HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero

1 star Hotel | Via Castelfidardo, 50, Rome, Italy 00185

79.5% Overall Rating

539 out of 684 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"A really great stay. A very warm welcome from the lovely receptionist who spoke English very well and was more than helpful with advising us on what the see and where to go. It was one of our best hostels yet."

Read all Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.22
  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Rome City Council decided since 01/01/2011 to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. This is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget to be paid in cash at arrival. PLEASE NOTE CANCELLATION POLICY: 72 hrs from arrival 1 night charge on credit card will be applied 24 hrs from arrival total stay will be charged ( 24 hrs in Italy nowhere else! ).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Papaya Female Hostel
37.27 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
44.86 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Hotel Castelfidardo
37.27 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
41.41 USD

Hostel 85.5% 119 reviews
Hotel Stella
41.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 10 reviews
Hotel Lella
42.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 248 reviews
The Place in Rome
34.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

539 out of 684 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 480 of 646 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: staff wasn't nearly as friendly as other places we stayed at, during our trip to rome

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

junghyun Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011 junghyun would recommend this property

Liked: It locate first floor!

Disliked: Nothing~

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality-price ratio

Disliked: rooms don't have a lock. however, you can lock your baggage in a closet

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Almost everything, if you can book another hostel, do it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Soboleva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: I liked Hostel Il Papavero very much! I had no desire to leave that place. You pay for what you get and you won't be disappointed if you have a positive attitude, and realistic expectations of what you can get at budget Hotel Il Papavero. Personally, I felt very comfortable there. The rooms were good - light and clean. Its located in a beautiful central area of Rome. It's about 10 minutes from Termini and Republica metro stations. Every cultural attractions are pretty close to the hotel. I went on foot to Colloseum and Fontana di Trevi. Breakfast was good and tasty. Every day I met new interesting young people there. There was always very fun atmosphere! Especially I liked stuff there. Recepsionists are friendly and polite. I really felt like at home in that hotel. Can't wait to come back there! The best holiday ever in that place!

Disliked: I was satisfied by everything in the Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Robin van der Aar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011

Liked: Towels were provided without us asking. One of the receptionists explained how to get around the city and what the best sites were to see. Colour TV with multiple channels and the hair dryer was good.

Disliked: Firstly we were faced with an additional tax fee which is not mentioned anywhere on the Hostelbookers.com or on the hostels personal website. Thus we had to pay an additional 12 euros on top of the hostel fee. We were in the double ensuite bedroom which was in a separate building so we had minimal to no contact with the hotel staff. When we were checking out we weren't even asked if we had enjoyed our stay or if the bedroom was nice. The bed sheets had someone elses hair on it, all around the bed and under the pillows. The duvet was dirty, looked as if it was 20 years old and there was not even a clean duvet cover over it. The spare blanket had brown cakey stains. The room was VERY noisy, constant noise from the water heater and the fridge went on all night, also we could hear the people next door very loud and clear.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the staff was very nice and helpful, the beds are comfortable and the location is really good.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, price and room acommodations

Disliked: There isn't a comum area to meet people

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

anna misyail abdul rashid

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011

Liked: nice room

Disliked: no internet, no pantry

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Gorman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Located close to the centre & to the main train station without being too close to either, so not a sleazy/dangerous area nor too many tourists. The staff were really friendly & helpful, happy to provide answers to my questions & look things up for me.

Disliked: The tap in the bathroom needed to be fixed, if you turned it to cold it gradually leaked water whenever someone used it so soaked the floor every day, they did at least clean it up each day. There was only a shared key to the dorm so you had to go to reception every time you wanted to get in & then back to return it (it went missing while I was there!)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ana Lilia Del Razo Gonzalez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011

Liked: good location. one of the owners and the lady in the afternoons was really nice, it is really clean

Disliked: the lady working there in the mornings is really grumpy and like to shh people all the time, not really a good place to meet new people in comaprison to other hostels I've been before

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good- close to Termini station and not too far from the city centre. Also clean.

Disliked: It was quite noisy there even at night. And I'm not talking about people staying there- the staff was the main cause of the noise. Also it was very easy to get inside, no one really checked if you stayed there or not- the rooms were not locked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Cave

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, ensuite rooms with few people and generally a nice place to stay

Disliked: no hot water in the morning

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011

Liked: nice location, nice breakfast

Disliked: the hostel people are very rude and very unfriendly, very small room. just a place to sleep, don't expect more

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is close to the main station

Disliked: there is no kicken in the hostel. it is not so good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

romero oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011 romero would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very fun. The rooms are clean and has a private bathroom, who its very clean too. The character its cool.

Disliked: Not have breakfast or net. Not have kitchen, only a microwave and a frezzer.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011

Liked: Breakfast included and room cleaned was good for the price.

Disliked: The location, room and the security. Very dodgy area. Scary at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: not so clean about bed and matrasses and pillows and blanket.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011

Liked: Friendly staff; good location (nearby Stazione Termini).

Disliked: 'Atmosphere' was minimal; the dorm was located across from the reservation desk, so there was a lot of noise throughout the night. Certainly not a bad place, but it was mediocre. if you're just looking for a cheap place to crash for the night, it's okay--otherwise, look elsewhere.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the staff. charge additional fee to get access to the internet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hongzhi Liu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011 Hongzhi would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff who gave me a lot of tour advice in Rome.

Disliked: the amount of the breakfast was so small...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natasha Prosser

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable beds

Disliked: minimal kitchen facilities

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Huan Wang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011 Huan would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, nice staff,good location

Disliked: poor breakfast, and seems no more free this year

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Van Vleck Bradley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 Alexander Van Vleck would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in another building just under Termini station, three bed bedroom, when paid for dorm, very clean, quiet, comfortable. Would recommend, most friends staying other places were not so lucky! Breakfast was limited, but then for 15€ a night, its one of the best quality price ratio one can get!

Disliked: All good!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels