HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

74.7% Overall Rating

545 out of 695 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 53.71
  • Luggage Room USD 2.69
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
24.17 USD

Hostel 91.1% 847 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
30.21 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
26.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
26.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
33.57 USD

Hostel 85.4% 127 reviews
Hotel Stella
24.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 13 reviews
Hotel Lella
32.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 258 reviews
The Place in Rome
25.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 113 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.7%

Overall Rating

545 out of 695 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 487 of 656 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Francesco Galassi

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 July 2010 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: nothing really bad

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010

Liked: The bathroom was good, with hair dryer. There was a TV although I never turned it on.

Disliked: The room was way too hot, since it was summer and there was only one ventilator, which certainly wasn't enough to keep the room cool. The staff was kind of weird, didn't really help much.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Leaving it

Disliked: Extremely rude staff. Yelled when I said I would only pay with a credit card and not cash. Then I accidently dropped my bag which made a big noise and the member of staff got angry and yelled at me again. I would not recommend staying at this hostel.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sun MI HA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010

Liked: location was pretty good. just 5-10 minutes away from Roma Termini. but the bathroom was really bad. water didn't go away, making flood. so I asked the reception whether I could use another one. the lady at the reception introduced me another one. the next morning I used it, which has exactly same problem as the previous one. after shower, a guy from reception yelled at me, " don't ever use that bathroom again" I don't know why he is so mad at me. and I haven't been treated that way at hostel before.

Disliked: bathroom and unfriendly staff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little room (private double with ensuite), fantastic location, staff were really helpful - I would completely recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast in the morning was the best we had!

Disliked: You had to pay for the internet, no washing machine and harder to meet people as no proper social area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, safe and secure place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff.

Disliked: A little bit noisy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security was good.

Disliked: No kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Brenda Cecilia Elizondo Martínez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010 Brenda Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: location is good.

Disliked: but as most hostels in italy, it is not that clean and the front desk people are sometimes nice and sometimes not.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Shopping

02 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and it's clean. Overall is good for the price.

Disliked: There's no lounge and the staff is not so friendly and they spoke italian in many ocassions in front of me thinking that I couldn't understand, which I did, and they where talking about me so that was not nice. I didn't have a key for my room which was open 24/7 and anybody could enter there if they wanted to. There where no locked lockers and the bathroom didn't have a "real" door (it has a sliding door) which people opened in different ocassions while I was in.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010

Liked: d

Disliked: that i was mislead on the website

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROSANNA CORDARO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2010 ROSANNA would recommend this property

Liked: - the staff was very kind to use- we have had a problem with people from our room and they took right away action. After that they asked us everyday if everything was ok. My friend and I appreciated that very much- perfect location: near the station, near every kind of public transport, quiet neighborhood- clean

Disliked: - it would have been nice to have had a place to cook, but their was a microwave although so that's a good start!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Rolling blackouts while I stayed there (from the city or the power company, not the property).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kenny DeHaan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the best part of this hostel. Its more of ahotel, not a place to socialize kinda. Still nice and worth going.

Disliked: No breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pakize senem erkal

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 June 2010 pakize senem would recommend this property

Liked: they all kind and honest

Disliked: pakize senem left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hwahong KIM

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 Hwahong would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is clean and the staff is quite kind. When I got there at first, he explained the around area, bus route and metro. Breakfast is just one bread and a cup of coffe but it's not bad when I thought of value for money cuz I paid 18 euro per night. Anyway I like here due to cleanliness.

Disliked: Hwahong left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Not very secure

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taline kalaidjian

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010 Taline would recommend this property

Liked: it was affordable, clean & not hard to get to. we arrived 3am & checked in which we were very happy about!

Disliked: our room was away from the dorms as it was a private double room. but that was in a building around the corner & unfortunately our room in particular (no. 8) was right above an all night cafe/pizza joint where people would make alot of noise standing outside.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly. The room was threadbare (nothing like the room pictures on this site) but clean and fine for the price. En suite bathroom. Breakfast was at a cafe across the street: a small croissant and choice of drinks (the cappuccino was good). The location was okay, but something closer to a metro station would have been nice. For the price, this was a good place to stay. I am not sure if they have wifi as some of the reviews state--at least I was not aware of that. They do provide a computer and internet in the lobby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good cleaning staff. go out of their way for you (personal wake-up service the morning of my flight at 5:30am b/c I didn't have an alarm clock).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is really close to rellway station, but far rom all wellknown places in Rome. but u should consider Rome is really big. Rooms are very comfortable. but breakfast....only cruosan with one drink of your choise...so after 30 min u are already need to eat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful, i checked in quite late at night and they were lovley.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sudeep Kunhikrishnan

23 June 2010 Sudeep would recommend this property

Liked: The property is right at the heart of the city (literally less than 5minutes from Termini Station). Just follow the instructions given in the website to reach there. The hostel is very well maintained, clean, and have internet (and wifi), and all the facilities mentioned. The staff was friendly and helpful. Guided us for how to walk in the city (and a map too). Apart from that, they allowed us to keep our luggage in their safe deposit and internet (wifi) access, even after we checked out (as our train was in the evening). All for free :)I would say, the best hostel - in every sense - so far I had stayed anywhere in Europe. Was worth much more than the amount we paid. Enjoy yourselves,

Disliked: Sudeep left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sarah Anderson

22 June 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful until the point of handing money over. Room was fine, had it to ourselves, then told that night we might have to move to a different night for the second night. Went out next day, got back and got told off as if we were school children, told that we should have moved out by 10 so they moved our stuff for us. Moved room and listened to very questionable noises through the paper thin walls all night. Got free breakfast, but was not substabtial enough for me (decent coffee but small croissant) and free internet, but honestly the bad things definitely outweigh the good. If you can find anywhere else, do not stay here.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels