still be coming. No specific instructions on how to check out, I had to feel insecure for the hostel for leaving the keys hanging at the door itself.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were SO incredibly helpful. Highly recommend them. They gave me a map of Rome and circled places that I migh find interesting and how to get to them.

Disliked: The room was kinda small and in a different building. Also I had to carry my lauggage up the stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simone mellano

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 November 2012 simone would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff.

Disliked: simone left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012

Liked: This place is good for someone who is simply looking for a clean place to stay and doesn't want to pay a fortune. The rooms are pretty comfortable.

Disliked: This place is pretty cheap on facilities. They charge for wifi that doesn't even work that well... And they charge you for it every 24 hours. So you could end up spending an extra 5 euro for crappy wifi during your stay. Also, they don't provide locks to the room and the security of the building seems so-so. All you have to do is press the buzzer to Hostel Papavero and it unlocks the hostel, and my room was immediately accessible to anyone coming in, as I explained we were not given a lock. Also, don't count on making friends at this hostel. The common room isn't a very welcome place to hang out (as I never saw any guests socializing in there, and the staff did not promote it as a hang-out place).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

19 October 2012

Liked: Wall colors, paintings, mattresses.

Disliked: Bad bunk beds with very little space for the person at the bottom, no free wifi, no soap in washroom, staff not knowledgeable about city, a good walk from metro station.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels