We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

72.1% Overall Rating

550 out of 701 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Karen Wiznia thinks…

"The hostel is separate in two. We were staying in front of it and it was like an apartment with kitchen a sofa, 2 computers, 2 common toilets (and we had one in the room). the location was good, just…"

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.60
  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
18.85 USD

Hostel 87.2% 863 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
18.98 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.0% 29 reviews
Hotel Virginia
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
27.83 USD

Hostel 85.9% 133 reviews
Hotel Stella
22.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 19 reviews
Hotel Lella
22.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 266 reviews
The Place in Rome
16.03 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 114 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

550 out of 701 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
64.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 492 of 662 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

30 August 2010

Liked: the buildings were very safely secure, with " different locks between the room and outside access

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Brusco

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 August 2010 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Great guy!

Disliked: Nothing..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca McAvoy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 August 2010 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This is practically a hotel at hostel prices. The staff were really friendly and reccomended all the things to see in Rome. They also gave us info on buses and trains so you could get around the city. The room was lovely and big and cleaned everyday. The location was great only a few minutes from the termini station on foot one way and a few minutes to Piazza Republica in the other direction, here you could get on the metro or the bus and get around the whole city. I would definately reccomend this place it was brilliant!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is provided by the cafe just opposite the hostel. Lovely pastries and coffee. Many locals have their breakfast there as well.The place is slightly further away from Termini but there's a nearer metro station.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't have a signal if you're in a room away from the main block.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sixue Zhou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Sixue would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, good location, reasonable price

Disliked: Sixue left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is served at a cafe across the road, which is simple but very tasty. Also liked the mini fridge in our room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Benjamin Machin

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 August 2010 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: location was perfect base being so close to Termini

Disliked: Lack of atmosphere

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location

Disliked: not proper bunker

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Tominc

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe, relatively easy to find and a good distance from the main tourist areas. Staff were fairly helpful but could be a bit abrubt.

Disliked: Breakfast is nice but served in a cafe across the road so not a good way to meet other guests - probably not one for solo travellers. Felt a lot more formal, more like a hotel than a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff y great

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Limpieza y seriedad. No es de las más baratas, pero recibes un buen trato del personal, te ayudan en todo lo que pueden y no hay duda de la limpieza.

Disliked: El precio y además el edificio es viejo ( el ascensor intimida un poco) ( aunque eso sí, bien cuidado).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sergiusz Szczepanski

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010 Sergiusz would recommend this property

Liked: safe place to stay, meeting other travelers

Disliked: reception is quite disorganised and unfriendly and you have to pay first that if you do not like something you don't relay complain coz you paid already...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people were friendly (they gave me directions for all kinds of stupid stuff i asked), the price was right and it was really close to the train station

Disliked: the hotel was next to a warehouse and around 5 am the merchandise came and there were some un-godly screeching sounds... it wasn't the hotel's fault though

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

12 August 2010

Liked: Lovely place. I like the painting on the wall.

Disliked: The bed in room is quite low.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The staff is very unfriendly, the room that we are was new but have a horrible smell of mold, i dont like the coffe and the place don't have a kitchen or any plate for you do your meal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ROZALIA KARANIKA

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2010 ROZALIA would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and kind staff!!!!and very lovely atmosphere..

Disliked: a little small room for 6 people..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2010

Liked: Clean. Lockers in the room. In-suite bathroom.

Disliked: Not a friendly atmosphere, not much of a group space. My room wasn't even connected to the main part of the hostel. There weren't enough keys for everyone in my room. No small lights, if some one was sleeping there was only the big flourescent light to turn on.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emil Hamrum Joergensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010

Liked: Rooms, beds and toilet clean. Fairly central location. Extremely secure (almost a prison).

Disliked: Our room was located right next door to a porn cinema (literally on the opposite side of a thin wall), which meant the moaning started at 10 in the morning and continued through the day. You could hear it very clearly.. No free internet. I was really afraid, the top bunk would give way when I turned around in the bed, and the noise made from me turning woke up me mate. I weigh around 80 kg...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpfull staff, good location, clean sheets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There were bunks, but I don't like bunks.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

YIN KI KIKO KWOK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 YIN KI KIKO would recommend this property

Liked: the location is quite good, around 5-10 mins walk from the terminal,the room was tidy and clean, we had no problem to stay there.

Disliked: .it was a bit old

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything. Can walk everywhere.

Disliked: nothing

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010

Liked: Could walk to the main sights, or close to main bus route.

Disliked: No key, either for the room or the hostel and no lockers. So there was no way of keeping your things secure. The breakfast was in the cafe over the road, and this was a croissant and a hot drink (no other options). No laundry or luggage room. Some of the staff didn't seem to know what was going on, and whilst we were there, there were a few middle aged men wandering around and sitting on the balcony late at night. They were't guests, so I assume they were friends of the staff/owner.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels