We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hotel Ambra

1 star Hotel | Via Antonio Caccianino, 10, Milan, Italy 20131

67.0% Overall Rating

118 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

Justyna Marcinkowska thinks…

"Staff was very helpful, they let us change the room twice (the other thing is that we wanted to...) and friendly. Small patio in the back. Private street. Very close to the local market."

Read all Hotel Ambra reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Alba
18.98 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.0% 293 reviews
Hotel Galla
20.24 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 266 reviews
Hotel Chopin
22.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel La Pace
26.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 111 reviews
New Generation Hostel Urban
16.45 USD

Hostel 75.2% 92 reviews
Hostel California
9.83 USD

Hostel 61.3% 739 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.0%

Overall Rating

118 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Ambra'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 172 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...neutral

Disliked: Solo 2 cosas mal, el precio publicado es algo engañoso, porque uno esta obligado a pagar 3 euros mas por noche por las sabana, algo que todo hotel tiene y klo segundo en el mapa de ubicacion esta malindicado el hotel.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Iris Bulters

22 June 2010

Liked: Helemaal niks. Het was het slechtste hostel van mijn hele reis.

Disliked: Iris left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Taras Povorozniuk

16 June 2010

Liked: The hotel does NOT mention all mandatory fee which they charge upon arrival. It was for me a surprise that I need to pay 3 EUR for towels which I didn't want just because mine wasn't.... a cotton towel.Hotel tends to advertise the cheapest price it is NOT, in fact!

Disliked: Taras left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jitka Sedlarova

09 June 2010 Jitka would recommend this property

Liked: Its very cheep hostel and very good located to the central train station (20 mins walking) so its perfect if you need to chatch train or shuttle to the airport. Its not perfectly clean nor very nice, but ok for the price.

Disliked: Jitka left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the price, you get an excellent place to stay while in Milan, accessible to the center and other areas of interest.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katarzyna Skrzeczynska

07 June 2010 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: it sucks that that you canàt really party in the hostel but still it was fun cause we partied anyways

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Camila Crescimbeni

04 June 2010 Camila would recommend this property

Liked: A little far from the city center but located in a very nice small street. Good for a short stay in Milano

Disliked: Camila left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the only problem is that it is not so easy to find

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

23 March 2010

Liked: The people in our room were nice, but the owners and the property itself were disgraceful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I arrived I was sent to another hostal (and that was not stablished in the add. Nevertheless the new place was good: it was clean and tha staff was kind. What I really did not like was I was asked to pay a fee for using this site to book, what it is not mentioned in the add either (I had booked other hostels here and I dis not have to pay any money for the service...)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kendle rowlands

18 March 2010 Kendle would recommend this property

Liked: my first room was terrible. the beds where side by side with no space in between. When i woke up from my second night they told me I was going to be switching rooms Not sure why because i was the only one in that room at that point. But i moved to a high room with much more space and it was way nicer. I would as for room 14 if possible. It's not right in the center of milan but a few underground stops away. They were nice when they circled where to go and things to see on the free map of the city which I probably would have died without.

Disliked: Kendle left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Javier Lorrio

11 February 2010 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: OK

Disliked: Javier left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

gabriel cortes

25 January 2010

Liked: Terrible place, Don't go there. If you are looking for the cheapest place it is not there, because they will make you rent a towel for 3 euros, with these price you will find place much better. Bath with cold water on a very dirty bathroom, one for almost 20 people. The TV doesn’t work, and doesn’t have a plug to put in the TV. Just one plug for the whole room. The sink on the room were linking. They charged me a 4 bed room price, and put us in a 6 bed room. They didn’t give the money of the difference back. All the bed are connected to each other, there are no space, no place to keep the lugged safe.The staff are rude!!!!!! The Hostel Bookers should sign out this hostel.!!!!!!!The place suckssssss!!!

Disliked: gabriel left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rosa Brandt

20 January 2010

Liked: not much, there was a small balcony and a heater.

Disliked: Rosa left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

30 November 2009

Liked: This the worst hotel I ever booked.It is a one-star hotel, but it does not deserve it. The owners are unfriendly: I arrived alone with two luggage and I was in trouble opening the main door. He just watched me without helping at all.The room is small and with many cracks in the ceiling, with just ONE working light socket.The shower is like a coffin and it lacks water.For the price you can find much better accommodation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 November 2009

Liked: Wasn't that bad except when I tried to check out early for work reasons they wouldn't give my money back that I was owed. Eventually I got it but only with the manager threatening me with "I have your credit card details. So don't even think about writing a bad review or I'll charge your credit card for the money we've given you back."The place could get a bit dirty and wasn't very nice but most of the staff were helpful and the location was decent. Shame about the manager spoiling it all with such a daft threat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

01 November 2009

Liked: Nothing, there wasn't internet, the plumbing was broken and it was filthy(bed bugs and i got athletes foot from the bathroom)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Malene Bro

29 September 2009

Liked: The staff is very good. They are always sweet and happy.

Disliked: Malene left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 September 2009

Liked: You have to get buzzed in by the person at the desk, which made it feel a little more secure. But it did seem kind of odd that you leave your room key at the desk every time you leave the hotel for a minute. Maybe that's normal for Italian hotels?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located in a very quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of a metro stop. The staff is very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nadine Veldhuis

27 August 2009 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: There were friendly staff and it was located in a nice quiet neighbourhood. The bed was soft and the room was spacious. Too bad that we couldnt use the bath (no rubber to stop the water) and the bath itself looked dirty.

Disliked: Nadine left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Dominic Scotting

24 August 2009

Liked: Don't stay here its crap.....When we arrive the curtains in our room were hanging off and the shutters didn't work. I went and saw the reception guy and he said he would get it sorted. This meant the room was like an oven. In the high 20's through the night. It didn't get sorted during the 3 nights we were there. There was also no mosquito net on the window despite it being mosquito ridden. The bathroom floor was constantly soaked from a leaking pipe. and there was rubbish from the last guests left in the room. We have booked loads of places through hostel booker and this was by far the worst. Also i didn't see any signs of the lace having a bar?!? The one good point was the night receptionist. he was really friendly and helpful also the 2 euro breakfast was a good deal. Really disappointed.

Disliked: Dominic left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

24 August 2009

Liked: If you have a room at the second floor, you will have a shared "bathroom" with a very old and damaged bath and especially a toilet with NO flush... you can have a big surprise at the morning.. :(No air-conditionnig, very old 4 channels TV, you can plug the TV OR the little ventilator in the same time (you have to choose)A very quiet place without restaurants, far from the city center and you have to take the tram or the subway to reach the central station.The staff hasn't been helpuflly one time of our stay, we passed 5 minutes ringing in the street before the guy decided to stop laughing with his friends (we could hear them from the first floor) and open the door.I wouldn't say it's a "typical Milanese villa atmosphere" at all !!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great view from window, silent place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

21 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As described. Our room had a balcony. Room was very old but clean. No ac as advertised but a small fan was put in the room. Milan is very hot for no AC though so I would recommend staying somewhere with ac.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels