We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

72.1% Overall Rating

550 out of 701 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Karen Wiznia thinks…

"The hostel is separate in two. We were staying in front of it and it was like an apartment with kitchen a sofa, 2 computers, 2 common toilets (and we had one in the room). the location was good, just…"

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.60
  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
22.77 USD

Hostel 87.2% 862 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
22.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
21.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
22.77 USD

Hostel 85.5% 131 reviews
Hotel Stella
21.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 19 reviews
Hotel Lella
28.97 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 266 reviews
The Place in Rome
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 114 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

550 out of 701 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
64.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 492 of 662 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

HALIL RIZA AVCI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010

Liked: Nothing...

Disliked: This is a businnes centers 1st floor...Not available for a staying...The hostel divers the hostelbookers by putting into the website incorrect pictures...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan Hulme

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2010 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Only here for a night, got in late and left before checkout but was perfectly adequate for the price. Free croissant and coffee over the road included in the price.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Galina Grekhova

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2010 Galina would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the railway station. Walking distance from the center. Clean. Good staff.

Disliked: My room (single deluxe) had window to the inside court-yard on the fist floor, an it was very noisy. Audibility is terrible, you can hear how people close-open doors in the whole building. TV didn't work.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

23 September 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: There is no lockers!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The traverllers I met were great chatters

Disliked: Quite hard to find, need to walk quite a distance from termini station

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money. very helpful staff

Disliked: room facilities were a bot old

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very affordable and really close to the train station. The staff at the front desk 'round the clock were very friendly and happy to recommend restaurants, sites, etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was everything we needed - bed, internet, breakfast, and the staff were so helpful, they knew where everything was, and they were friendly too which makes the stay even more pleasant. We decided to stay an extra couple of nights. Directions were good, and it was close to the station which made getting there easy

Disliked: Being so close to the train station means there are a few dodgy people hanging around the neighbourhood, but if you just ignore them and keep walking, there's no trouble

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff answered every question we had. Although the breakfast every morning was slightly smaller than we would have hoped for, it was still a nice start to our day. The hotel itself was very near the Termini train station and in walking distance to other attractions. A wonderful late night restaurant is located in the basement next door. We enjoyed their pizza and pastries after long days of sightseeing.

Disliked: It almost offered too many amenities for our travel budget and would have served us better if our 2 person room would have been simpler and thus cost less.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Alexandra Dinu

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 September 2010 Cristina Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, towels provided, good service ( the room was cleaned each morning) , good location (close to both subway lines), safe area, nice, helpful hotel staff. Nice to have a light breakfast (coffee/tea/juice + croissant)

Disliked: Cristina Alexandra left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Audrey Maudet

With friends / other travellers

14 September 2010 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very very cool and ready to help. Very nice. Thank for all!!

Disliked: the sitting room is quite small but it is nice so far

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is really nice!!! So amazing friendly! The desk girl is totally different than the apperence and facility of this hostel. She is the only reason for me to have a nice experience in this hostel.

Disliked: There is no information that this hostel is under constuction for out side looking. The working site and acient lift disappoint me a lot.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Finley Daniel

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 September 2010 Finley would recommend this property

Liked: Price, location, staff's friendliness

Disliked: Finley left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2010

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: The receptionists were so rude that made me feel very bad, they nearly ruin my trip in Rome. There is actually no facility at all in this hostel, the there is no closet or locker, the water is very small for shower, the room is very tiny and crowded... If you want to have a good time at Rome, pick another hostel! It's really a bad place to live.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Meghan Lane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2010 Meghan would recommend this property

Liked: bathroom in the room

Disliked: lock out during day, bad beds

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 September 2010

Liked: La receptioniste est gentille, elle parle le francais et l'anglais...

Disliked: D'abord il n'y a pas d'assenseur, une fois nous etions au 2eme etage avec nos bagages,ils nous a envoyer a un autre batiment. La chambre avait des fenetres sur larue avec avec la bruits on a cru qu'on dormais sur la rue. Le petit dejeuner etais dans un duxieme batiment de la rue, et il nous a donner l'adresse faux. HEUREUSEMENT qu'on a reserver 1e seule nuit.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2010

Liked: Close to train station. Continental breakfast included is at cafe across the street, but not even worth going to, we got a slice of stale lemon cake and a coffee. There is a lock-out, and we were woken up every morning by one of the cleaning ladies.

Disliked: One day during lock-out they moved us out of our room without telling us, so when we returned our things were laying all over the hall. The new room had only broken lockers and they were missing the keys. We asked reception about this and they said there was nothing they could do. Then when we went to check out, they tried to charge us a ridiculous locker key loss fee of 20 Euros per key, when we weren't given any keys to begin with.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2010

Liked: location & price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Judith Bindels-Carrera

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family
Shopping

08 September 2010 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: location near to the Termini station. Clean and very helpful staff! Breakfast is good infront of the hotel with tasty croissant en good coffee.

Disliked: . I booked a luxury double ensuite for the second night, but we got offered the same room. The person from the hotel said that all rooms are the same and no luxury packet exists. Very strange, so don't book this, because it doesn't exist. In the end they brought us to a different hotel, which was less noisy, but still I wouldn't really call it luxury. But they did their best!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Foley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 September 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like a 4 star room rather than cheap accommodation. Free orange juice and croissant each morning in the cafe over the road.

Disliked: Bit confusing how the reception was in a different building to the actual hotel rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: liked the place.

Disliked: Our room was at another building which is right after the corner. (This was not problem). But, we needed to go to other building to use wireless internet (1 € per day) since there were no connection in our buliding.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 September 2010

Liked: It is clean and rooms with less beds

Disliked: Commn area is very small with no cooking facility. It is a very small hostel and very clumsy atmosphere

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like nothing here, only the location is acceptable

Disliked: The receptionists are very bad, they are very rude and impolite. They blame me for brushing my teeth outside the toilet in my room but I did not make any disturbance to anyone. Also the worst thing was that I followed the instruction to cancel my booking of my stay on the final night 2 days in advance but they rejected me and forced me to pay. Last but not least there is no security at all, I don't even have a key for my room, people can get into our room directly if the receptionist is not here (which I have tried once).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really clean and the staff is nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, close to the station and in between two metro stations for sights slightly further away.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels