HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

79.5% Overall Rating

539 out of 684 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.22
  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
38.65 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
44.86 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
37.27 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
44.17 USD

Hostel 85.5% 119 reviews
Hotel Stella
41.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Lella
42.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 248 reviews
The Place in Rome
39.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

539 out of 684 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 480 of 646 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff.

Disliked: A little bit noisy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security was good.

Disliked: No kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Brenda Cecilia Elizondo Martínez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010 Brenda Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: location is good.

Disliked: but as most hostels in italy, it is not that clean and the front desk people are sometimes nice and sometimes not.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Shopping

02 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and it's clean. Overall is good for the price.

Disliked: There's no lounge and the staff is not so friendly and they spoke italian in many ocassions in front of me thinking that I couldn't understand, which I did, and they where talking about me so that was not nice. I didn't have a key for my room which was open 24/7 and anybody could enter there if they wanted to. There where no locked lockers and the bathroom didn't have a "real" door (it has a sliding door) which people opened in different ocassions while I was in.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010

Liked: d

Disliked: that i was mislead on the website

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROSANNA CORDARO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2010 ROSANNA would recommend this property

Liked: - the staff was very kind to use- we have had a problem with people from our room and they took right away action. After that they asked us everyday if everything was ok. My friend and I appreciated that very much- perfect location: near the station, near every kind of public transport, quiet neighborhood- clean

Disliked: - it would have been nice to have had a place to cook, but their was a microwave although so that's a good start!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Rolling blackouts while I stayed there (from the city or the power company, not the property).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kenny DeHaan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the best part of this hostel. Its more of ahotel, not a place to socialize kinda. Still nice and worth going.

Disliked: No breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pakize senem erkal

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 June 2010 pakize senem would recommend this property

Liked: they all kind and honest

Disliked: pakize senem left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hwahong KIM

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 Hwahong would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is clean and the staff is quite kind. When I got there at first, he explained the around area, bus route and metro. Breakfast is just one bread and a cup of coffe but it's not bad when I thought of value for money cuz I paid 18 euro per night. Anyway I like here due to cleanliness.

Disliked: Hwahong left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Not very secure

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taline kalaidjian

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010 Taline would recommend this property

Liked: it was affordable, clean & not hard to get to. we arrived 3am & checked in which we were very happy about!

Disliked: our room was away from the dorms as it was a private double room. but that was in a building around the corner & unfortunately our room in particular (no. 8) was right above an all night cafe/pizza joint where people would make alot of noise standing outside.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly. The room was threadbare (nothing like the room pictures on this site) but clean and fine for the price. En suite bathroom. Breakfast was at a cafe across the street: a small croissant and choice of drinks (the cappuccino was good). The location was okay, but something closer to a metro station would have been nice. For the price, this was a good place to stay. I am not sure if they have wifi as some of the reviews state--at least I was not aware of that. They do provide a computer and internet in the lobby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good cleaning staff. go out of their way for you (personal wake-up service the morning of my flight at 5:30am b/c I didn't have an alarm clock).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is really close to rellway station, but far rom all wellknown places in Rome. but u should consider Rome is really big. Rooms are very comfortable. but breakfast....only cruosan with one drink of your choise...so after 30 min u are already need to eat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful, i checked in quite late at night and they were lovley.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sudeep Kunhikrishnan

23 June 2010 Sudeep would recommend this property

Liked: The property is right at the heart of the city (literally less than 5minutes from Termini Station). Just follow the instructions given in the website to reach there. The hostel is very well maintained, clean, and have internet (and wifi), and all the facilities mentioned. The staff was friendly and helpful. Guided us for how to walk in the city (and a map too). Apart from that, they allowed us to keep our luggage in their safe deposit and internet (wifi) access, even after we checked out (as our train was in the evening). All for free :)I would say, the best hostel - in every sense - so far I had stayed anywhere in Europe. Was worth much more than the amount we paid. Enjoy yourselves,

Disliked: Sudeep left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sarah Anderson

22 June 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful until the point of handing money over. Room was fine, had it to ourselves, then told that night we might have to move to a different night for the second night. Went out next day, got back and got told off as if we were school children, told that we should have moved out by 10 so they moved our stuff for us. Moved room and listened to very questionable noises through the paper thin walls all night. Got free breakfast, but was not substabtial enough for me (decent coffee but small croissant) and free internet, but honestly the bad things definitely outweigh the good. If you can find anywhere else, do not stay here.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. I think her name is Andrea and she is very amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gustavo Gonzalez

20 June 2010

Liked: Really bored, staff no friendly

Disliked: Gustavo left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ERHAN HALICI

20 June 2010 ERHAN would recommend this property

Liked: no kitchen, just 1 microwave and cattle.very little common room with two pc.Free use of pc and free wireless at that place.good location, nice staff

Disliked: ERHAN left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very near the centrum and termini station. if u use train or ryanair it is best choice for money/everything. I and my 2friends were there and everything was very good. i recommend...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this hostel. One of the staff was extremely nice and helpful, but the owner wasn't very nice or helpful. Free wifi, free breakfast, that's nice. Close to the train station. I would stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the metro and within walking distance of all the major tourist stops. There are cheap restaurants and grocery stores right across the street and the internet is free!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippe Girard

17 June 2010 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious rooms, friendly staff

Disliked: Philippe left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels