HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hotel Ambra

1 star Hotel | Via Antonio Caccianino, 10, Milan, Italy 20131

67.0% Overall Rating

118 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

Justyna Marcinkowska thinks…

"Staff was very helpful, they let us change the room twice (the other thing is that we wanted to...) and friendly. Small patio in the back. Private street. Very close to the local market."

Read all Hotel Ambra reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Alba
18.98 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.0% 293 reviews
Hotel Galla
21.51 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
15.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 266 reviews
Hotel Chopin
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel La Pace
27.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 111 reviews
New Generation Hostel Urban
16.45 USD

Hostel 75.2% 92 reviews
Hostel California
12.52 USD

Hostel 61.3% 739 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.0%

Overall Rating

118 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Ambra'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 172 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hasan Guler

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There should be lockers but no lockers they have. And the room is not enough for 7 people.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, clean

Disliked: a bit far from city center

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011

Liked: the location was decent and laDonna the lady at the reception was a wonderful person.

Disliked: i had booked a female dorm at the hostel. The common bathroom was dirty, the toilet did not have a seat and the shower was barely big enough for a kid aged 5 years. and this is not an exxageration. also in my room, there was no fan. so in the summer, if you leave the window open mosquitos, insects, flies will enter your room, but if u close it u sufocate and die..because the temperature was a good 25-30 degrees at night and there was no portable fan let alone an air conditioner.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lotta Hannuksela

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

17 June 2011 Lotta would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included

Disliked: If you come late to this hostel, be aware. I recommend you to call there before arriving. I send an e-mail in advance that we will be late, but still we had only one bed instead of two. That wasn't a nice surprise.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

keith butchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 keith would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were very clean and it was very roomy, it was a great stop over spot for a couple of nights.the staff were very friendly and accomodating.a great family buisness.location is good from metro and main station, 10min walk to main inter state line.

Disliked: just make sure you get to the showers early there isnt much hot water.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very early flight from Bergamo airport so I just stayed for a few hours in the dorm. The hotel seemed decent enough and the price wasn't bad. It's about 25 min walk from the central station and there's a metro station nearby as well as a tram stop.

Disliked: The description page is very confusing and the biggest issue here is the security (more like complete lack of it!). First of all there's only one key for the room so you can only lock it when the last guy leaves, no lockers in the rooms and although they state that the reception is open 24h, there was no one behind the counter and also the front door was open when I left at around 3:30 AM.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zlatozar Yordanov

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Zlatozar would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed 2 night in a shared room with 6 beds inside. It was nice and clean. And although the location rating here on HB is not high, I find it really good - nice calm streets, near to a metro station with good local (not tourist-orientated) restaturants - for example in the nearest pizza the waiter didn't know even a word in english which i think is a good beginning of getting the real things and not the fake touristic stuff.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location.... the people were more than friendly. Cleaning was good...WiFi was without extra charges but a little slow

Disliked: its is old and in ongoing state of repair....but everything worked, hotwater, electricity everything....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Ulloa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: A bit far from the city center but accessible by metro.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite easy to find, and the beds were comfortable

Disliked: Didn't like that our young roommates went to sleep like at 9 o'clock!!!!(!) SO we had to do the same thing not to disturb them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was cosy in a residential area. I stayed in a Private single room, the place was clean and value for money.

Disliked: the room door was rather old and could only be locked once.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andriy Sergeyev

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011

Liked: Relatively cheap, close to metro (subway) and surrounded by beautiful architecture.

Disliked: Staff

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gergely Horvath

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Gergely would recommend this property

Liked: staff, location, map, cleaningness, terasse, breakfast

Disliked: there was double beds in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuliya Askirka

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Yuliya would recommend this property

Liked: Very good and helpful stuff with fluent English. 18 eur per night, great location-very close to shopping street and just 5 minuts from metro Piola (green line), which is 5 stops from Duomo. Very clean and quite nice.

Disliked: Everything was OK for that price.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011

Liked: very clean

Disliked: the guy in the front desk, he didnt even say hi/ ur welcome/ bye it is amazing how a little bit of kindness (minimun cortesy) could have changed our experience in the hostel

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ......

Disliked: they dont have common areas to use internet or to hang chill... just your room, maybe because they are remodeling or something but the facilities where not good....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: in a really nice area. Staff was kind and our room was pretty. I've felt the atmosphere of taly and had a great time there

Disliked: there were some problems with shower. sometimes only cold water.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011

Liked: not far away from underground

Disliked: the stuff's cheating on you

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010

Liked: Location easily reachable. Rooms clean.

Disliked: One of the worst hostel staff i have ever seen. They dont know how to behave. No lockers provided for luggage in dorms. On being asked for the same, we were told that " Its we who choose to live with others, and hence we cant claim for security". Drinking water was also a big problem. They asked us to use water in the toilets but that was very dirty.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 December 2010

Liked: cheaper

Disliked: old rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The balcony was nice.

Disliked: The location seems a little dodgy. There were a lot of yelling & angry people in the evening... but maybe that is just Milan? :P

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

KONSTANTINOS NIKOLAOU

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 KONSTANTINOS would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, chepa for what it offers

Disliked: really bad matress on a double bed, far from metro

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was affordable (considering this is Milan), however, for what you get, the price should be lower...maybe 22-25 euros. Wi-fi was free.

Disliked: Being locked out at night when coming home....it's a hotel, how do you get locked out? The heater didn't work so the nights were cold.....even after 2 different requests (and being told it would be taken care of)...nothing was ever resolved. Breakfast was a joke (but at least we got something). Breakfast menu....cookies, 1 cup of coffee (yes...just 1), pre-packaged croissants, some kind of already toasted mini-bread...you get the picture.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cosmin Rentea

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

09 October 2010 Cosmin would recommend this property

Liked: price, quietness

Disliked: felt a bit unsafe, toilet was usable but not clean

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rosario Arias

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

22 September 2010

Liked: it has a terrace

Disliked: other guests were making a lot of noise until late, they were drunk however staff did nothing. they have signs claiming that if the neighbors call the police they will fine you 500 euros. I guess that is what they expect.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels