HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pisa hostels
See all Pisa hotels

Reviews of Hotel Moderno

2 star Hotel | Via F. Corridoni 103, Pisa, Tuscany, Italy 56125

85.7% Overall Rating

1437 out of 1585 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

"Good location, near the train station and about a 20 - 30 minute walk to the Leaning Tower. Reasonable sized but clean enough rooms. Breakfast was typically Italian and basic but appreciated nonetheless. Hotel was quite…"

Read all Hotel Moderno reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pisa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pisa

Michele Guest House
51.08 USD

Guesthouse 95.1% 97 reviews
50 Meters to the Station
21.62 USD

Guesthouse 54.7% 21 reviews
Central Station Guest-House
17.81 USD

Guesthouse 55.0% 178 reviews
Hotel la Pace
42.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 66 reviews
Hostel Pisa
19.33 USD

Hostel 85.7% 894 reviews
Hotel Milano
26.23 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Roseto
43.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 46 reviews
Dei Cavalieri B&B
37.96 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

1437 out of 1585 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Moderno'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 1058 of 1110 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 42 | 43   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near the train station and about a 20 - 30 minute walk to the Leaning Tower. Reasonable sized but clean enough rooms. Breakfast was typically Italian and basic but appreciated nonetheless. Hotel was quite noisy at times with people moving around in the room above us and dragging suitcases down the stairs early in the morning - this wasn't a major problem however and didn't effect our sleep quality. A good value option for a few nights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Muhammad Amirul Hareez Zaharan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

02 April 2014 Muhammad Amirul Hareez would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find from aeroporto and to reach pisa centrale.

Disliked: had a strong smell of bleach

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for train station and airport

Disliked: Noisy - although there is no noise from the very close rail line and airport (it is double glazed) noise carries within the hotel very easily, so banging doors, talking in reception, stuff dropping on teh floor above etc, very disturbing at night. The staff do not speak any English, you need some Italian.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the excellent price-value proportion, the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, the clean bedlines and the comfortable beds. There is a beautiful atmosphere, it is a really authentic Italian hotel managed by an extremely helpful and friendly family.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil McClelland

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The gentleman was very helpful and friendly. The location was just along from the train station, and since I was only staying one night, this was very useful for me.

Disliked: If I had been staying longer, perhaps being so close to the train station would have become a little irritating, what with the noise and all. Having said that, though, I don't think it would've been a major issue.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brandon Boh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Brandon would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable. best hotel in Italy, at least it looked like a proper hotel. Staff directed us to the best local pizza shop up the street :)

Disliked: no wi-fi in the room...only the common area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Evrything

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ronny Beer

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2013 Ronny would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Moderno was a very short walk from the train station, about 5-7 minutes. The lobby and front desk was open 24 hours and the staff members were all very kind and helpful. They served a complimentary pleasant, simple, warm breakfast and the bathroom in the room was very large.

Disliked: The room was tiny and old fashioned. It felt that it had not been renovated in a very long time. The location wasn't in the greatest part of town, though I was traveling with my boyfriend so I felt safe. I probably would not want to walk around there as a female, alone, at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy walking distance from the train station (5 minutes), the airport (20 minutes) and centre of town (15-20 minutes) so great location. 24 hour reception, very friendly staff and great breakfast included. No problems with room or communal shower. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna James

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, extremely helpful and friendly. Loved the location, easy to get to everything in Pisa. Would recommend without hesitation :)

Disliked: Donna left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013

Liked: a

Disliked: a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Currie Underwood

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

07 July 2013 Currie would recommend this property

Liked: very close to train station (5 minute walk), friendly staff, looks better than a 2 star hotel

Disliked: there was no wifi in our room and no elevator (thankfully we only had 1 suitcase).. and they don't turn on the AC until 2:30pm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was AWESOME - croissants, cereal, coffee/tea, juices, water, toast, yogurt, etc. Some might complain that it wasn't a hot breakfast (eggs, sausage, etc), but there was plenty to eat and it was all very good. Location is within walking distance of the airport (20 minutes) and the train station (5 minutes), so it was perfect for when you have limited time between travels.

Disliked: Only problem is that there is ZERO nightlife in the area, nothing to do past 8 or 9pm.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable beds Powerful shower Clean The staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: No lift!! Not a very relaxing breakfast! The lady organising the breakfast was very noisy and plates and cutlery were being clattered throughout our breakfast!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Scott H

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station and shopping. A little far from the Leaning Tower, but still walking distance. Close to lots of restaurants

Disliked: I had a room facing the street so as in all European cities, it was a bit loud at times.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Simmons

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: It's easy to find, and placed in a quiet part of Pisa. Unlike the place I stayed the previous night, which although was much better location, it was very noisy because of all the drinking in the streets they do there.

Disliked: Breakfast kind of sucked. I had cornflakes (as it was the only cereal they had), they were very soft, and the milk was at room temperature. They had yoghurts on the table too, and seemed to provide coffee etc.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Karczewska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is very close to the airport, it was an advantage while we arrived late in the evening. It is also really close to the train station and to the centre generally. It took us 20 min to get to the Pisa tower and other monuments. I have to say it's very clean. The atmosphere and service is great.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Leah

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 September 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location for us ..handy for the very good public transport in Pisa..bus stop for airport 50 yards away ditto Leaning Tower ( Lam Rossa ).Its not a posh place but its ideal if you are breaking a journey for a few days and the breakfast was fine (Continental )..Station 200 yards or so..Italian railways great value..if you've tried Firenza try Siena..I like it better and Lucca is a must.All round very good value perfectly adequate for short stays.VERY handy

Disliked: Not alot

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walk from the train station. Good brekky for the type of accommodation. Little bit rough around the edges but clean and comfy. Good stay for the price.

Disliked: The surrounds seemed a bit rough. Wouldn't like to walk there late night alone.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christopher Hennessey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the station so didn't have to lug our backpacks around. Room had a air con which we were given a remote control to so it was lovely and cool once we got back from the hot sun all day

Disliked: About 6 rooms all feeding onto 1 toilet/bathroom so there was ~12 people trying to get into each bathroom each day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Grazie per la colazione senza glutine. :) Thank you for the breakfast glutein free. :)

Disliked: Era un po disturbato il rumoro della stazione durante la notte. our window looked out on the railway station and the noise was big at night too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

xiaojun Liang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 August 2012 xiaojun would recommend this property

Liked: Er....So close to train station,no more than 10 mins on foot. Good for traveler who need to take the early train.

Disliked: xiaojun left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawn Bebb

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: Just got back from a 3 night stay at Hotel Moderno. I am surprised by the comments about cleanliness as our room with bathroom was very clean on arrival and was cleaned every day we stayed. The room was of a good double size and the air conditioning was adequate. The hotel is open 24 hrs and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Whilst the breakfast was limited in choice the food and drinks on offer were fresh and tasty. The hotel is only a few minutes walk to the train station and bus terminal. The walk to the centre of Pisa is about 10-15mins and the Leaning tower is another 15mins on top of that. We walked to and from the airport which is easy to find and only 15mins stroll.

Disliked: It is difficult to find any faults for the price, my only request would be a safe for passports etc.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012

Liked: Located near the airport, very close to train station and 20 minute walk to city centre. Value for your money.

Disliked: Not very clean...better to use shared bathrooms at night or early in the morning. Rooms and facility are a bit shabby. Staff is friendly, but doesn't have updated info (waited 40 minutes for a bus that didn't come). Breakfast isn't much, but we were surprised it was included in the price. Don't expect too much. The offer free wifi, but we didn't get it to work. Alas.... also you have to ask for a log in code every hour.


See all Pisa hostels
See all Pisa hotels