HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ambrosiana Milan

1 star Hotel | via plinio 22, Milan, Italy 20129

75.0% Overall Rating

62 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/12/2013)

"- near metro - 20 min walking distance from downtown - 15 min walking distance from train station"

Read all Hostel Ambrosiana Milan reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Del Sole
32.23 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Aurelia
40.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.0% 138 reviews
Sofia Hostel 2
26.86 USD

Hostel 76.5% 189 reviews
Affittacamere Scacco Matto
26.86 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 70 reviews
Hotel Dorè
67.14 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Paganini
20.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 71 reviews
Hotel Serena
43.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.5% 111 reviews
Hotel The Best
29.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.5% 404 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.0%

Overall Rating

62 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ambrosiana Milan'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 53 of 74 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikhail Varushichev

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: They have a good terrasse for having breakfast or chilling. Friendly staff

Disliked: Mikhail left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 March 2014

Liked: It was fairly close to the central station and the wi-fi signal was good.

Disliked: The TV didn't have a signal and there was a lot of mould on the walls, particularly in the bathroom.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - near metro - 20 min walking distance from downtown - 15 min walking distance from train station

Disliked: - Italian so called "breakfast" in general. In this property or any other. - Whem we came, there was no heating and hot water in the room, but they solved it really quickly.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Stanislava Panova

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013

Liked: Location is quite comfortable: close to metro and central train station.

Disliked: Wifi signal doesn't penetrate on second floor at all. Staff speaks english with great problems, odesn't know the rooms. Doors are in bad condition, some are impossible to close. Windows are bad condition as well and in winter it might be fun to stay there. Breakfast is poor -just cereals, milk, some croussan and that's it. When we came second time (after one night in another city), they didn't have pur booking and give us keys for the room, which wasn't cleaned at all. It took the guy working on reception about 15-20 minutes to find another room in spite of the fact that the hostel was busy maximum 20%. They just changed the owner and it was a great mess. Another problem is that they didn't have even one map to show us the way around Milan. Answers on quesions like where would you recommend to go were useless, they aren't prepared for them. May be new owner will improve the situation.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 October 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cold water shower

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

andrew robinson

Alone

City break

30 September 2013 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Very central to all the main attractions.

Disliked: I liked most things but the breakfast was basic..if i have to find fault

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there is shower in room.

Disliked: the wifi is a little bit weak.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The hotel claimed to be a hostel type fun environment. In reality, it's a quiet sweatshop hotel filled with beds to sleep on in a cramped space. Where do I begin with the list of problems that this place had? I can start with the ventilation inside the room--there is none. It is literally hotter inside than it is outside. You sit on the bed and you start sweating. They have some crappy fan that doesn't blow air past your arms distance. We had to leave the main door open so there is some type of ventilation so we don't kill ourselves in the heat. The shower was garbage (it felt like someone was pissing on you), and the head fell off. The door handle to the restroom also fell off. There were Mosquitos in the room that bit us, and while we're writing this review 4 days later, we're still itching. The breakfast was for prisoners: you get one kids plate of a piece of bread, milk and jam. We had 4 people in the room, there was only one electrical outlet that was open for use. How are we supposed to charge our phones or do anything that requires electricity with that one outlet? The ground got very wet because of the humidity and caused filthy mess on the floor from walking over it to get in and out of the shower. Receptionist girl barely spoke English, but the bigger gentlemen was very nice and was able to answer any questions we had. Disregard half the reviews on this page. We were utterly fooled by some of the misleading reviews. This was the worst placed we stayed in across our entire Europe trip, however we did love Milan.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

georgina barnes-tee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 georgina would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was close to the metro and you could get around any part of milan for one euro fifty excellent value. The staff was always helpful and willing to mark on a map anywhere you wanted to go.

Disliked: All good would of been nice to have more ceral choice for breakfast

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hieu Pham Van

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013

Liked: Hotel is located closed to trail station, but neighborhood isn't clean and doesn't feel safety either Stuffs were friendly and do speak well english. Breakfast on a terase. .

Disliked: Shower in a room quite surprised me, room was really small and the bed was small and the neighborhood was noisy. There is Car washer nearby and it's noisy. There was only one toiler for 5 rooms, quite a queue in the morning. Breakfast served with plastic dishes, I ate with plastic when I was 5 years old, but now, that was odd.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Pieneman

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station and metro (metro is cheap), very cute room with a beautiful terrace

Disliked: Showers aren't great (they spray all over and take a while to warm up), bed's quite hard but if you like that, then I guess that's a positive; and the linens are not very warm

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gülçin Yilmaz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013

Liked: Only one staff who ask preparing a coffee for us with a favour and bookshelves which are located in the corridors.

Disliked: The heating system wasn't work. We informed them about this situation three times only at that time they opened.But it was not enough, the room was really cold. Also in the night they closed the heating which is already not enough. And there are lots of staff who work for reception. In the evening when i ask about some drinking to one of them another guest came there and start to asking about something in Italian. And the woman who work in for the reception start to answer the guest when i was waiting. After she didn't apologise to me. She was disrespectful for me. Another bad story with another staff, at the breakfast time when i ask about only a knife one of them said that "yes, they have run out of it, there are no knife." And anyhow she didn't help me. Thirdly, when we were at the outside a cleaning staff had come to the our room to tidy up. But he had put my cable of computer into the sink which is for food. Lastly, the door bell which is located at the outside of courtyard wasn't work. You have to push lots of time until they open and our room door didn't close anyhow without locking.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Livia Luiza Fagundes de Souza

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Livia Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The room is ok and we did have a shower in the room and it was nice once we haven't paid for that.

Disliked: It's a little bit far from the duomo center. You have to walk like 7min to the underground, then take the subway, it's 3 stations far. I would've liked to stay closer. Also, if you have a lot of bagagge don't go there because there are a lot of stairs. It's a bit hard to find as well. But it a place ok to stay just for one or two days.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price and 24h reception

Disliked: Cold public shower

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anne van Gils

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great; only 15 minutes walk from central station and 10 minutes to the nearest metro station. The staff was really friendly. Free wifi and 24 hour reception.

Disliked: Because of the thin walls, it was very noisy. Breakfast was rather poor. On our first night, one of the staff members lost the key to our room.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 October 2012

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: BATHROOM if we can call it its name, door of my room was not difficult to break I guess. from the bed I looked directly at the {not nice} "hygiene corner" of my room. loud in the evening, really bad view from the window and really BAD breakfast with really BAD coffee {in ITALY} all on very bad plastic plates etc. and I payed too much for a single room with shared bathroom. it was just a stay from necessity, nothing pleasant. I left as soon as possible in the morning

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 September 2012

Liked: I found the room to be really good value, it was clean, in a pretty good location and the majority of staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There are a couple of things that would make me avoid this hotel in future or recommending it to anyone: 1. Next door to the hotel was a car garage which obviously had a paintshop and the exhaust for the extractor ventilation system was as the same height as my window and only about 10 meters away. While this wasn't a problem during the weekend while no work was going on, on a couple of night during the week this resulted in my room absolutely stinking of paint fumes to the point I could barely breath and had to close the window, which was far from ideal as the room was not air-conditioned and the temperature was pretty high. 2. I really disliked one member of staff, who was very unhelpful and quite rude to be honest. I mistakenly thought breakfast started at 7:00 and went down at 7:00 as I had to leave at 7:15 to get to a conference, which I was in Milan for. He told me that breakfast didn't start until 7:30 and when I explained I had to leave before then and asked if I could possibly grab something early, as breakfast was all set out ready and it consisted of pre-packed pastries and cornflakes so its not as if he had to actually do anything other than remain sat on his backside watching tv, he was adamant that I could not have anything until 7:30. While he was not very understanding and quite rude, I accepted that if breakfast didn't start until 7:30 then so be it. However, when I left the hotel at 7:15 it seems that this rule of breakfast at 7:30 is selectively applied, as an attractive girl was quite happily sitting down to breakfast, which was the case for several days.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Simon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF was very helpful, spoke good English, they were as nice as one can be (this goes for the whole of Italy, everyone is amazingly nice and caring). The room was CLEAN AND TIDY, no bugs, no mold, no stentch, clean towels and linen were put on the bed. FREE WIFI IN THE ROOMS was available and with good signal, although at one point the signal went off and didn't return, I guess they turn it off for the night or there were some other difficulties.

Disliked: THE LOCATION is not that good, although it is a few minutes away from the Buenos Aires, and there is a metro station just 5 minutes from the hotel, if you prefer to walk, it's 20 minutes from Milano Centrale Trainstation and not in the better part of the city. THE BREAKFAST was pretty weak, just some pre-bagged croissants and... yeah, that's all, plus coffee, tea and juice. THE BATHTUBE in the room was rather funny, the showerhead was leaking from a few places, so it was impossible to shower without water going constantly on your hair, in your face and in every direction, but it was more amusing than disturbing. THE BED was not exactly a double bed, more like a one-and-a-half bed. All in all, I would not stay here for a longer time, but it's just my high standards I guess, but if you are looking for cheap accomodation for a short time, or you are 21, collage student and don't care, then this is a good place to stay. Big hurrah for the staff again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location--only a 15-minute walk from the central train station and near a metro stop. Very friendly and helpful staff! I stayed here three times!

Disliked: Allow a bit of time to find it the first time--you have to walk through a building that is under construction and up a flight of stairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yasemin Canik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Yasemin would recommend this property

Liked: It has a strategic location.The stuff was helpful.It was quiet.

Disliked: There was no air conditioner in the room but is is not problem they gave us fan.Just when we first entered to room it was hot.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super nice and helpful staff, great place to stay in the winter/spring/fall .no ac and its sooooo hot. i couldnt sleep both nights i stayed.

Disliked: waaaay tooo hot

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Shopping

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly Nice staff...really perfect!

Disliked: The anekle of Reh Barthroom and there was "Schimmel" on the Barthroom ceiling so i did Not use the Shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zeynep Aysu Ünal

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 Zeynep Aysu would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, staff is helpful. I wanted to leave my baggage there for extra one night , they allowed me.

Disliked: If you have heavy bagagge, it is difficult to reach hotel becasue there is stairs. Rooms are not very big, If you want to drink a coffee in the evening you should pay, It is free only in breakfast.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Volodymyr Buyanov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012

Liked: Sound insulation

Disliked: cleaning and noising


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels