We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel Lella

2 star Hotel | Via Palestro 9, Rome, Italy 00185

73.6% Overall Rating

205 out of 266 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2014)

Elena Livia Minca thinks…

"The location is very good, close to the railway station, in a good area. It is an old-type building, quiet and clean. The room is not very big but it has everything at hand."

Read all Hotel Lella reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Reservation/Cancellation Policy Please note that for the period of New Years Eve : 29 December-2nd of January we have a 7 days cancellation policy. 3 nights minimum stay. 1) Payment is only in cash, at your arrival, for all the nights you booked 2) If you do not give us 72 hours notice of your 'no show' by e-mail/fax we will unfortunately have to debit your card. The amount charged will be your first night's accommodation. Phone cancellations are not accepted. 3) After your arrival we can not refund money. If you want to cancel any of the nights you booked you have to let us know at least 72 hours before you arrive. B.N.***New Years Eve and Eastern*** remember you must reserve for 3 days minimum Notice about Rome's new tourist tax: Rome city council decided to charge 3.50 euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. It is implemented from the September 1, 2014. We are sorry but this is unfortunately not included in the accommodation fee and have to be paid extra on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Castelfidardo
16.45 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Papaya Female Hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 87.2% 863 reviews
Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero
16.32 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.1% 701 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.5% 7 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 84.9% 132 reviews
Hotel Virginia
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Hotel Stella
21.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 19 reviews
The Place in Rome
14.23 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 114 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

205 out of 266 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Lella'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 252 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Livia Minca

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2014 Elena Livia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, close to the railway station, in a good area. It is an old-type building, quiet and clean. The room is not very big but it has everything at hand.

Disliked: TV was not working, although we never had time to watch anyway.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, not far from the train station (but far enough). Plenty of places to eat and drink in the surrounding area. Good base for exploring rome. Generally friendly staff, all of which spoke some English which was helpful.

Disliked: Wifi was not really available in my room. Lots of notice from the street (earplugs needed!) Bathroom was a little shabby. Not many opportunities to meet people if your travelling solo. No lockers, but there was a small safe in the wardrobe.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014

Liked: Nothing, would not stay here again

Disliked: One incredibly rude receptionist. One very lovely. You had to leave your key when you left and they sometimes took a while to answer the door when you came home. Room smelt. Cheap tho, so I guess you get what you pay for.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la zona abbastanza tranquilla

Disliked: I servizi promessi e non ricevuti

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed a stay in a top floor room which has a great balcony with great views. The hotel is located in a great located which is just 20 minutes from Termini, the Colloseum and the Zoo and around 45 minutes from the Vatican. The Wifi was also very strong on our floor.

Disliked: There were some uncleanly parts of the room, mainly along the bath, at the balcony door and a large taped up section of the window. One member of staff at reception seemed quite unenthusiastic and slow to allow us to check in and was quite difficult to understand when we asked questions. He did warm up to us as we interacted with him more, though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe location as it is located next to the British Embassy, close to Termini train station and in a walking distance to all the main places. The triple room was equipped with all necessary things (clean sheets, towels, working mini-fridge, hot water, TV, wifi at room). The staff was very friendly, and there was no problem to check-in after the midnight and after check-out to leave bags at reception.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Hélène Classine

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013

Liked: Quite good location.

Disliked: The staff not nice nor helpfull at all, one guy from the staff even tried to hit on me in front of my boyfriend hoping to be welcome in France (he told us he wants a job in France). Our room was not cleaned one day, we don't know why. Towels haven't been changed once. Very noisy. No breakfast on Sunday, and it was not written on the website. I know you get what you pay for, and this hotel was not the most expensive, but it was not worth the price. It was quite expensive for what we got.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

GITA ZVIRBLE

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 GITA would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful, helpful and friendly staff, great atmosphere.

Disliked: Could possibly be a kitchen, breakfast room - but it's not a problem. By going to eat breakfast in the coffee shop around the corner you can meet new people, chat with the locals - it's great

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dana Horalikova

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: Safe location in area where lot of embassies are, helpfull and friendly stuff.

