HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

74.7% Overall Rating

545 out of 695 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 53.59
  • Luggage Room USD 2.68
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
24.12 USD

Hostel 91.1% 847 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
30.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
28.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
26.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
33.49 USD

Hostel 85.4% 127 reviews
Hotel Stella
24.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 13 reviews
Hotel Lella
32.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 258 reviews
The Place in Rome
29.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 113 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.7%

Overall Rating

545 out of 695 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 487 of 656 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Roland GUIGNARD

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011

Liked: the price

Disliked: the noise (coming from the employees, speaking loud early in the morning), the bathroom inside the room not convenient, upper beds without stairs to climb up, the design of the room, the lack of space, the persons at the reception not all very welcoming

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice and clean room, and the location was fine.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was a short walk away from Termini Station, we had a little problem with registration but they were nice and inmediatly took us our room, which was in another building. The room was spacious, the bathroom was clean (they gave us towels), there was a tv, and cleaning service was everyday. Beds were big and confortable, and it smelled clean.

Disliked: The walls were a little thin, so you could hear people talk; not as if in the same room, but we had some crazy italian neighbour that started to yell (instead of politely knock on the wall/door) when the noise of talking disturbed him.There weren't many plugs, and you must take an adaptor, or maybe ask in reception (we had one of our own and in the room was another so we did it)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Estela Monteiro

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Estela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was kind and helpeful

Disliked: Without breakfast. The bed was a little bit old with a hole in the mattress

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shanty Yuliana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Shanty would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the big locker on the room!!

Disliked: the air sirculation on the room wasnt very good, and the internet didnt work for 24 hours :S

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CEYDA VARLI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2011 CEYDA would recommend this property

Liked: location is good. staff is helpfull. and it's ok, you wanna stay cheap place.

Disliked: I'm not sure novels and linens are clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, cheap

Disliked: no internet in the rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: staff wasn't nearly as friendly as other places we stayed at, during our trip to rome

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

junghyun Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011 junghyun would recommend this property

Liked: It locate first floor!

Disliked: Nothing~

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality-price ratio

Disliked: rooms don't have a lock. however, you can lock your baggage in a closet

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Almost everything, if you can book another hostel, do it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Soboleva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: I liked Hostel Il Papavero very much! I had no desire to leave that place. You pay for what you get and you won't be disappointed if you have a positive attitude, and realistic expectations of what you can get at budget Hotel Il Papavero. Personally, I felt very comfortable there. The rooms were good - light and clean. Its located in a beautiful central area of Rome. It's about 10 minutes from Termini and Republica metro stations. Every cultural attractions are pretty close to the hotel. I went on foot to Colloseum and Fontana di Trevi. Breakfast was good and tasty. Every day I met new interesting young people there. There was always very fun atmosphere! Especially I liked stuff there. Recepsionists are friendly and polite. I really felt like at home in that hotel. Can't wait to come back there! The best holiday ever in that place!

Disliked: I was satisfied by everything in the Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Robin van der Aar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011

Liked: Towels were provided without us asking. One of the receptionists explained how to get around the city and what the best sites were to see. Colour TV with multiple channels and the hair dryer was good.

Disliked: Firstly we were faced with an additional tax fee which is not mentioned anywhere on the Hostelbookers.com or on the hostels personal website. Thus we had to pay an additional 12 euros on top of the hostel fee. We were in the double ensuite bedroom which was in a separate building so we had minimal to no contact with the hotel staff. When we were checking out we weren't even asked if we had enjoyed our stay or if the bedroom was nice. The bed sheets had someone elses hair on it, all around the bed and under the pillows. The duvet was dirty, looked as if it was 20 years old and there was not even a clean duvet cover over it. The spare blanket had brown cakey stains. The room was VERY noisy, constant noise from the water heater and the fridge went on all night, also we could hear the people next door very loud and clear.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the staff was very nice and helpful, the beds are comfortable and the location is really good.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, price and room acommodations

Disliked: There isn't a comum area to meet people

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

anna misyail abdul rashid

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011

Liked: nice room

Disliked: no internet, no pantry

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Gorman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Located close to the centre & to the main train station without being too close to either, so not a sleazy/dangerous area nor too many tourists. The staff were really friendly & helpful, happy to provide answers to my questions & look things up for me.

Disliked: The tap in the bathroom needed to be fixed, if you turned it to cold it gradually leaked water whenever someone used it so soaked the floor every day, they did at least clean it up each day. There was only a shared key to the dorm so you had to go to reception every time you wanted to get in & then back to return it (it went missing while I was there!)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ana Lilia Del Razo Gonzalez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011

Liked: good location. one of the owners and the lady in the afternoons was really nice, it is really clean

Disliked: the lady working there in the mornings is really grumpy and like to shh people all the time, not really a good place to meet new people in comaprison to other hostels I've been before

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good- close to Termini station and not too far from the city centre. Also clean.

Disliked: It was quite noisy there even at night. And I'm not talking about people staying there- the staff was the main cause of the noise. Also it was very easy to get inside, no one really checked if you stayed there or not- the rooms were not locked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Cave

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, ensuite rooms with few people and generally a nice place to stay

Disliked: no hot water in the morning

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011

Liked: nice location, nice breakfast

Disliked: the hostel people are very rude and very unfriendly, very small room. just a place to sleep, don't expect more

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is close to the main station

Disliked: there is no kicken in the hostel. it is not so good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

romero oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011 romero would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very fun. The rooms are clean and has a private bathroom, who its very clean too. The character its cool.

Disliked: Not have breakfast or net. Not have kitchen, only a microwave and a frezzer.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011

Liked: Breakfast included and room cleaned was good for the price.

Disliked: The location, room and the security. Very dodgy area. Scary at night.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels