HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

77.0% Overall Rating

539 out of 685 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.20
  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
34.50 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
44.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
33.12 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
35.88 USD

Hostel 86.2% 120 reviews
Hotel Stella
41.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Lella
40.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 248 reviews
The Place in Rome
29.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

539 out of 685 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 481 of 647 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2010

Liked: Checking out.

Disliked: Everything. Avoid this place like the plague. The guy that we dealt with was the rudest man we have come across in our entire trip and made for a very unpleasant stay. Find somewhere else to stay! Stay away from this hotel at any cost.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was in quite a convenient location, rooms were reasonably comfortable and had a fan.

Disliked: You have to pay for internet (1 euro for 24 hours), and the connection was bad in my room, even though I was less than 10 meters from the reception. Showers weren't all that good, but it was passable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernanda Turino

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2010 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: the beds are very big and confortable

Disliked: Fernanda left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010

Liked: clean

Disliked: noise and no Airconditioner Hair dryer not working in our room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing man at the front desk, towels, shampoo, cleanliness.. All very important when you're getting into Rome at 2AM.

Disliked: nothin' really

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew karcich

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

21 July 2010 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: internet for cheap, very friendly and informative staff, free sheets, very clean

Disliked: no locker or luggage room to stash valuables

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful personnale, cleanliness, perfect location

Disliked: There was no ait coniditioning in our room, so there was quite hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Manolova

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2010 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It's great!

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the dorm room is noisy

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

cleber silva campos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 cleber silva would recommend this property

Liked: cheaper, good for one night

Disliked: was very hot, no air condicionair, and dont have lockers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The syle of the room is good..

Disliked: It's so hot that you can not sleep comfortably even after taking a shower. There should be some technology as air conditioner... :)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

felicity wall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

19 July 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: had to pay for internet, woman at desk was rude, bathroom was dirty, it was uncomfortably hot

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Flynn Trethowan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Flynn would recommend this property

Liked: Large room that was very clean and modern, more like a hotel than a hostel. The location was great - close to train station and also walking distance to great locations. Try the little pizza place around the corner from the main entrance - is open late if you are hungry after a night out and do great pizza and desserts!

Disliked: Flynn left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, it was clean and it was a good setup. Would recommend and would stay there again.

Disliked: You have to go up to the lobby on the first floor for Internet and towels not included. Other than that, great place!

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Xiang Yan Pok

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010

Liked: Unfortunately nothing, I hope I did not choose this hotel.

Disliked: Like I mentioned above, the floor in the room is so dirty, I doubt if they clean it. The TV in the room is not working as well. No air cond! and the fan they provide is from last century I afraid! On our first day the breakfast is not provided although it is stated that we get free breakfast. Avoid this hotel!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Darya Khaustova

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2010 Darya would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind personal. They provide any needed help (booking tickets, how to go, where to go information etc.) To have fan in the room was also nice.

Disliked: Absence of shower gel any soup. This very small things but make accommodation more pleasant. Also room is very very small for 6 people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's hard to beat the price. The location is relatively convenient, as long as you have a transport pass.

Disliked: Rather cramped, no kitchen or common areas except a small computer room. The staff was hit-or-miss. Most of them were really friendly and helpful, but one guy yelled angrily at my friend and it was awful.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2010

Liked: The location was pretty good, but couldn't make up for the rest of its faults.

Disliked: The staff at the weren't respectful in that they only looked up from their desk if they wanted to give you the look of, "Is that all?" The beds were the literally the worst we had ever slept in; so terrible that one of us moved to the floor. The bunk beds curved in the centre so as to form an inescapable pit. They also creaked at the slightest movement. Worse still, the room we were in was directly next to a 24/7 XXX screening parlour, seemingly only separated by a thin wooden door. The room was constantly accompanied by the sounds of erotic pleasures. Basically it was the worst sleeping arrangement we had ever encountered.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: living together with people from other countries (especially from the US!), nice receptionist, air conditioning in room, 5 min by walk to roma termini, Price: 20€!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Francesco Galassi

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 July 2010 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: nothing really bad

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010

Liked: The bathroom was good, with hair dryer. There was a TV although I never turned it on.

Disliked: The room was way too hot, since it was summer and there was only one ventilator, which certainly wasn't enough to keep the room cool. The staff was kind of weird, didn't really help much.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Leaving it

Disliked: Extremely rude staff. Yelled when I said I would only pay with a credit card and not cash. Then I accidently dropped my bag which made a big noise and the member of staff got angry and yelled at me again. I would not recommend staying at this hostel.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sun MI HA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010

Liked: location was pretty good. just 5-10 minutes away from Roma Termini. but the bathroom was really bad. water didn't go away, making flood. so I asked the reception whether I could use another one. the lady at the reception introduced me another one. the next morning I used it, which has exactly same problem as the previous one. after shower, a guy from reception yelled at me, " don't ever use that bathroom again" I don't know why he is so mad at me. and I haven't been treated that way at hostel before.

Disliked: bathroom and unfriendly staff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little room (private double with ensuite), fantastic location, staff were really helpful - I would completely recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast in the morning was the best we had!

Disliked: You had to pay for the internet, no washing machine and harder to meet people as no proper social area.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels