HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pisa hostels
See all Pisa hotels

Reviews of Royal Victoria Hotel

3 star Hotel | 12 Lungarno Pacinotti, Pisa, Tuscany, Italy 56126

85.5% Overall Rating

135 out of 145 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2014)

"Quaint and charming, yet affordable, clean, and in a very convenient location. There's a rooftop terrace with a great view of the city, and the staff we met were all friendly and helpful."

Read all Royal Victoria Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 53.13
  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

- The amount of one night will be reserved as a guarantee: this is NOT A CHARGE. CANCELLATION - You may cancel with NO CHARGE up to midnight before arrival date. *) Charge for Cancellation on Day of Arrival: 100% of the agreed rate. *) Charge in case of No-Show: 100% of the agreed rate.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pisa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pisa

Hotel Leonardo
53.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.1% 15 reviews
B&B Ponte di Mezzo
35.42 USD

Guesthouse 74.1% 47 reviews
Pensione Rinascente
26.88 USD

Hostel 93.4% 20 reviews
Centro Storico B and B
40.80 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 125 reviews
Mazzini 16 Downtown
24.67 USD

Guesthouse 72.1% 9 reviews
Hotel di Stefano
47.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 33 reviews
B&B Antica Piazza dei Miracoli
58.62 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Gli Arlecchini B&B
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 70.3% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

135 out of 145 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Royal Victoria Hotel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 112 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint and charming, yet affordable, clean, and in a very convenient location. There's a rooftop terrace with a great view of the city, and the staff we met were all friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Paint is peeling in places, though this is to be expected for an old building.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so beautiful and such an ideal spot.

Disliked: There was no safe in the room and seemingly no other option for valuables.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was really awesome! Better than expected! Great value for the money

Disliked: They charged you for the wifi per hour

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Caruana

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is an absolute gem, I am so happy that I found this on your website. The staff are fantastic, very helpful, friendly and very accomodating. I needed an adaptor to charge my phone which I was given at reception, however it still wouldn't fit my phone so the receptionist very kindly charged it for me via the USB cable on the hotel pc. Fabulous. We were given a room overlooking the river, with balcony on the first floor, we had our own bathroom (I mention this because I saw in some reviews that some rooms seem to have shared bathrooms), enough towels. The hotel is gorgeous, full of antiques, large rooms, it really does feel like you are a special guest in someone's home. As for location it is perfect, right in the middle of the train station (just a ten minute walk over the bridge) and maybe a fifteen minute walk to the famous Tower. Shops are on your doorstep, the Borgo Stretto is just round the corner with a lovely artisan market there. Breakfast in the hotel is ample, a large selection of bread, crackers, jams, marmalade, joghurt, juices, cereals, Nutella (it is Italy after all!), hams & cheeses, tea or coffee is brought to the table. A toaster would be nice to have something warm in the morning but otherwise it's great.

Disliked: The location is a bit noisy, there's a bar on the corner, about 50m away and it can be quite loud. Our room was overlooking the river and a main road so the traffic was quite noisy both evening and early morning. If you're a light sleeper I'd suggest earplugs because it really did sound like we had the window open, which of course it wasn't.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samantha Tock

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012

Liked: Strategic location, and the breakfast was really good, wide selection and you get fresh cappucino too!

Disliked: The building is old, gives a creepy feel to it. But that may be because I arrived late. Shared toilet lacks a basin and is very tiny! My floor didn't have a shower room and I needed to climb another floor to take a shower. (Which I didn't, because I'm a coward ) Doors are flimsy and it gets pretty noisy in the night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was in a great location, near everything and it was lovely along the river

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Micallef-Grimaud

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: A charming character property, taking you back in time, when travel was strictly for royalty and the wealthy. Full of history....a delightful authentic place with equally delightful and friendly management and staff. There is no other place i want to stay the next time I am in Pisa, other than The Royal Victoria.

Disliked: We enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Royal Victoria...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christine Schuy

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 August 2012 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: old character, roof terrace, huge continental breakfast, friendly staff and great location

Disliked: budget price means 1 toilet and 1 bathroom for the whole floor. was ok for 2 nights and the price but if you have the money take an ensuite room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Abhinav Sharma

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Abhinav would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, decent location. The ensuite rooms are good.

Disliked: Room with shared bathroom wasn't as nice. Loud noises from a bylane and a pub/club closeby very late in the night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sue Shadoff

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Sue would recommend this property

Liked: I was happy that my room had air conditioning as advertised! I also had my own bathroom and a TV.

Disliked: I didn't really like having to leave key at the front desk, but I know this is often the custom in Europe.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Paine

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel has alot of character and charm. Relaxing in the roof top terrace was a favorite pasttime The staff are extremely helpful and speak fluent english which was a plus for me. Cannot highly recommend it enough.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bowen Shi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Bowen would recommend this property

Liked: real good hotel that is value for money

Disliked: although it is pretty old and one of our rooms the air condition broke down

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Anna Jacaszek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012

Liked: Dobra lokalizacja w centrum, blisko krzywej wiezy i niedaleko stacji kolejowej.

Disliked: małe pokoje, bez klimatyzacji, rozwalakąca się winda, okna nie można otworzyć

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mang Hei San

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Mang Hei would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast!!! and the great interior of the hotel

Disliked: the rocky road to the hotel..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Historical and charming hotel

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Roupakia

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money. grand building. central location. great breakfast

Disliked: old doors made it feel not very secure. cheap plastic flowers on nice old furniture

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Chandras

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay! It's actually a 3 star hotel right on the river but on the top floor they have rooms with shared bathrooms which makes it more of a hostel. We never had problems with sharing the bathrooms though and the hotel is beautiful, quiet, safe, and secure, and right between the train station and the major attractions like the tower. The breakfast they provide is great. Coffee, juices, cereals, toast, yogurt, fruit and fresh mozzerella.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiebei Zhu

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

08 April 2012 Jiebei would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is nice and the enviroment is clean. The assistants were very helpful for us by providing wide range of informations in this town. The room is big. We original booked a double-bed room in this hotel with shared bathroom, and they updated it to the one with private bathroom, due to lack of costomers. I will strongly recommend it to everybody and sure you will have a nice night

Disliked: Jiebei left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristi Chen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Kristi would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is located right on the Arno River, which is great. A big plus that I didn't expect was that not only do they offer free breakfast (which is a buffet, but I was not around during the hours in which they offer it), but from early hours (4.30 AM until official breakfast hours), they offer a quick station where you can grab some breakfast on the go. FURTHERMORE, if you need to travel during obscene hours (such as myself.. checked out at 3.30 AM), they give you a nice little bag packed with food and orange juice to take! Very cute.

Disliked: This hotel is from the 11th century. It is old. They still use skeleton keys (cute though). However, this leaves us with doors that are VERY weak (from one reviewer, apparently his didn't even lock) and bathrooms that are very small. It adds charm, but also makes it a bit uncomfortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Sharp

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good hotel in a great location. Although our bedroom was pretty basic, the main public rooms of the hotel were interesting and a bit plush - and the terrace on the roof was a terrific bonus. The staff were really pleasant and helpful too, especially the young male receptionist.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike really.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hotel in the middle of Pisa. Nice old building. Very nice breakfast!

Disliked: You could open the room even when it was locked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was incredibly cheap considering the great location, spacious room, friendly staff and character of the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel for its incredible value.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martha Jane Laybourne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

16 August 2010 Martha Jane would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is a wonderfully old fashioned and charming place, great value for money and in a brilliant location. Unfortunately the only shared shower is on the 4th floor which was a minor downside as we were on the 2nd. However, the service and the included breakfast were brilliant. This is a hotel though not a hostel so brilliant for couples but not necessarily for backpacking groups.

Disliked: nothing


See all Pisa hostels
See all Pisa hotels