Disliked: There was a problem with hot water once (but was fixed within 45 mins) and the bathroom smelled a bit, area of the sink wasnt 100% clean but in general no problem. Problem was noise during nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tayla Hansen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Tayla would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building, big room, got a free upgrade, staff are incredibly friendly and helpful!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathleen Milani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, quite clean, location was relatively close to the Termini station. Relatively good price.

Disliked: Room was very very cold though, 30 min walk to Colesseum, Palatino, Forums, etc., family next door was extraordinarily loud with children from 9-11:30 pm and I had to sleep with headphones on.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Joshua Kappler

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013

Liked: You get what you paid for. The hairdryer and tv were broke but otherwise it was a good stay. Very safe and secure

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

DINCA EMIL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013

Liked: good location; everything is at walking distance;

Disliked: a broken window; hair blower not working, little tap pressure (on the top floor). We paid upon arriving; i asked the reception guy about the receipt/invoice and he said " i will give everybody a receipt but you" - with a joking/funny/smiling face. I appreciate right away that he will not going to give us any papers what so ever but i didn't ask him twice sa we left without the invoice. Also i am SHURE that this was not a mistake (or he overlooked this by mistake). I'm writting this because everywhere in Rome i got a receipt (even for a 2E coffe or 1.5E souvenir)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Hugo BORGES PINTO

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 March 2013

Liked: I would not recommend this one. It was the worst hotel I booked during my stay in Italy. The staff didn't speak english, and I used to speak in Portuguese with the recepcionist who speaks Italian. The facilities are terrible. Definitely, this does not worth the investment.

Disliked: Lack of toilets founitures. Heater was broken.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Courtney Lutz

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Had Major character, the did really well on decorating.. great size, had a mini fridge, tv didnt work, not that we cared, and also had a kettle in the room in-case you like tea..

Disliked: nothing much, the husband behind the counter was kinda cranky, and would send emails non stop about what time we were gonna arrive.. he seems to forget wifi is hard to find for travelers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean, very safe and in a quiet area (lone female traveller), within walking distance of sights, very friendly welcome, all staff pleasant, breakfast at nearby bar good and great service. Room very comfortable and great shower! Given Rome prices, very good value for £40 per night

Disliked: The TV not working but it wasn't a big deal other than, if they had not said there was a TV, I'd have taken a radio with me....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Seiner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, location, elevator

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very friendly and helpful staff - clean and appropriate rooms (regarding price-performance ratio) - secure location - breakfast included - fast check in/check out - 24h reception

Disliked: - too much noise from adjacent road - on the one hand, a little bit far away from the center, on the other hand, it's very secure because of the closeness to some embassies - no (free) wifi in the whole hotel available - no fresh towels a day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris McFadden

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly Owners, made us feel very welcome . Upgraded us to best room in the place with a balcony and gave us a complimentary glass of wine which was just what we needed after a long train journey plus a ticket for breakfast the next morning. Well done Hotel Lella

Disliked: Can't fault it

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dacil Artiles Gracia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Dacil would recommend this property

Liked: I had read many bad reviews of this place so I went with a really negative view about it but I was really surprised then by the staff the room and how easy it was to find it. The free breakfast was good (croissant and drink), we got a nice double room on the last floor and the staff was helpful. We had working TV, towels and a/c.

Disliked: The room had few ants and the a/c was leaking water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rahul das

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 rahul would recommend this property

Liked: really fantastic

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Miła, pomocna obsługa. Lokalizacja blisko centrum. Przystępne ceny.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the security and helpfulness at front desk.

Disliked: only having wifi in the lobby.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012

Liked: The old building has an old elevator that's really charming (and mostly functioning). The rooms have great bathrooms, and the rest of the room is pretty sizable for a European hotel.

Disliked: The owners are a little creepy, unfriendly, and not too helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yixiang Lim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012 Yixiang would recommend this property

Liked: Our host, Ali, was a very warm and nice person! He welcomed us with a bottle of wine when we first arrived and gave us a free upgrade for our room, with breakfast included! Was very helpful with giving directions and we could always go to him if we needed anything. Our room was really nice (although a little old) and there were free towels and our bed was made every day. Would definitely come back to this hostel when we visit Rome again.

Disliked: The wifi only worked on the ground floor so we had to go downstairs everytime we needed to use the internet.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels