HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Hotel Lella

2 star Hotel | Via Palestro 9, Rome, Italy 00185

77.9% Overall Rating

189 out of 248 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2013)

Tayla Hansen thinks…

"Beautiful old building, big room, got a free upgrade, staff are incredibly friendly and helpful!"

Read all Hotel Lella reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Rome City Council decided to charge 2 Euros per person per night on tourists who visit Rome. It is implemented from the 01/01/2011. We are sorry but this is unfortunately NOT included in the accommodation fee, upon making reservation please consider this extra fee in your budget..

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Castelfidardo
37.27 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 28 reviews
Papaya Female Hostel
41.41 USD

Hostel 86.3% 822 reviews
Hotel / Hostel Il Papavero
27.61 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.5% 684 reviews
Hotel Lazzari
44.86 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.3% 6 reviews
Mosaic Hostel
40.03 USD

Hostel 85.5% 119 reviews
Hotel Virginia
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Hotel Stella
41.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 10 reviews
The Place in Rome
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.5% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

189 out of 248 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Lella'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 144 of 235 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Hélène Classine

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013

Liked: Quite good location.

Disliked: The staff not nice nor helpfull at all, one guy from the staff even tried to hit on me in front of my boyfriend hoping to be welcome in France (he told us he wants a job in France). Our room was not cleaned one day, we don't know why. Towels haven't been changed once. Very noisy. No breakfast on Sunday, and it was not written on the website. I know you get what you pay for, and this hotel was not the most expensive, but it was not worth the price. It was quite expensive for what we got.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

GITA ZVIRBLE

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 GITA would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful, helpful and friendly staff, great atmosphere.

Disliked: Could possibly be a kitchen, breakfast room - but it's not a problem. By going to eat breakfast in the coffee shop around the corner you can meet new people, chat with the locals - it's great

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dana Horalikova

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: Safe location in area where lot of embassies are, helpfull and friendly stuff.

Disliked: There was a problem with hot water once (but was fixed within 45 mins) and the bathroom smelled a bit, area of the sink wasnt 100% clean but in general no problem. Problem was noise during nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tayla Hansen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Tayla would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building, big room, got a free upgrade, staff are incredibly friendly and helpful!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathleen Milani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, quite clean, location was relatively close to the Termini station. Relatively good price.

Disliked: Room was very very cold though, 30 min walk to Colesseum, Palatino, Forums, etc., family next door was extraordinarily loud with children from 9-11:30 pm and I had to sleep with headphones on.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Joshua Kappler

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013

Liked: You get what you paid for. The hairdryer and tv were broke but otherwise it was a good stay. Very safe and secure

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

DINCA EMIL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013

Liked: good location; everything is at walking distance;

Disliked: a broken window; hair blower not working, little tap pressure (on the top floor). We paid upon arriving; i asked the reception guy about the receipt/invoice and he said " i will give everybody a receipt but you" - with a joking/funny/smiling face. I appreciate right away that he will not going to give us any papers what so ever but i didn't ask him twice sa we left without the invoice. Also i am SHURE that this was not a mistake (or he overlooked this by mistake). I'm writting this because everywhere in Rome i got a receipt (even for a 2E coffe or 1.5E souvenir)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Hugo BORGES PINTO

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 March 2013

Liked: I would not recommend this one. It was the worst hotel I booked during my stay in Italy. The staff didn't speak english, and I used to speak in Portuguese with the recepcionist who speaks Italian. The facilities are terrible. Definitely, this does not worth the investment.

Disliked: Lack of toilets founitures. Heater was broken.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Courtney Lutz

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Had Major character, the did really well on decorating.. great size, had a mini fridge, tv didnt work, not that we cared, and also had a kettle in the room in-case you like tea..

Disliked: nothing much, the husband behind the counter was kinda cranky, and would send emails non stop about what time we were gonna arrive.. he seems to forget wifi is hard to find for travelers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean, very safe and in a quiet area (lone female traveller), within walking distance of sights, very friendly welcome, all staff pleasant, breakfast at nearby bar good and great service. Room very comfortable and great shower! Given Rome prices, very good value for £40 per night

Disliked: The TV not working but it wasn't a big deal other than, if they had not said there was a TV, I'd have taken a radio with me....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Seiner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, location, elevator

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very friendly and helpful staff - clean and appropriate rooms (regarding price-performance ratio) - secure location - breakfast included - fast check in/check out - 24h reception

Disliked: - too much noise from adjacent road - on the one hand, a little bit far away from the center, on the other hand, it's very secure because of the closeness to some embassies - no (free) wifi in the whole hotel available - no fresh towels a day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris McFadden

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly Owners, made us feel very welcome . Upgraded us to best room in the place with a balcony and gave us a complimentary glass of wine which was just what we needed after a long train journey plus a ticket for breakfast the next morning. Well done Hotel Lella

Disliked: Can't fault it

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dacil Artiles Gracia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Dacil would recommend this property

Liked: I had read many bad reviews of this place so I went with a really negative view about it but I was really surprised then by the staff the room and how easy it was to find it. The free breakfast was good (croissant and drink), we got a nice double room on the last floor and the staff was helpful. We had working TV, towels and a/c.

Disliked: The room had few ants and the a/c was leaking water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rahul das

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 rahul would recommend this property

Liked: really fantastic

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Miła, pomocna obsługa. Lokalizacja blisko centrum. Przystępne ceny.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the security and helpfulness at front desk.

Disliked: only having wifi in the lobby.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Zane Holditch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: Closness to the train station

Disliked: No tooels for the first 2 day and when we did get one ,well, it was one. The Tv did not work and when we asked the staff about it they just looked at the TV and said 'no'. Then you have to pay for AC although we wer provided a fan and that worked for the most part. Parts of the wall were falling off as well. NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012

Liked: The old building has an old elevator that's really charming (and mostly functioning). The rooms have great bathrooms, and the rest of the room is pretty sizable for a European hotel.

Disliked: The owners are a little creepy, unfriendly, and not too helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yixiang Lim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012 Yixiang would recommend this property

Liked: Our host, Ali, was a very warm and nice person! He welcomed us with a bottle of wine when we first arrived and gave us a free upgrade for our room, with breakfast included! Was very helpful with giving directions and we could always go to him if we needed anything. Our room was really nice (although a little old) and there were free towels and our bed was made every day. Would definitely come back to this hostel when we visit Rome again.

Disliked: The wifi only worked on the ground floor so we had to go downstairs everytime we needed to use the internet.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good public transport connections

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Aventin FOntanet

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Es un hotel centrico y el barrio es muy bonito. Puedes ir andando a todos los sitios turísticos. En un principio piensas donde me he metido, pero al final sales contento. El Wc es pequeño, pero para ir a dormir esta MUY BIEN. Roma es para pasear y el hotel es lo de menos. Para pasar cuatro dias esta PERFECTE. precio razonable y adecuado

Disliked: El WC pequeño, pero bien.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iwona Napierala

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Iwona would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Good quality for this price. Room was clean and stuff was friendly and helpfull. Location is also good. It isn`t in the "center":) of city center but almost everything you can rich without using Metro:)))) We also went to Vatican and it was about 40 minutes walk. Colloseum is about 15 minuts away. And the bigest metro station is like 5 minutes walk. I have loved this hotel and I will recomended it to my firends.

Disliked: Nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - not your average hostel, this is much closer to a hotel! We stayed for a stag do, and expected nothing, but were so pleased!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrija Todorovic

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2012 Andrija would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Rome for that price. Clean room.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels