HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hotel Ambra

1 star Hotel | Via Antonio Caccianino, 10, Milan, Italy 20131

67.0% Overall Rating

118 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

Justyna Marcinkowska thinks…

"Staff was very helpful, they let us change the room twice (the other thing is that we wanted to...) and friendly. Small patio in the back. Private street. Very close to the local market."

Read all Hotel Ambra reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Alba
18.98 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.0% 293 reviews
Hotel Galla
20.24 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
15.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 266 reviews
Hotel Chopin
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel La Pace
27.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 111 reviews
New Generation Hostel Urban
16.45 USD

Hostel 75.2% 92 reviews
Hostel California
12.52 USD

Hostel 61.3% 739 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.0%

Overall Rating

118 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Ambra'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 172 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there were some nice pizza places near by

Disliked: bathroom outside the bedroom. No airconditioning ment it was very hot and there were lots of mosquitos

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2010

Liked: La terracita que tienen para desayunar

Disliked: Te cobran por sábana y toallas, mientras que en su publicidad dicen que están incluídas...de igual modo, nos dijeron que por los "inconvenientes" por la habitación nos regalaban el desayuno, cuando en la página también ponía que estaba incluído...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

elizabeth Rouse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: the location was good, easy to find. the directions given on the website are easy to follow. Also the bathrooms seemed quite new and so were nice to use. Definitely good value for money. Perfect for travellers but not if you are looking to stay for more than three nights or so.

Disliked: There was only one key per room, which made us feel like our luggage was a little unsafe in the day when we were not there. The front door was smashed quite badly... not their fault but not good to see it first thing!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, good location for Politecnico di Milano students

Disliked: to many beds in a small room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and close to the metro, so transport and access was easy enough.

Disliked: Lack of internet connectivity.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Laura Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010

Liked: free wi-fi in all the rooms

Disliked: the rooms smell aweful and stingy. Not just my room smelled but many others!! the entire hotel is dirty. If you dont care about clean/dirty rooms and bathrooms then its fine.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap.

Disliked: Staff don't / badly speak English. Discussion about opening hours. We had to claim the 24hour service as stated on HostalBookers. And they charge you towels an bed linen while HostelBookers sates it's for free!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cam Thach Doan Thi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2010 Cam Thach would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean

Disliked: The instruction to get to the hotel by bus was wrongly given - instead of 2nd bus stop of Via PORPORA, it should be the 3rd stop They charged $ for bed linen and towel with 3 euro per night - even though the website says it's included Only 1 toilet with shower in one level - it is shared by more than 10 people. It was quite annoying waiting for toilet

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Natasha Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. The rooms were unclean and stifling hot at night, the staff could speak barely any English. The bathrooms were not cleaned for the entire duration of our stay (3nights, 4days). We were not informed about breakfast on arrival and extra charges were made for using our credit card.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: service

Disliked: bathroom

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2010

Liked: The staff were friendly.

Disliked: The room was not clean, the hostel was difficult to get to from the main station and overall just not very good value for money!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mafalda Castro

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2010 Mafalda would recommend this property

Liked: The location, it's in a very nice neighborhood and you can easily reach it from the metro station.

Disliked: The bathroom of our floor was very dirty so we had to use the one on the other floor.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

alexander simbirtsev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010

Liked: price

Disliked: attitude of the staff

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although it is a bit far away, it is a great place, especially if you have a good room, like me and my friend did. great balcony view (backyard of milano, c'mon, everybody are there to see this) and a nice quiet neighborhood. Great guy on the counter, internet, not amazingly big and huge breakfast, but nice, clean sheets. it was nice!

Disliked: Maybe a little bit too far away and although it didnt bother me, i think nobody would take a bath in the actual bathroom. shower is cool..but no bath.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sholpan Niyazbayeva

Alone

City break

15 August 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: bathroom and mixed rooms,

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable price and not too far out of the centre.

Disliked: Charging an extra €3 for towels that aren't optional is a bit cheeky. In the shared room also, the beds are literally touching. Not necessarily so bad but I was elbowing people in my sleep and within inhaling distance of the guy next to me's seemingly never-ending farting.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010

Liked: price

Disliked: cleanliness, facilities on offer, transparence before booking

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

09 August 2010

Liked: Location and availibility of parking on the adjacent streets

Disliked: Was not clean, facilities were definatley not functional enough.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nam TO

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

06 August 2010 Nam would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet street, room n°5 2nd floor for 5 person is ok.

Disliked: Terrasse with great view, good welcome, fluent english.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Family Holiday

03 August 2010

Liked: the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Shared rooms basically consisted of a room with as many beds as possible crammed in, so you might as well be sleeping in a bed with the people around you. The location is pretty out of the way, and you get charged extra for linen and towels (which arent even clean), so the price on the site isnt honest. Don't bother.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Christopher Bryant

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2010

Liked: It looked like they had been making efforts toward the decor. Good price for the low budget traveler

Disliked: We felt intimidated when we first got off the subway. We constantly looked over our shoulders. The neighborhood was filthy and in disrepair. The hotel was no better. When we arrived the staff at the front desk was not very observant nor really helpful and seemed very bored and distracted. The bathroom was dirty and had no toilet paper. There were dirty sheets and trash in bags cluttering the halls. The beds were overused and uncomfortable, and the pillowcase had dirt smudges from it. The Hotel Ambra was an obscene way away from the airport. And fairly close to the train station. The night clerk was very helpful and courteous though not overly enthused about us waking him up. Overall I will never stay at the Hotel Ambera unless I am in dire straights. It is dirty, unkempt, in disrepair, in a not so good area, the staff was so-so, and I did not like it one bit.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Rihards Olmanis

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2010 Rihards would recommend this property

Liked: Silent and cool staff

Disliked: Dirty and boring

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2010

Liked: The Balcony is the best Thing of the whole Hotel!!

Disliked: The Breakfast is horrobile and a lot of things are just not really clean

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Maria Spyridou

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything especially the guy at the reception is really unwilling to help


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels