We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

72.1% Overall Rating

550 out of 701 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Karen Wiznia thinks…

"The hostel is separate in two. We were staying in front of it and it was like an apartment with kitchen a sofa, 2 computers, 2 common toilets (and we had one in the room). the location was good, just…"

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 51.31
  • Luggage Room USD 2.57
  • Towel USD 1.28

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
32.07 USD

Hostel 87.8% 860 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
38.49 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
35.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
32.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
33.35 USD

Hostel 85.3% 130 reviews
Hotel Stella
32.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 19 reviews
Hotel Lella
32.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.9% 264 reviews
The Place in Rome
30.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 114 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

550 out of 701 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
64.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 492 of 662 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Xiang Yan Pok

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010

Liked: Unfortunately nothing, I hope I did not choose this hotel.

Disliked: Like I mentioned above, the floor in the room is so dirty, I doubt if they clean it. The TV in the room is not working as well. No air cond! and the fan they provide is from last century I afraid! On our first day the breakfast is not provided although it is stated that we get free breakfast. Avoid this hotel!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Darya Khaustova

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2010 Darya would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind personal. They provide any needed help (booking tickets, how to go, where to go information etc.) To have fan in the room was also nice.

Disliked: Absence of shower gel any soup. This very small things but make accommodation more pleasant. Also room is very very small for 6 people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's hard to beat the price. The location is relatively convenient, as long as you have a transport pass.

Disliked: Rather cramped, no kitchen or common areas except a small computer room. The staff was hit-or-miss. Most of them were really friendly and helpful, but one guy yelled angrily at my friend and it was awful.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2010

Liked: The location was pretty good, but couldn't make up for the rest of its faults.

Disliked: The staff at the weren't respectful in that they only looked up from their desk if they wanted to give you the look of, "Is that all?" The beds were the literally the worst we had ever slept in; so terrible that one of us moved to the floor. The bunk beds curved in the centre so as to form an inescapable pit. They also creaked at the slightest movement. Worse still, the room we were in was directly next to a 24/7 XXX screening parlour, seemingly only separated by a thin wooden door. The room was constantly accompanied by the sounds of erotic pleasures. Basically it was the worst sleeping arrangement we had ever encountered.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: living together with people from other countries (especially from the US!), nice receptionist, air conditioning in room, 5 min by walk to roma termini, Price: 20€!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Francesco Galassi

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 July 2010 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: nothing really bad

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010

Liked: The bathroom was good, with hair dryer. There was a TV although I never turned it on.

Disliked: The room was way too hot, since it was summer and there was only one ventilator, which certainly wasn't enough to keep the room cool. The staff was kind of weird, didn't really help much.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Leaving it

Disliked: Extremely rude staff. Yelled when I said I would only pay with a credit card and not cash. Then I accidently dropped my bag which made a big noise and the member of staff got angry and yelled at me again. I would not recommend staying at this hostel.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sun MI HA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010

Liked: location was pretty good. just 5-10 minutes away from Roma Termini. but the bathroom was really bad. water didn't go away, making flood. so I asked the reception whether I could use another one. the lady at the reception introduced me another one. the next morning I used it, which has exactly same problem as the previous one. after shower, a guy from reception yelled at me, " don't ever use that bathroom again" I don't know why he is so mad at me. and I haven't been treated that way at hostel before.

Disliked: bathroom and unfriendly staff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little room (private double with ensuite), fantastic location, staff were really helpful - I would completely recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast in the morning was the best we had!

Disliked: You had to pay for the internet, no washing machine and harder to meet people as no proper social area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, safe and secure place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff.

Disliked: A little bit noisy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security was good.

Disliked: No kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Brenda Cecilia Elizondo Martínez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010 Brenda Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: location is good.

Disliked: but as most hostels in italy, it is not that clean and the front desk people are sometimes nice and sometimes not.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Shopping

02 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and it's clean. Overall is good for the price.

Disliked: There's no lounge and the staff is not so friendly and they spoke italian in many ocassions in front of me thinking that I couldn't understand, which I did, and they where talking about me so that was not nice. I didn't have a key for my room which was open 24/7 and anybody could enter there if they wanted to. There where no locked lockers and the bathroom didn't have a "real" door (it has a sliding door) which people opened in different ocassions while I was in.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010

Liked: d

Disliked: that i was mislead on the website

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROSANNA CORDARO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2010 ROSANNA would recommend this property

Liked: - the staff was very kind to use- we have had a problem with people from our room and they took right away action. After that they asked us everyday if everything was ok. My friend and I appreciated that very much- perfect location: near the station, near every kind of public transport, quiet neighborhood- clean

Disliked: - it would have been nice to have had a place to cook, but their was a microwave although so that's a good start!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Rolling blackouts while I stayed there (from the city or the power company, not the property).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kenny DeHaan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the best part of this hostel. Its more of ahotel, not a place to socialize kinda. Still nice and worth going.

Disliked: No breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pakize senem erkal

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 June 2010 pakize senem would recommend this property

Liked: they all kind and honest

Disliked: pakize senem left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hwahong KIM

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 Hwahong would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is clean and the staff is quite kind. When I got there at first, he explained the around area, bus route and metro. Breakfast is just one bread and a cup of coffe but it's not bad when I thought of value for money cuz I paid 18 euro per night. Anyway I like here due to cleanliness.

Disliked: Hwahong left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Not very secure

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taline kalaidjian

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010 Taline would recommend this property

Liked: it was affordable, clean & not hard to get to. we arrived 3am & checked in which we were very happy about!

Disliked: our room was away from the dorms as it was a private double room. but that was in a building around the corner & unfortunately our room in particular (no. 8) was right above an all night cafe/pizza joint where people would make alot of noise standing outside.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly. The room was threadbare (nothing like the room pictures on this site) but clean and fine for the price. En suite bathroom. Breakfast was at a cafe across the street: a small croissant and choice of drinks (the cappuccino was good). The location was okay, but something closer to a metro station would have been nice. For the price, this was a good place to stay. I am not sure if they have wifi as some of the reviews state--at least I was not aware of that. They do provide a computer and internet in the lobby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels