HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hotel San Tomaso

1 star Hotel | Viale Tunisia, 6, (III piano - floor), Milan, Italy 20124

66.2% Overall Rating

600 out of 815 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2013)

Sigrid Thurin thinks…

"Close to metro, trams and Downtown. Also a shopping street adjacent, so good location! The staff were friendly and helpful. It wasn't fancy, but we got what we wanted out of our stay. Clean and nice…"

Read all Hotel San Tomaso reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hotel prefers cash payment, credit card will be accepted with 5% bank commission added.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Kennedy
24.35 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Gioia House
39.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
La Corte De Milan
32.13 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 125 reviews
Hotel Nettuno
31.56 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.5% 117 reviews
Hotel Arno
27.05 USD

Hotel 1 star 78.7% 334 reviews
Hotel Eurohotel
54.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.4% 417 reviews
Hotel Siena
27.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.7% 48 reviews
Hotel Serena
43.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.5% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.2%

Overall Rating

600 out of 815 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel San Tomaso'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
68.0%
Value
62.4%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 451 of 489 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sigrid Thurin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Sigrid would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro, trams and Downtown. Also a shopping street adjacent, so good location! The staff were friendly and helpful. It wasn't fancy, but we got what we wanted out of our stay. Clean and nice beds.

Disliked: It was cold in the bathrooms (and our room) due to open windows and turned off heat. Showers not always hot, but mostly. Leaky sink in our room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Elton Sint Jago

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Elton would recommend this property

Liked: Location near the metro

Disliked: Elton left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alvin Pace

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Alvin would recommend this property

Liked: very central cant choose it better

Disliked: after midnight the lift stops working and you have to use the stairs and ring the bell of the reception to open the door for you but sometimes it took long to open because the reception will be asleep.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: a bit old

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Teodora Dimitrova-Grekow

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

04 April 2013

Liked: kind, nice staff

Disliked: no night scilent no acoustic privacy

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 March 2013

Liked: The only thing convenient was the close proximity to shopping street and subway station. Also only 10 minute walk to Milano Centrale.

Disliked: 1. The staff was not super friendly and did not speak English too well. 2. The ensuite shower did not drain well, toilet was broken and sink leaked - all sure signs of potential plumbing issues. 3. We got to lock our room but had to leave the key in the reception. No lockers in the room itself. Did not feel 100% safe. 4. We had originally booked a room in Hotel San Tomaso, but were told to go 'upstairs' to Hotel Kennedy for our room. 5. It seemed as though the owner lived in one of the rooms and was not shy to smoke in there. Unfortunately the smell seeped through, so there was a strong smoke smell in the hallways.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly

Disliked: There are no lockers provided for people staying in the shared dorm. The bed quality is bad.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nidia Kas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Nidia would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff. great location, close to metro, station, and buenos aires. there is market in front of. a lot of places to eat. free internet. i booked 4 bed dorm and i got triple room, it is much better. the room is clean. good value for money.

Disliked: Nidia left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the metro station.

Disliked: there are mosquitoes in the room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012

Liked: it was really clean and the location was great.the staff was really helpfull.

Disliked: there were no keys for the rooms and no lockers,so you felt unsecure about your belongings. most of the people leaving there are about 45-50 years old and really creapy so you dont feel comfortable at the room especially at the night. there is no common room so as to meet other travellers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff; homely feel

Disliked: cramped if staying in single room; street noise quite loud in shared room

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jennifer Raney

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012

Liked: I didn't really "like" anything in particular. It was relatively clean I guess, albeit run down. It was also nice (and unexpected due to the lack of service) that the lobby was open 24 hours. One of the staff members was also very helpful in trying to get my TV to work, but was unsuccessful.

Disliked: The staff was extremely unhelpful (most of them, at least). The whole breakfast situation was also very awkward, and they made no attempt whatsoever to make you feel comfortable. There was also absolutely no attempt to answer any of my questions about getting access to internet or directions to who could further assist me. Overpriced, and underwhelming. I also kept hearing random people fighting and doors slamming througout the night...but a hostel is a hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2012

Liked: If you're looking for a cheap place to crash with a good location, this is fine. The facilities are clean and there is wifi access.

Disliked: No individual keys for doors- often things are left unlocked or you have to wake up the owner to get into your room. There also were no lockers, so you just have to trust that your stuff will be fine. No common room, so if you're looking to meet people it's unlikely in this place.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lai Yin Wai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012

Liked: The location is quite near to attraction points.

Disliked: The bed is too soft and there is flea. We got itchy skin. We booked a private bathroom room. Yet, the barhroom inside is just a small area surrounded by nearly transparent glass. So we have to use public bathroom. The public bathroom is not really clean. The hostel is next to a busy road which is extremely noisy even at night.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Liga Jankava

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: No air in room, hot, door of the room without key,no lockers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yuting Duan

Alone

City break

21 May 2012

Liked: workers are nice

Disliked: it is better to organise girls dorm

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near Centrale station. Fast free internet. Kind staff, though not as friendly as I've had at other hostels.

Disliked: No lockers. Kinda stuffy/hot at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 May 2012

Liked: I liked the location

Disliked: I dislike the room because has not bathroom, the windows were broken (couldn't be closed at all), furniture was in very bad conditions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

meimei wan

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 March 2012 meimei would recommend this property

Liked: staff very kindly , room very clean , good location close to shopping street , from central station 10 minutes by foot , to DUOMO by foot 15minutes ,take subway 3-5 minutes ,that day for me is fun

Disliked: meimei left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

meimei wan

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 March 2012 meimei would recommend this property

Liked: the staff very kindly , hotel very clean , location is good close to the DUOMO and central station ,I can have hot warter to drink .wifi free

Disliked: meimei left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yanyan qi

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 March 2012 yanyan would recommend this property

Liked: hotel is very clean ,wifi free,kindly staff,near by the centralstation, aroud the hotel there are lot of shopings...

Disliked: yanyan left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good.

Disliked: You can have problems with the door bell. I left my luggage and went for a walk city tour, but when I returned (12:00) to take my luggage and go to the airport nobody was unswerring for 15min. I was really lukky I was not late for my plane...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

constance watts

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2012 constance would recommend this property

Liked: Location : 20 min walk from Duomo and less than 15 from the station. The staff were relativly friendly. Fair size room. Quick WiFi. Ona main road but no noise from road! Rooms cleaned each day and smelt nice and fresh.

Disliked: Slight smell or cigarettes in the room on arrival. Bathrooms smelt a bit, though that may be a problem with Milan's sweage system not the hotel. Toilet cleaned each day and towells and bedding replaced.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

linna perma

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 December 2011 linna would recommend this property

Liked: good location in the cenral city , kindly staff, clean hotel ,very safe wife free

Disliked: linna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ping wang

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2011 ping would recommend this property

Liked: good location , very clean

Disliked: staff very friendly


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels