HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

79.5% Overall Rating

539 out of 684 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.22
  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
41.41 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
44.86 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
37.27 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
40.03 USD

Hostel 85.5% 119 reviews
Hotel Stella
41.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Lella
42.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 248 reviews
The Place in Rome
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

539 out of 684 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 480 of 646 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010

Liked: 24 hrs of wifi for €1 was nice. Close to Termini. Weird place overall- just has an oddvibe. Wifi only works in the "common room" (small couch in a tiny room). Breakfast was minimal: cheap pastry & oj or coffee. Cheap place to stay but horrible for meeting people.

Disliked: 24 hrs of wifi for €1 was nice. Close to Termini. Weird place overall- just has an odd vibe. Wifi only works in the "common room" (small couch in a tiny room). Breakfast was minimal: cheap pastry & oj or coffee. Cheap place to stay but horrible for meeting people.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

13 October 2010

Liked: NA

Disliked: NA

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and they gave you lockers with locks in the room, so you can use them for free. Easy walking distance to the main train station which connects to the metro and to the airport train. Great little restaurants nearby. Would highly recommend.

Disliked: Free internet would be nice, but it's cheap if you have your own laptop - 1 euro for 24 hours. The guy on reception overnight was really loud on the phone which made it hard to sleep. But these are all petty things. It was a great place.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010

Liked: Nothing much.

Disliked: Breakfast was disgusting, and in room-wise, the toilet was filthy. Staff were ABSOLUTELY RUDE TO THE HIGHEST LEVEL AND WERE RACIST!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Relaxation/spa

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nil

Disliked: the size of the room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

MÜNİR ERDEM AKTOP

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2010 MÜNİR ERDEM would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: MÜNİR ERDEM left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Scholfield

Alone

City break

04 October 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: The Blonde at reception was the best, she made Rome for me, the location was in walking distance for everything, i mean everything! happy hard working, smiling staff to help you at any time! what more do you need, oh and a traditional Italian breakfast to start the day......great!

Disliked: The rooms i stayed in were to close to the lobby as the staff are quite loud to each other and on the phones all day, most of the time you are out sight seeing but if you wanted a rest in the day thats very unlikely to happen....

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

04 October 2010

Liked: Only that was close to the train/bus station.

Disliked: Walls in the hostel are made from paper, during the night you hear all other people/noises/tv form other rooms , double bed was two connected bed (not very comfortable), room with a window wthout light/sun on the first floor so not even safty to open it (anyone could enter from the patio). Photos of the room and the reality was sooo different, for this price double room was not so good.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaness

Disliked: location

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Clayton Gossett

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 September 2010 Clayton would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: Clayton left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast. And the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We paid an extra €5 to use the aircon. The remote was not left for us to be able to change the temperature or to turn it off. During the night out room got so cold i felt like we were in the middle of winter.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaned regular with a pretty good location

Disliked: Unfriendly and rude staff. Two of them had an argument in front of me an ignored me whilst i was waiting patiently at reception.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, safety and cleanness was perfect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

HALIL RIZA AVCI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010

Liked: Nothing...

Disliked: This is a businnes centers 1st floor...Not available for a staying...The hostel divers the hostelbookers by putting into the website incorrect pictures...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan Hulme

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2010 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Only here for a night, got in late and left before checkout but was perfectly adequate for the price. Free croissant and coffee over the road included in the price.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Galina Grekhova

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2010 Galina would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the railway station. Walking distance from the center. Clean. Good staff.

Disliked: My room (single deluxe) had window to the inside court-yard on the fist floor, an it was very noisy. Audibility is terrible, you can hear how people close-open doors in the whole building. TV didn't work.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

23 September 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: There is no lockers!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The traverllers I met were great chatters

Disliked: Quite hard to find, need to walk quite a distance from termini station

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money. very helpful staff

Disliked: room facilities were a bot old

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very affordable and really close to the train station. The staff at the front desk 'round the clock were very friendly and happy to recommend restaurants, sites, etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was everything we needed - bed, internet, breakfast, and the staff were so helpful, they knew where everything was, and they were friendly too which makes the stay even more pleasant. We decided to stay an extra couple of nights. Directions were good, and it was close to the station which made getting there easy

Disliked: Being so close to the train station means there are a few dodgy people hanging around the neighbourhood, but if you just ignore them and keep walking, there's no trouble

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff answered every question we had. Although the breakfast every morning was slightly smaller than we would have hoped for, it was still a nice start to our day. The hotel itself was very near the Termini train station and in walking distance to other attractions. A wonderful late night restaurant is located in the basement next door. We enjoyed their pizza and pastries after long days of sightseeing.

Disliked: It almost offered too many amenities for our travel budget and would have served us better if our 2 person room would have been simpler and thus cost less.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Alexandra Dinu

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 September 2010 Cristina Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, towels provided, good service ( the room was cleaned each morning) , good location (close to both subway lines), safe area, nice, helpful hotel staff. Nice to have a light breakfast (coffee/tea/juice + croissant)

Disliked: Cristina Alexandra left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Audrey Maudet

With friends / other travellers

14 September 2010 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very very cool and ready to help. Very nice. Thank for all!!

Disliked: the sitting room is quite small but it is nice so far

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is really nice!!! So amazing friendly! The desk girl is totally different than the apperence and facility of this hostel. She is the only reason for me to have a nice experience in this hostel.

Disliked: There is no information that this hostel is under constuction for out side looking. The working site and acient lift disappoint me a lot.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels